40 Northern Territory artists have been revealed as finalists for the 2016 NT Song of the Year

Over the last few weeks, judges from around the country have been listening through the epic number of entries submitted for this year’s NT Song of the Year. A record 450 songs from artists right throughout the Northern Territory had been submitted from genres right across the board and today, the finalists have been announced.

The awards this year will be held at the Museum and Art Gallery of the NT on July 9th, featuring performances from local NT acts including At the Dakota (winners, 2015 NT Song People’s Choice Award), Melanie Gray and Destrait, with another special guest still to be announced.

This year’s finalists are reflective of more boundary pushing music, a wide diversity of artists and the positivity and thriving music culture existing in some of our country’s more remote areas. MusicNT’s Executive Director Mark Smith has said of the enthusiasm towards NT Song this year, “We were completely blown away with 450 entries, it’s 150 more than last year and just goes to show the strength of the NT music scene.”

The People’s Choice Award is returning this year, with the public able to vote for their favourite artist, also revealed at the ceremony on July 9th. To be involved, head HERE to find out more. Voting closes at 5pm (ACST) on June 28th.

Congratulations to all the finalists – we can’t wait to head up to Darwin next month to see who takes each award home!



“Black Night” – Reggae Dave
David Asera
posthumous nomination

“Murray Island” – Lonely Boys
Kasley Daniels, Ambrose Daniels, Burt Rami, Winston Joshua, Ben Mangi, Dylan Daniels

“The Hunter” – Lonely Boys
Kasley Daniels, Ambrose Daniels, Burt Rami, Winston Joshua, Ben Mangi, Dylan Daniels

“Waru” – Apakatjah
Jonathan Lindsay-Tjapaltjarri, Dion Forrester


“Bond” – Tapestry
Tom Devine-Harrison, Luke Dorward, Elliot Williams, Darcy Grant, Connor Ashkam

“Beyond Repressed” – Miazma
Malcolm McDonald, Tim Glyde, Shaun Howell, Kyle Mines, Jackson Smith

“Coward” – We Burn Bridges
Alisadair Mahoney, JD Rodriguez, Benjamin Masters, Jack Ryan

“Growth” – Tapestry
Tom Devine-Harrison, Luke Doward, Elliot Williams, Darcy Grant, Connor Ashkam


“Depths of Heaven” – Pulzanti
Ermin Nurovic

“Salt” – Resin Moon
Dave Crowe

“Sea Without Water” – Nicole Soorkia

“Water or Sun” – Pulzanti
Ermin Nurovic


“Feelings” – Ezy 5
Marshall Gambley, Cedric Marika

“Homecoming” – Col Infinity
Loc Nguyen

“Next Time” – Ben Evolent
Joshua Tarca

“Sunset” – Ezy 5
Marshall Gambley, Cedric Marika


“Gurtha (The Fire)” – Dhapanbal Yunupingu ft. Shellie Morris

“Milk and Honey” – Crocodile Tears
Dave Walden, Andrew Spiers

“Nature’s Lullaby” – Melanie Gray with Gina Jeffreys Max Jackson

“Toolebuc” – Kate Oliver


“Cave” – Skank & Shake
Hugh Winterflood, James Shakeshaft

“Miyalk Dirramu” – Marimunuk Gurrurwiwi

“The Nirvana Project” – Onamanapaya ft. Waves
Rhys Manuel, Dave (Wavez)

“Ruler” – Col Infinity
Loc Nguyen


“Break the Silence” – Ngukurr Community with help from Indigenous Hip Hop Projects

“Give Thanks” – Colin Lillie

“Kaimel Urapun (We Are One)” – Reggae Dave
David Asera
posthumous nomination

“Wiripu Mittji, Wangany Mala (Different Colour, One People)” – Gayalnga Andrew Gurruwiwi


“Especially Today” – Gabby Dever

“Mulunda (Kingfisher)” – Gawurra
Stanley Gawurra Gaykamangu

“Shadows” – Ktown with help from Indigenous Hip Hop Projects
Michael Cameron, Paddy Kossack, Devon Lines, Marcus Hamilton, Kamahi King, Shaelee

“Something’s Going to Change” – Gabby Dever


“Everything Was At Peace” – Eleanor Dixon Beatrice Lewis

“Djarrawalu (Sunset)” – Nalkuma Stuart YunupinguLarrtjannga Larry Gurruwiwi

“I Hope to See the Sun” – Serina Pech

“Sugar Muffin” – Serina Pech


“Invincible” – Elli Belle
Elli Cleary

“Kulimindini is My Home” – E Town Boyz Eleanor Dixon
Alex Butler, Justin Rankine

“Mother Mary” – Casey Jane
Casey Glennon

“Prison Life” – E Town Boyz Eleanor Dixon
Trevayne Williams, Richard Peterson


This content has recently been ported from its original home on The AU Review: Music and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT theaureview.com.