The 2016 Man Booker Longlist has been revealed

The longlist for the 2016 Man Booker Prize was announced overnight in the UK. The thirteen books on the list were whittled down from over 150 submissions  by a panel of five judges. Those five judges now have until 13th September to decide on a six book shortlist, before the eventual winner is announced on the 25th October.

The Man Booker Prize was first awarded in 1969, and has become recognised as the foremost prize for literary fiction written in English. Initially the award was only for writers from the UK and the Commonwealth, but in 2013 the award was expanded to include writers of any nationality in a bid to celebrate the english language “in all its vigour, its vitality, its versatility and its glory”

Here, then, are the thirteen titles longlisted for this years Man Booker Prize

  • Paul BeattyThe Sellout
  • J.M. CoetzeeThe Schooldays of Jesus
  • A.L. KennedySerious Sweet
  • Deborah LevyHot Milk
  • Graeme Macrae BurnetHis Bloody Project
  • Ian McGuireThe North Water
  • David MeansHystopia
  • Wyl MenmuirThe Many
  • Ottessa MoshfeghEileen
  • Virginia ReevesWork Like Any Other
  • Elizabeth StroutMy Name Is Lucy Barton
  • David SzalayAll That Man Is
  • Madeleine ThienDo Not Say We Have Nothing

Amongst those thirteen novels are four debut novels, whilst former double winner J.M. Coetzee has returned; Coetzee was the first author to win the prize twice, winning in 1983 for The Life & Times of Michael K and again in 1999 for Disgrace. Deborah Levy and A.L. Kennedy are no strangers to the Man Booker either, with the former shortlisted in 2012 for her novel Swimming Home. Whilst A.L. Kennedy is a former judge for the prize.

The longlist also sees a number of independent publishers in the spotlight, with five of the titles published through independent imprints, with the further titles coming from Penguin Random House imprints and from Simon & Schuster’s UK imprint Scribner.

Chair of the judging panel, Amanda Foreman, had this to say about the announcement: “This is a very exciting year. The range of books is broad and the quality extremely high.”

“From the historical to the contemporary, the satirical to the polemical, the novels in this list come from both established writers and new voices. The writing is uniformly fresh, energetic and important. It is a longlist to be relished.”

The winner of the prize will receive prize money of £50,000 ($88,000) and generally get a bump in book sales worldwide. Last year’s winning novel, A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James, has sold over 315,000 copies to date in the UK and Commonwealth, is now available in 20 languages and has been optioned by HBO.

For more information about the Man Booker Prize visit HERE


This content has recently been ported from its original home on Arts on the AU and may have formatting errors – images may not be showing up, or duplicated, and galleries may not be working. We are slowly fixing these issue. If you spot any major malfunctions making it impossible to read the content, however, please let us know at editor AT

Simon Clark

Books Editor. An admirer of songs and reader of books. Simon has a PhD in English and Comparative Literature. All errant apostrophes are his own.