AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

LOCAL NATIVES

The Festival Diaries: Austin City Limits (ACL) 2013 Day One ft. Depeche Mode + Muse - Zilker Park, Austin (04.10.13)

Another year and another Austin City Limits (ACL) Music Festival has come to an end. My second consecutive year at the event, it was a truly phenomenal weekend of music where I discovered new talent, caught up with some old favourites - and saw a few legends who I never thought I'd have the chance to see. Accompanied by a reported 75,000 other punters, this was a weekend gifted with great music, perfect weather and the smooth running good vibes that ACL is well known for.

Photo Gallery: Austin City Limits Festival Day 1 (Part 1) - Zilker Park, Austin USA (04.10.13)

Part 1 of our Day 1 coverage of Austin City Limits Festival sees headliner Muse (pictured above) plus other including Artic Monkeys, Asleep At The Wheel, Dana Falconberry, FIDLAR, Fun, Jimmy Eat World & Local Natives. Photos by Waytao Shing

Live Review: Local Natives - The Forum Theatre, Melbourne (18.05.13)

Off the back of their brilliant 2010 debut album Gorilla Manor, Local Natives are back with their beautifully executed and haunting album Hummingbird. We caught them on the tour circuit at The Forum in Melbourne.

Live Review: Local Natives + New Gods + Texture Like Sun - The Metro Theatre, Sydney (15.05.13)

Earlier this year US band Local Natives released their second album Hummingbird to critical acclaim. Touted as one of the best albums of 2013 early on, Local Natives brought their amazing live show to the Metro Theatre in Sydney.

Photo Gallery: Local Natives + New Gods - Forum Theatre (18.05.13)

Local Natives put on an incredible show at the Forum in Melbourne last night and Serena Ho was there to capture all the action. New Gods were in support.

Photo Gallery: Local Natives - Metro Theatre (15.05.13)

Local Natives returned to the Metro Theatre in Sydney tonight to play in front of hordes of their biggest fans. Mikki Gomez was there and brings us these photos from the pit.

CMJ registration badges go on sale for 2013!

New York's largest music event, CMJ Music Marathon, officially opened registration for this year’s event. Last year included sets from headliners Local Natives, Ben Gibbard, Killer Mike, GZA, and Australia's own Kimbra (pipe down New Zealand!), plus performances from up-and-coming acts Icona Pop, Foxygen, and Savages.

SXSW 2013 Live Review: Local Natives + Cold War Kids - Mohawk's Austin (14.03.13)

The House of Vans at Mohawk's has been a place of constant entertainment this week. Thursday night was no exception, with a massive night that concluded with Cold War Kids, getting ready to release their new record ??, and Local Natives, who are promoting their latest release Hummingbird, which is already being hailed as one of the best records of the year.

Feature: Splendour 2013 speculation - who will or won't perform?

Will they or won’t they? While we will never be sure who is playing a festival until the promoters actually release a line-up, it’s always fun to speculate and throw around any rumours that come up. The next big festival yet to announce their line-up is Splendour In The Grass. With the line-ups for Primavera, Summersonic and Coachella festivals already out there, it’s time to salivate over who will may (or have already actually confirmed) continue down here fore Australia’s premier winter festival.

the AU interview: Taylor Rice from Local Natives (California)

Recently Larry Heath caught up with Taylor Rice from Local Natives to discuss their new record Hummingbird, some of the changes that have occurred in terms of new band members and outlining the idea behind the album.

Local Natives return to Australia for headline tour with new album 'Hummingbird'

Local Natives are evolving and the journey is bringing them here for a national headline tour this May to celebrate the release of their new album Hummingbird and show us exactly what the next stage has in store for this band.

With the release of Hummingbirds just days away (Jan 25), tickets for the tour follow not long after on February 1st (early bird tickets available to Frontier members from Jan 29 1pm AEDT to Jan 30 12pm AEDT).

New Music Video: Local Natives "Breakers" (2012)

There was a period - let's say between October 2010 and February 2011, from the time their record Gorilla Manor broke until they played Laneway in Australia - that everyone was talking about Local Natives. Naturally they haven't so much been in hiding since then, but rather working on new material. Late last year we got our first taste of their next record Hummingbird (due January 28th) in the form of the infectious single "Breakers", and it does not disappoint. Enjoy!

Sasquatch! Music Festival: Day Two feat. Death Cab For Cutie + Robyn - The Gorge Amphitheatre, USA (28.05.11)

Having worked off a lot of the rock-tinged aggression the night before, a sleep in on day two of Sasquatch! was a well earned treat. With that in mind, the music always comes first, and we appropriately rushed ourselves for a decent spot in the queues before the 11am opening of the gates.