AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

MICROWAVE JENNY

Photo Gallery: Microwave Jenny + Tegan Wiseman + Hannah Robinson - Newtown Social Club, Sydney (23.04.15)

Supported by the lovely Tegan Wiseman and Hannah Robinson, the ultra talented husband and wife pop/folk duo Microwave Jenny performed at Newtown Social Club in Sydney last night. Belinda Dipalo was there to bring you these photos.

the AU sessions: Microwave Jenny (Central Coast) perform "Shine Like New" in a park in Sydney

Central Coast duo Microwave Jenny perform their track "Shine Like New", taken from their latest EP, Microwave Jenny and the Six Song EP, available now! The track was performed in a park in Sydney - kazoo and all - as part of the AU sessions - a series of intimate, exclusive acoustic performances in locations around Sydney and the world.

the AU interview: Microwave Jenny (Central Coast) on their latest EP, recording in London and touring with Sheppard

the AU review recently joined Tessa and Brendon of folk duo, Microwave Jenny for an interview in Surry Hills. The interview started on a dangerous note for a pregnant Tessa, “Don’t make me laugh, I’ll wet my pants!” and the pair explained how they found inspiration from JK Rowling in naming their latest work, Microwave Jenny and the Six Song EP, now available on iTunes, “We couldn’t think of a title and I love Harry Potter, so we thought ‘why not just go with how Harry Potter titles their books?’”

Live Review: Sheppard + Microwave Jenny - The Astor Theatre, Perth (16.10.14)

On Thursday night I went to what I’m pretty sure was my first ever “pop” concert. I mean I’ve been to plenty of gigs, but Sheppard’s concert, their last of the current Australian tour, at Perth’s Astor Theatre, was probably my first ever proper “pop” concert – you know with the “young” (in some cases very young) screaming fans and such.

Live Review: Sheppard + Microwave Jenny - Enmore Theatre, Sydney (12.10.14)

I was fortunate enough to travel around India with Sheppard back in 2012 (you can look back at the interview I conducted with them HERE) and by the end of that trip, having seen them live a good 5 or 6 times, I never wanted to hear their catchy single "Let Me Down Easy" again. In my books, that's the sign of a great pop single. Indeed, the band have skyrocketed in the pop world since then - everything starting with that track no less - breaking ARIA chart records and selling out shows around the world. All this without coming from the X-Factor or Idol factory, which in many ways has dulled any sense of enthusiasm about the local pop scene.

Photo Gallery: Sheppard + Microwave Jenny - Enmore Theatre, Sydney (12.10.14)

Sheppard headlined the Enmore Theatre in Sydney last night as part of their Bombs Away national tour, supported by Microwave Jenny. Gwendolyn Lee was there and brings us these photos from the night:

Live Review: Sheppard + Microwave Jenny - The Tivoli, Brisbane (09.10.14)

Unless you have been studiously avoiding the radio, TV or people in general over the last year or so you have no doubt heard of the Brisbane six piece, Sheppard who have been taking over local and international airwaves with their infectious pop melodies and catchy choruses. They have toured internationally and supported the likes of Keith Urban on home soil but in comparison with Aussie bands of similar international fame, have played few headline shows in their home town. So when their latest tour was announced, I couldn't help but be curious about their live act.

Cloud Control heading Australia Day at The Rocks lineup.

The Rocks Australia Day has announced Cloud Control as feature artists for their 2014 lineup! The award winners will showcase their recent Dream Cave record as well as their previous hits on the First Fleet Park stage this Australia Day. The Rocks Australia Day celebration sees various locations and streets in the area host a selection of great artists and activities for Sydneysiders to be getting amongst - check out what you can be experiencing if you're in the area on Jan 26!

Photo Gallery: Jurassic Lounge Chinese New Year night - Australia Museum (19.02.13)

Jurassic Lounge Chinese New Year night

Jurassic Lounge presents its Chinese New Year night with an array of events including lantern making, Kung Fu performances with Khan Trieu, Snake Burlesque with Diesel Darling and Live musical performances with Microwave Jenny and Midnight Pool Party.

Festival Review: Peats Ridge Festival, Day 3 - Glenworth Valley (31.12.12)

The last day of the festival starts hotter than any other and both the heat and the excitement of the night to come rip campers out of their tents from 7am onwards, regardless of what time they got in there.

Live Review: Kim Churchill + Microwave Jenny - Norfolk Basement (19.05.12)

Last week saw Kim Churchill's national tour roll into Western Australia, with a selection of dates, including Saturday night’s show at Fremantle’s Norfolk Basement. The venue’s intimate nature providing perhaps the perfect setting to see the evenings two acts at work.