AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

BLACK BEAR LODGE

Photo Gallery: The AU Review's 7th Birthday Party - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (11.09.15)

On Friday September 11th, the AU celebrated our 7th birthday in style at the Black Bear Lodge in Brissy. Our event was presented Black Bear Lodge, Mountain Goat and Fireball Whiskey and boasted performances from Wasted Wanderers, The Lulu Raes, Halcyon Drive, We All Want to and more. Andrew Wade was there to catch all the action! Click through for his photo gallery...

Photo Gallery: Lunatics On Pogosticks + Skegss - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (15.01.15)

Lunatics on Pogosticks were joined by our recent "Artist to Watch" addition Skegss at the Black Bear Lodge last night. Andrew Wade was there and brings us these photos from the night:

Live Review: Hey Geronimo + Born Joy Dead + Youth Allowance - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (18.12.14)

There’s always a little something special about end of year gigs. Not only is it a celebration of what has been achieved over the year that has been, but it is also a prelude to what is coming in the New Year. Hey Geronimo brought their A-Game to the Black Bear Lodge and it was a true celebration a full of hard work.

Photo Gallery: The AU Review X PANDORA Post-BIGSOUND 6th birthday Party- Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (12.09.14)

the AU review and Pandora threw a 6th birthday/post-BIGSOUND celebration at the Black Bear Lodge in Brisbane, with guest DJ's including Babaganouj and performances from Canada's Jordan Klassen Perth's Kucka, Melbourne based Kathryn Rollins, Brisbane's own Michelle Xen + The Neon Wild and Tully on Tully closing out the night. Aidan Hogg was there to capture our massive event!

Live Review: Bec Laughton + Zeek Power + Astrid - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (19.06.14)

When I heard that Bec Laughton was playing in celebration of her latest EP release M&R, I knew there would be no way I was going to miss this gig. Can I say right now, this particular gig is in my Top 5 of all time! Here’s why.

Live Review: Eagle and the Worm + Fox & Fowl + Love Signs - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (06.06.14)

Eagle and the Worm have been a little quiet of late, until Record Store Day hit that is, and we had the pleasure of listening to their latest single "Automatic" on 7-inch wax. To celebrate this new release, the band celebrated with a string of east coast tour dates.

Photo Gallery: Harmony + Gentle Ben And His Sensitive Side - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (03.04.14)

Harmony kick off the album launch tour for their brilliant Carpetbombing LP at Brisbane's Black Bear Lodge, supported by Gentle Ben and his Sensitive Side. Photos by Andrew Wade.

Live Review: Ben Caplan and the Casual Smokers + Joe Oppenheimer - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (02.01.14)

There is no better way to break into the New Year than with a live music performance. Everyone at the Falls Festival and Woodford Folk Festival shouldn’t have to steal all the fun - Brisbanites and close neighbours had fun too.

Live Review: Keep on Dancin's + Martyr Privates + Roku Music- Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (15.11.13)

The Keep on Dancin's played the Black Bear Lodge in Brisbane, supported by some kickass acts in Roku Music and Martyr Privates, proving that the noise had been brought to Brisbane well and truly on this Friday night.

Live Review: StormChasers + His Merry Men + Astrid and the Asteriods - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (13.11.13)

Astrid and the Asteroids start the night of with their smooth lounge speckled with stardust and science flowing through the venue. It's a slightly otherworldly mix of calm jazzy sound, wonder and occasional scientific info blurbs with backing guitar, plunking keyboard and sad trumpet all marched by drums.

Photo Gallery: Lofly Compilation Launch - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (06.10.13)

There was one big party down at the Black Bear Lodge to celebrate the launch of a very special compilation showcasing the Lofly label. Some great acts were part of the night and Andrew Wade was there to capture it all.

Live Review: Major Leagues + Babaganouj + Rinse - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (09.08.13)

Major Leagues

Lately, I've been going to gigs and finding myself more impressed and entertained by the support acts than the headliners themselves; Big Scary, Pigeon, and Jagwar Ma have all put in live performances more memorable than the groups above them in the bill. Is there an argument that support bands have more to prove, so tend to put in more effort? Possibly, although doesn't every band with enough balls to get up on a stage have something to prove, night in, night out? I'm putting it down to coincidence.

Live Review: Tigertown + The Starry Field + Mountains - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (23.06.13)

Tigertown are an entity unto themselves. The five-piece boast luscious harmonies and a cleanly polished set. The Sydneysiders played to a sold out Black Bear Lodge for their 'What You Came Here For' National tour, which is already deserving of kudos!

Live Review: Andy Bull + Ainslie Wills - Black Bear Lodge (30.05.13)

andy bull

It would not have been surprising if the walls of Black Bear Lodge had been decked in ‘Welcome Back Andy’ banners, as the celebratory mood of the sold-out crowd was absolutely palpable. Many people arrived early as they eagerly awaited the return of Sydney’s musical wonder, Andy Bull after an unofficial hiatus of more than a year.

Photo Gallery: Super Wild Horses + Day Ravies + The Kramers - Black Bear Lodge (17.05.13)

Melbourne’s Super Wild Horses played the Black Bear Lodge to launch their new album Crosswords. With support from The Kramers and Day Ravies, Cordell Sanders was there to capture the action.