AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

SYDNEY

Eating with the AU: ARIA Sydney (Spring 2015 Menu) - Circular Quay (Sydney)

The Matt Moran owned Aria Sydney has long been known as one of the Sydney's most essential restaurants; especially when it comes to characteristic spring and summer days in the iconic harbour city. Situated right next to Sydney Opera House, overlooking the water and the Sydney Harbour Bridge, the two-hatted restaurant has still got that charming and sophisticated air about it, immediately perceptible as you walk through those front doors into the small lobby area.

Festival Photo Gallery: Listen Out- Centennial Park, Sydney (03.10.15)

The Listen Out Festival 2015 returned to Centennial Park featuring Childish Gambino, Joey Badass, Alison Wonderland, SBTRKT, Odesza and many more. Belinda Dipalo was there to bring you these photos.

F&L Guide: What's on in Sydney this October Long Weekend

The October Long Weekend is here and Sydneysiders are spoiled for choice when it comes to big events, ranging from video games to music to food and drink. Good Food Month has begun; the EB Expo is on; Listen Out is on Saturday. There's so much going on around the city, and here are some of our favourites.

Eight things we learned at Kevin Smith's "Superhero Multiverse" at the Sydney Opera House

For the second time in a week, I had the pleasure of listening to Kevin Smith talk his ass off as he winds down his Australian tour with Jason Mewes. As part of the Graphic Festival, Smith & Mewes held their final show at the iconic Sydney Opera House, talking all things film, comics and vulgar sex stories. Here are 8 things I learned.

Event Recap: The Light Ball - Doltone House, Pyrmont (25.09.15)

Last Friday night saw the launch of The Light Ball in Sydney. Started in Ireland, the charity ball is a black tie event held to raise awareness of mental health issues and to aid the Irish Charity, Pieta House and the Australian Charity, beyondblue. Highly successful in Ireland, two members of committee recently moved to Sydney with the plans to take the ball Down Under.

Live Review: Big K.R.I.T + Milwaukee Banks + Preacha - Oxford Art Factory (27.09.15)

"A lot of people, when they come to my shows they get a good understanding of how much I believe in my own music...", Big K.R.I.T told me on the phone a few days prior to starting his debut Australian tour. The Mississippi emcee was to headline Outside In festival and also play a few solo shows around the country, and while he let me know what to expect, I still wasn't prepared for just how much energy and passion he brought to the stage. While I unfortunately missed him at Outside In, I made sure to catch him at Oxford Art Factory the following day, where he was given some great support from Aussie duo Milwaukee Banks and local DJ Preacha.

Live Review: Sounds of the Suburbs - Wilbur Lane, Cronulla (27.09.15)

I've spent a large portion of my live in the Hills District - a little place in North West Sydney that looks eerily similar to The Truman Show suburbia. Growing up, there were little outlets for us musical lovers, who were forced into the city as a means to garner a musical education. That's why I was so excited by the whole concept of Sounds of the Suburbs - bands from around the world congregating in a laneway in South Sydney's Cronulla to share a bit of what helped them formulate their musical style -- their home.

Event Review: Oz Comic-Con - Exhibition Centre Glebe Island, Sydney (26 and 27.09.15)

Over the last few years there has been a steady rise in the popularity of the pop culture convention. Oz Comic Con Sydney was held over the weekend and we went along to check out the movie and TV star guests, the wares on sale by various exhibitors and artists and the ever increasing numbers of people cosplaying.

Eating with the AU: Barrio Cellar - CBD (Sydney)

Such a big focus on Tequila and Mezcal isn't often seen in the very centre of the city, often confined to the the more specifically hipster suburbs like Darlinghurst, Potts Point and Surry Hills, or breezy Bondi and Double Bay. That all changed when the team behind King Cross staple Barrio Chino decided to move into the just-off-Martin-Place space that was once occupied by late-night party champs Spice Cellar. The resulting bar, titled Barrio Cellar, is the underground hub of rowdy, spirited Mexican culture that the CBD has always been begging for and, in a year of great change for Sydney's dining scene, it's still one of the most exciting venue openings (whole precincts aside) in the past few years.

Photo Gallery: OutsideIn Festival - Manning Bar, Sydney (26.09.15)

The OutsideIn Festival returned to Sydney on Saturday, filling the Manning bar with a diverse range of local and international artists from electronica to hip hop. Some of the highlights included Sable, Cosmo's Midnight, Devin The Dude, Pender Street Steppers, Africa HiTech and headlining the main stage - Big K.R.I.T. It was an incredible day. Check out photos from the event here:

Live Review: Dustin Tebbutt - The Factory Theatre, Sydney (25.09.15)

Playing against a backdrop of snow capped mountains, Dustin Tebbutt captured the minds and bodies of his listeners this past Friday night, thrusting them into a mystical universe where snow constantly falls, and floors in venues aren't sticky. With three EP's behind him, Tebbutt is emerging as one of those Australian artists to keep an eye on, reminiscent of Icelandic folk such as Sigur Ros or Asgeir, but with an undeniable Australian twang.

Arts Review: Matthys Gerber - Museum of Contemporary Art, Sydney (Exhibition open until 6 December 2015)

To seek out the failings of an image seems like a curious choice of action for an artist. But Matthys Gerber is no ordinary painter. The Sydneysider (who has born in the Netherlands and has lived in Denmark) is the subject of a comprehensive exhibition that is currently being staged at the Museum of Contemporary Art (MCA) in Sydney. The show is his most extensive Australian one to date and it is something that will challenge and tantalise your visual cortex.

Weekend Highlight: We get a taste of Lotus Dining's $49 Degustation Menu running during The Galeries' Spring Social (Sydney CBD)


Photo Credit: Chloe Paul

Lotus Dining - Chris Yan's modern take on Chinese - has been bringing customers their second location in The Galeries for less than two months, but they've already become one of the most popular destinations in the building, which is celebrating their "Spring Social" this weekend. And Lotus are joining in on the festivities, offering a special, one weekend only $49 degustation menu. We got a taste of it last night and here's what you can expect from the menu:

Live Review: Sebastian Bach - The Metro Theatre, Sydney (23.09.15)

Last night, the legendary singer of Skid Row, Sebastian Bach, hit the stage in Sydney for the first time in seven years as part of his “18 and Live” tour.

Japanese Film Festival Announce 2015 Sydney Program

The Japanese Film Festival (JFF) has announced the program for the Sydney leg of its 2015 national tour. Running from November 5 to 15 at Event Cinemas George St and Parramatta, and is set to once again bring the finest of Japanese culture to Australian cinemas.