ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

CITY RECITAL HALL

Photo Gallery: Katie Noonan & Circa's "Love-Song-Circus" - City Recital Hall, Angel Place (02.04.14)

Katie Noonan and Circa team up for "Love-Song-Circus" at the City Recital Hall in Sydney. Nathan Atkins was at the first show in Sydney last night and brings us these photos. The second and final performance will be on tonight!

the AU interview: Katie Noonan (Brisbane) talks Love-Song-Circus

Katie Noonan has performed in many guises. Whether it is with her jazz ensemble of Elixir, collaborating with the Australian Symphony Orchestra, or recording albums with her mother Maggie. She’s made her next step in a fascinating career by coordinating Love-Song-Circus, a piece of cross art forms that envelops Australian history, circus performance and song cycles. The show has had very successful runs in Brisbane, Adelaide and Melbourne already and is set to wow eyes in Sydney in the next few days.

Sydney Festival Photo Gallery: Hurricane Transcriptions (Last Night on Earth) by Lee Ranaldo - City Recital Hall (16.01.14)

Sonic Youth's Lee Ranaldo returned to Australia last week to perform his new composition Hurricane Transcriptions at the Sydney Festival. Jamie Williams from the Festival brings us these photos from the one off concert at the City Recital Hall.

Sydney Festival Live Review: Hurricane Transcriptions (Lee Ranaldo) + Laborintus II (Mike Patton) - City Recital Hall (16.01.14)

Last Thursday, the Sydney Festival played host to two legends of alternative rock performing outside of their comfort zones. While both Lee Ranaldo and Mike Patton aren't best known for anything approaching classical music, they aren't strangers to the form, and from what they did last night I could see them moving into that area easily in the future.

Sydney Festival Live Review: Matmos - City Recital Hall, Angel Place (15.01.14)

Experimental electronica wizards Matmos are a duo that have no respect for boundaries; a team of gifted musicians - M.C Schmidt and Drew Daniel - who enjoy manipulating every sound they can get their hands on, and creating both skeletal and gorgeously layered productions, spun into their thematic studio albums like Civil War - an LP which delves into the folk music of the civil war era and chops it up into electronica.

Event Review: An Evening with Neil Gaiman - City Recital Hall (25.01.13)

An Evening with Neil Gaiman (Sydney 25.1.13)

I’ve seen Neil Gaiman perform live only once before, and I knew I had to go again. I say ‘perform’ because a Neil Gaiman book tour isn’t what you would expect, and he has such a stage presence it’s impossible not to be drawn in to his world of fantasy and dark humour.

Sydney Festival Live Review: Rokia Traoré, Sing - City Recital Hall Angel Place (20.01.13)

The sparse interior of the City Recital Hall at Angel Place was given an auditory injection of life during Rokia Traoré’s stunning showcase of traditional West African classics that focused mainly on her own Malian heritage.

Sydney Festival Live Review: Orchestre National De Jazz ft. Rokia Traore - City Recital Hall, Angel Place (15.01.13)

One thing I love about events like Sydney Festival is that it gives you the chance to discover new artistic beings you probably should have already known about, but didn't. Robert Wyatt was one such being, whose name I'd heard echo around the music ether over the years, but never really took the time to check out. Until, of course, the Sydney Festival announced a show paying tribute to icon of prog rock, which last night saw the 2009 record Around Robert Wyatt performed by France's national Orchestra, Orchestre National De Jazz.

Sydney Festival Review: Assembly - City Recital Hall (13.01.12)

I've always enjoyed dance. Though I rarely experience it live, few things can be as enthralling on stage (or screen - have you seen The Muppets yet?) than a dance ensemble pulling out the moves to a superb score - be it a musical, a music video, a ballet or a gymnastics display in the Olympics. Involved in musical theatre as a kid, and having friends in the industry, I know just how much work people put into it - heart, soul, dedication, time and of course the pure technical skill required to achieve the art itself. So in reading the descriptions for Assembly, appearing at the City Recital Hall as part of Sydney Festival, I have to say I was pretty excited to see what this piece would be, especially considering the involvement of experimental (and well hyped) dance troupe Chunky Move.

Photo Gallery: Chris Botti + Monique diMattina - City Recital Hall (11.06.11)

On his last night in Australia, master jazz artist and performer of the trumpet Chris Botti with Monique diMattina played to a sell-out crowd at the City Recital Hall. Lachlan Mitchell was there to capture the event.

Katie Noonan & Karin Schaupp - City Recital Hall (07.05.11)

Katie Noonan is arguably a household name in Australia. Thanks to an armful of ARIA awards, chart-topping albums and a voice that can silence audiences, the Brisbane songstress has certainly made her mark on the music biz.