The 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist announced

In an announcement timed to coincide with International Women’s Day, the longlist for the 2017 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has been unveiled. Now in its 22nd year, and fourth year in partnership with Baileys, the prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women, in English, from around the world.

Set up in 1996 to celebrate and promote international fiction by women throughout the world, the prize is awarded to the best full-length novel of the year written by a woman and published in the UK between April 1st 2016 and March 31st 2017. Any woman writing in English, regardless of age, nationality, country of residence or subject matter is eligible for the prize.

The sixteen strong longlists features both new and established writers, with a number of past winners, shortlistees and longlistees getting another nod. Whilst three debut novels have also made the longlist. British writers are the most represented group on the list, with six writers getting a nod, with Canadian and American writers also getting three nominations apiece.

The winner will receive a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze named ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven. The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony held at The Clore Ballroom at the Royal Festival Hall on June 7th

The prize also boasts an all-female judging panel which this year is made up of Tessa Ross, CEO House Productions; journalist and author Sam Baker; presenter and broadcaster Katie Derham; Novelist, Memoirist and Essayist Aminatta Forna and the comedian and author Sara Pascoe.

“The judges had a large number of books of extraordinary quality to choose from this year, and so I can’t say that it was an easy process to come up with a list as short as sixteen,” commented Tessa Ross, Chair of Judges. “However, we’re all thrilled by where we’ve ended up and truly excited by the quality and range of talent on this year’s longlist. It’s a great showcase for the very best contemporary women’s fiction – we hope that it will inspire readers everywhere.”

The longlisted books are as follows:

Stay With MeAyobami Adebayo
The PowerNaomi Alderman
Hag-SeedMargaret Atwood
Little DeathsEmma Flint
The MareMary Gaitskill
The Dark CircleLinda Grant
The Lesser BohemiansEimear McBride
MidwinterFiona Melrose
The Sport of KingsC.E. Morgan
The Woman Next DoorYewande Omotoso
The Lonely Hearts HotelHeather O’Neill
The Essex SerpentSarah Perry
BarkskinsAnnie Proulx
First LoveGwendoline Riley
Do Not Say We Have NothingMadeleine Thien
The Gustav SonataRose Tremain

For more information about the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction visit HERE.

The shortlist of six books will be announced on 3rd April with the winner announced 7th June.


This content has recently been ported from its original home on Arts on the AU and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT

Simon Clark

Books Editor. An admirer of songs and reader of books. Simon has a PhD in English and Comparative Literature. All errant apostrophes are his own.