AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

SIDNEY MYER MUSIC BOWL

Arts Review: Summer Nights In Budapest - Sidney Myer Music Bowl (18.02.15)

Summer in Melbourne boasts a range of cultural extravaganzas, and what better way to spend a balmy night than to immerse yourself with 10,000 other people and listen to some exquisite classical music!

Festival Review: Soulfest - Kings Domain, Melbourne (19.10.14)

After a lukewarm start in Sydney due to atrocious sound issues, I was a bit nervous with my decision to fly down to Melbourne and do it all again. This was a line-up that was quite literally a dream for me and felt like a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity so to be underwhelmed twice would not only be soul crushing personally, it would have been indicative of what Australia and New Zealand could expect from the rest of the long-awaited tour. But all those angry tweets and general complaints that arose out of Sydney and the lack of sound checking seemed to benefit Melbourne; this time the crew behind Soulfest were on the ball. This led to a festival that felt like an entirely different, better experience than Sydney, and felt much closer to what the promoters intended the festival to be.

Event Review and Interview Feature: The Apology Concert - Arts Centre Melbourne, Sidney Myer Music Bowl (13.02.14)

Healing Foundation

"Today we honour the Indigenous peoples of this land, the oldest continuing cultures in human history. We reflect on their past mistreatment. We reflect in particular on the mistreatment of those who were Stolen Generations—this blemished chapter in our nation’s history. The time has now come for the nation to turn a new page in Australia’s history by righting the wrongs of the past and so moving forward with confidence to the future."

Hermitude headlining Sidney Myer Music Bowl Australia Day event 'Shortlisted!'

hermitude

2012 Coopers AMP winner Hermitude will be headlining the Sidney Myer Music Bowl Australia Day event named 'Shortlisted!'. Shortlisted! is being held for the first time as part of the official Australia Day celebrations on Sunday January 26.

Live Review: Gurrumul: His Life and Music + Sarah Blasko - Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne (12.09.13)

A twilight performance at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl is always a treat, but when the artists on offer are some of Australia’s finest - seminal Sydney songstress Sarah Blasko and the exceptional Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu- the blind singer-songwriter hailing from Elcho Island, your run of the mill concert transforms into a spectacularly memorable occasion.

Photo Gallery: Gurrumul + Sarah Blasko - Sidney Myer Music Bowl, Melbourne (12.10.13)

Last night, multi ARIA award-winning Indigenous artist Gurrumul presented a stunning account of his life and music under the stars at the Sidney Myer Music Bowl as part of the Melbourne Festival. He was supported by Philharmonia Australia and the ever-lovely Sarah Blasko for this very special event. Photos by Serena Ho.

Live Review: Aerosmith + Wolfmother + Grinspoon + The Dead Daisies + Spiderbait + Diva Demolition - Sidney Myer Music Bowl (28.04.13)

There’s only one reason I would spend my afternoon stand on a grassy hill on a gloomy Melbourne day with a forecast for rain. That reason my friend, is that it’s Aerosmith’s first Australian tour in over 20 years. Despite the temperature of 16 degrees and ominous grey clouds that were looming over head, there was a sense of anticipation in the air, and a stellar line up that made the Sunday afternoon worth the threatening weather.

Tour Updates: The Black Keys, Pink, Glen Hansard, Icehouse, Violent Soho and more!

The Black Keys

In this issue: The Black Keys, P!nk, Glen Hansard, Icehouse, Violent Soho and more!

The Black Keys announce extra tickets

With less than a week to go until The Black Keys hit Australia, they have announced extra seat and floor tickets for selected shows. Tickets are limited and are now available, so get them while they last.

Monday October 22
SYDNEY ENTERTAINMENT CENTRE

Live Review: Parklife Festival - Sidney Myer Music Bowl (06.10.12)

The day was frigid. But the punters were undeterred (and under-dressed), ready to dance the cold away and enjoy a rain-soaked Melbourne version of the travelling circus that is Parklife.

Live Review: Bon Iver + Sally Seltmann - Sidney Myer Music Bowl (08.03.12)

Bon Iver celebrated a completely sold out Sidney Myer Music Bowl concert tonight. An indie-folk band that started in 2007 by American songwriter Justin Vernon, these days Bon Iver frequently collects other talented musicians, and tonight is a showcase of this.