AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

THE USED

the AU interview: The Used (USA) on tour with Taking Back Sunday and their new album "Imaginary Enemy"

the AU review chat to two parts of The Used about their Australian tour with Taking Back Sunday, their latest album Imaginary Enemy, barber shop quartets and much more.

Live Review: The Used + Taking Back Sunday - 170 Russell, Melbourne (25.08.14)

When I think back to 2006, a few things immediately come to mind: Myspace, vodka cruisers (ugh), dying my hair black and of course, music. 2006 was a year in which the “post-hardcore” genre was basically in its prime and alongside My Chemical Romance, The Used and Taking Back Sunday were really at the forefront of this phenomenon that had many 15 year olds like myself in a fucking frenzy.

Photo Gallery: Taking Back Sunday + The Used + Breakaway - 170 Russell, Melbourne (25.08.14)

The Used and Taking Back Sunday performed the first of two nights in Melbourne at 170 Russell with Breakaway starting the proceedings. Carl Dziunka went along to see the action.

Photo Gallery: The Used + Taking Back Sunday + Corpus - UNSW Roundhouse, Sydney (23.08.14)

In a massive show at the UNSW Roundhouse last night, The Used and Taking Back Sunday co-headlined a show with the support of Corpus. Mikki Gomez was there and brings us photos from the night:

Live Review: The Used + Taking Back Sunday + Corpus - HQ, Adelaide (21.08.14)

Remember 2006? I do. For some reason for the last year and a half I haven't been able to stop remembering 2006. Anyway, if you remember 2006, there are two bands who almost definitely remind you of ripped fishnets of very badly dyed hair: The Used and Taking Back Sunday. And, like the redo of 2006 that 2014 seems to be turning into sometime, both The Used and Taking Back Sunday, along with Sydney punk duo Corpus, played at Adelaide's HQ Complex on the 21st of August.

Photo Gallery: The Used + Taking Back Sunday - HQ, Adelaide (21.08.14)

The Used and Taking Back Sunday double headlining tour opened in Adelaide on Thursday night at HQ, where Lauren Connelly headed to bring us these photos.

Breakaway and Corpus announced to support The Used and Taking Back Sunday!

Set to join The Used and Taking Back Sunday are two killer bands in Corpus and Breakaway! The tour, which is set to take place this August, will provide an awesome opportunity for the two Sydney bands to secure a great level of exposure amongst national crowds.

the AU interview: Bert McCracken of The Used (Utah) on breaking down the idea of the 'rock star' ahead of their Australian tour.

Back when the AU was getting amongst everything SXSW in March, Larry sat down with The Used's frontman Bert McCracken, where he let slip that the band would be touring with Taking Back Sunday and Corpus sometime in 2014. Last week, the news was finally broken to the public and it's safe to say that excitement is beginning to grow for the co-headline run of dates through August. Shortly after speaking with Adam Lazzara from TBS, I have my turn with McCracken, who's currently winding down from their first leg of shows through the US.

the AU interview: Adam Lazzara of Taking Back Sunday (Amityville) on touring with The Used, 'Happiness Is' and more!

When the Taking Back Sunday/The Used co-headline Australian tour was announced, I'll admit that the part of me who went through that 'angsty' teen stage everyone does in the mid-2000s perked up. The Amityville boys and the Utah rockers have recently been tearing through stages in the US on a co-headliner which has been bringing fans of all ages together for some great sets. Adam Lazzara comments on the atmosphere these special shows have been generating night after night.

The Used and Taking Back Sunday set for Australian tour in August!

They've recently stormed stages across the US together and come August, Taking Back Sunday and The Used will be bringing their massive co-headline tour down under. Performing full headline sets each, the bands will be visiting two huge catalogues of work in Adelaide, Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne - no doubt shows to be remembered by the hardcore fans who've been following both since the beginning.

the AU interview: Bert McCracken of The Used talks Imaginary Enemy, Australian Bands and Sydney Lock Outs

the AU review talks to The Used's Bert McCracken about their new album Imaginary Enemy, living in Australia, Australian bands he loves, the situation with the Sydney Lock Out laws and more...

Album News Weekly: 22 January 2014

In This Issue: Big list with some big names this week. The colourful Morrissey is putting out an album this year, as well as tabloid legend George Michael. Other international releases include The Used, We Are Scientists, and a new one from the Ministry Of Sound. Local releases are going to be strong too: Sally Seltman, The Audreys, Morgan Evans and Post Blue have all announced albums for 2014. The end of January is fast approaching, and the year of great albums is well and truly under way...

Festival Review: Vans Warped Tour - Ellis Park, Adelaide (09.12.13)

If you were one of the millions of kids who cut their teeth on pop-punk and skate-punk in the late nineties and early-to-mid 2000s, the Vans Warped Tour was pretty much hallowed ground. I distinctly remember following the coverage of the American Warped Tours every year in high school, drooling over the line ups, following Buzznet blogs, watching videos and reading interviews. It was my dream to go over and follow the tour for myself at some point, although I'm not sure how I thought I was going to afford it.

Photo Gallery: Vans Warped Tour Part Three - Exhibition Park, Canberra (06.12.13)

Vans Warped Tour headed to Canberra's Exhibition Park on Friday where we caught the full line-up. Here's the third and final part to our Canberra gallery. Gwendolyn Lee brings us these photos from the pit at the Kevin Says stage where The Summer Set opened the stage and The Offspring headlined.