AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

EVERYTHING EVERYTHING

Festival Review: Lollapalooza Berlin - Tempelhof Airport, Germany (12.09.15 & 13.09.15)


Photo: Stephan Flad.

Lollapalooza branched out into Europe for the first time over the weekend, taking Berlin's Tempelhof Airport by storm. The sold out event drew huge numbers of music fans down to the defunct airport (one of the coolest festival venues I've been too, I'll add) for some brilliant sets by artists who've been away for a little while, some of the biggest names touring at the moment and some recent festival favourites. Having attended Lollapalooza in Chicago last year, I felt like I was going into this one at least a little prepared, but Berlin's festival game was another beast in itself.

FFS & Deichkind impress, while Macklemore & Ryan Lewis draw 50,000+ to close out Night One of Lolla Berlin!

The first day and night of the inaugural European extension of Lollapalooza came to a close at the Tempelhof Airport on Saturday, with hip-hop, rock and roll and dance music setting up a killer final few hours for punters to power on through to. With perfect weather conditions, an excellent venue and a solid line up of internationally renowned acts performing promptly throughout the Lollapalooza Berlin's first day, festival goers were spoiled for choice when it came not only to the variety of food options on offer, but musical fare too.

Sam and Jack Weaver share 10 tunes that have helped influence their work as Ocean Bones!

Sam and Jack Weaver aka Ocean Bones, are the Darwin duo we've introduced you to recently. Having formed in a music scene where originality is well-supported but is bound by their isolation at the same time, the duo have developed a musical output that represents the music they've grown up making and also tunes that have been influenced by a wide range of Australian and international artists. From hip-hop to hardcore music, these two have got quite the diverse palette. We got in touch to see which songs they're currently digging and the artists who have been influential on their musicianship.

Live Review: Everything Everything + Urban Cone - Metro Theatre, Sydney (23.07.15)

Coming all the way from Stockholm, Sweden, openers Urban Cone brought a delightful set that came by surprise. With influences coming from both Two Door Cinema Club and Satellite Stories, the band brought out an infectious set list that was all-too-short-lived.

Splendour in the Grass Photo Gallery: Friday (24.07.15)

Andrew Wade brings us all the action from Friday at Splendour in the Grass in Byron! The gallery features: #1 Dads, Client Liaison, Death Cab For Cutie, DZ Deathrays, Ecca Vandal (pictured), Everything Everything, Gengahr, Harts, Harvey Sutherland, Johnny Marr, Mark Ronson, Marmozets, Of Monsters and Men, The Rubens and Tired Lion!

Photo Gallery: Everything Everything + Urban Cone - The Metro Theatre, Sydney (23.07.15)

Brits Everything Everything bring their live show to the Metro Theatre as part of the Splendour in the Grass sideshow series... and they have brought Sweden's Urban Cone along for the ride. Evelyn Tjia was there and brings us these photos!

The AU's 15 Best International Singles of 2015 (So Far...)

It's been a fantastic year of music so far all around the world, and now we're excited to count down for you the 15 tracks our contributors have voted as the best of the year from outside of Australia. To be eligible, the track needed to have an official single or video release between 1 January and 30 June, 2015. Enjoy the list below and then listen to them all in our playlist!

Festival Photo Gallery: Splendour In The Grass Day 3 - North Byron Parklands, Byron Bay (28.07.13)

Splendour In The Grass Day 3 closed out with a fantastic lineup including Airbourne, Alt-J, Everything Everything, FIDLAR, James Blake, Laura Marling, Little Green Cars, Lorde, Of Monsters And Men, Passion Pit, Snakadaktal, Surfer Blood, The Drones and The Rubens (pictured above). Photos by Ian Laidlaw

Festival Review: Splendour in the Grass Day Three - North Byron Parklands, Byron Bay (28.07.13)

Winter festivals are far from an easy exercise to put yourself through, especially ones that run multi-days. When you think about it, it's quite remarkable Splendour in the Grass has become the popular event it has, line-ups irrespective. I guess people are just gluttons for punishment. I feel this way after every Splendour.

Splendour Sideshow Review: Everything Everything - Corner Hotel, Melbourne (26.07.13)

There was everything to love about Everything Everything’s first ever Australian show at Melbourne’s Corner Hotel on Friday night – no pun intended. During the sold out gig, the eclectic indie four-piece from Manchester admitted to being exhausted from the long trip to Australia, but the tiredness didn’t impact on their energy levels.

Splendour Sideshow Review: Everything Everything + Vydamo - Metro Theatre, Sydney (27.07.13)

This trip to Sydney took a swift turn quite quickly. Having flown in on Friday morning specifically to see Frank Ocean perform at the Hordern on Monday, those plans were dashed roughly four hours after I got off the plane. Come Saturday night, though I had managed to catch up with some people, I was doubly keen for tonight’s show at the Metro Theatre – a) it was my first time at the venue and b) Everything Everything was the only other Splendour sideshow I had come here for.

Splendour Sideshow Photo Gallery: Everything Everything + Vydamo - Metro Theatre, Sydney (27.07.13)

Everything Everything bring their dynamic live set to the Metro Theatre for a Splendour in the Grass sideshow. Supported by Vydamo. Photos by Evelyn Tjia

Tour Updates: Fleetwood Mac, The Cat Empire, HAIM, Justin Bieber and more!

In This Issue: Fleetwood Mac add second shows in Perth and Brisbane, Bastille sells out shows in Sydney and Melbourne, The Cat Empire add North Queensland dates to upcoming tour, supports announced for splendour sideshows, HAIM announce splendour sideshows support and DJ sets, Cody Simpson support act for Justin Bieber, Gotsu Totsu Kotsu supporting Kataklysm on their Australian tour, The Given Things venue change in Melbourne, The Androgyny date changed for Brisbane show, Midnight Juggernauts announce tour supports.

James Blake, Haim, MS MR and more announce Splendour sideshows.

Now that Splendour has sold out, we have the pleasure of enjoying a slew of sideshow announcement that make those of us who were sad about not going to Splendour, a little less sad... because many of our favourite bands are coming much closer to home! Today we have announcements for James Blake, Haim, MS MR, Everything Everything, FIDLAR, Jake Bugg, Daughter, Palma Violets, Surfer Blood and a tease from Laura Marling... All tickets on Sale at 9am on Monday, 13th May.

Splendour in the Grass reveals sideshow details!

Alrighty, it's begun. Now that everyone, including the internet, seems to have recovered from the euphoria of scoring a Splendour in the Grass ticket or the depression of missing out, the organiser have kept the announcement ball rolling by teasing us with the highly-anticipated sideshow details.