Album News Weekly: December 15th 2016

This week in album news, Asta gives us a release date for her debut EP after doing some living and finding her sound, an all-girl psych-punk band out of the US have some gnarly new music for any fans of The Dead Weather and WAAX, and yes it’s time to accept Christmas is  officially coming with Michael Angelakos’ (Passion Pit) completely charming indie Christmas album due this week, plus heaps more…



Here’s a sentence I bet you’d never expect to read: the dude from Passion Pit is making a Christmas album.  Yep, the multi-talented Michael Angelakos has teamed up with Brent Kats (formerly of Harlem Shakes) and director Hana Haley to produce a Video-Album, Merry Christmas, Mr. Fields, dropping December 16th. Two of the singles, “Christmas In Your Arms” and “Stained Glass Windows” have already been released and boy, are they special. There’s something about Angelakos’ child-like falsetto that adds a sparkling charm to these indie holiday tunes, giving the vocals you previously associated with summer festivals a different (still equally festive) shine.

The new album, Merry Christmas, Mr. Fields, is available HERE. Check out the dazzling single “Christmas In Your Arms” below!



After weeks of rumors and speculations, Brissy trio Dune Rats have dropped official details of their new album, The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit, set to drop February 3rd. The news comes in unison with the release of their uncensored, interactive video clip for “Scott Green”, which follows the boys on the hunt for the crumb that stole their weed at a party.

The new album, which was produced by FIDLAR frontman Zac Carper, is an 11-track suite also featuring one of the frothiest punk-anthems of 2016, “Bullshit”, and is currently available for pre-order HERE. Check out the track list for The Kids Will Know It’s Bullshit below!

1. Don’t Talk
2. 6 Pack
3. Demolition Derby
4. Braindead
5. Scott Green
6. Never Gonna Get High
7. Like Before
8. Counting Sheep
9. Buzz-kill
10. Mary
11. Bullshit



This all-girl garage psych-rock super-group features four musicians all from respective bands, coming together for the gnarliest female mob making noise in the US. Having only formed earlier this year, these girls have been busy producing a bunch of lo-fi-turned-hi-fi material, and only just played their first ever gig last October.

After dropping the sharp, punchy single “Take What I Need”, The Darts have announced the release of their most recent self-titled EP, available HERE. The six powerhouse tracks simmer, swell and thrash at every turn, without blurring into one listening experience. It’s everything good about garage punk-rock accented with bold four-girl harmonies and some serious fuzz bass. It’s an absolute must listen for fans of The Dead Weather or WAAX. Check out the single “Take What I Need” below!



Aussie hip-hop big-guns Bliss n Eso have just announced their sixth studio album, Off The Grid, will be officially released March 10th. The news comes after the Sydney trio’s upcoming national Dopamine tour completely sold out, proving these guys are continuing to reign supreme in the hip-hop game despite not having released new music since 2013’s Circus In The Sky.

The two singles lifted from the upcoming album, “Dopamine (feat. Thief)” and “Friend Like You (feat. Lee Fields)” ventures into a more developed, mature sound for Bliss n Esso, recruiting special guests for soul-wrenching vocals to compliment the classic flow from the two MC’s. With their fanbase stronger than ever and confident, fresh new material, it’s hard to see this iconic trio slowing down any time soon. Check out the newest single, “Friend Life You (feat. Lee Fields)” below, and pre-order Off The Grid HERE!



After two years in a Nashville prison alternative with nothing but his guitar to keep him sane, singer/songwriter/ex-hoodlum Adam Christopher Moult paired up with Alexander Hartness to create the sounds of Bad Cop. Through label transitions, a bunch of EP’s and the loss of one original band member, Bad Cop are set to release their upcoming album, Hello, Mr. Sunshine, this coming Spring.

In the meantime, the band have dropped the first single from the album, “Dreamer Man”- an upbeat, sunshiney number led by rock-heavy guitars and wailing horns. Moult’s bright and blazing vocals trick you into thinking this almost might be a pop song, before the triumphant backing ensemble reminds you of it’s charm. Check it out below!



Coinciding with the release of the funk-heavy pop gem “Shine”, Triple J Unearthed winner of 2012 Asta has announced her debut EP will be dropping February 17th. It’s been a long time coming, but the now 22-year-old feels she’s finally found her sound: “Having been discovered in high school by triple j, I had to do some living before I had enough to say for a debut EP. I think I’ve scrubbed enough dishes, eaten enough tofu and broken a few hearts now to deserve a party.”

Asta collaborated with multi-talented musician Yeo on the new single “Shine”, which features an stylish blend of organs, jungle percussion and slinky bass that makes for a scarily catchy tune we’ll no doubt be singing on repeat in the car this summer. Check it out below and catch Asta on her national Shine tour through February and March, details for which can be found HERE!


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT
Tags: , , , , ,