Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:69:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:33;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/reviews?page=7', '', '54.92.194.75', 1513278199) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134
LIVE REVIEWS | the AU review
AU ABROAD

warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.

LIVE REVIEWS

Live Review: Riley Pearce + Dylan Wright + Kat Wilson - Blinco St. Cafe, Perth (02.07.15)

Thursday night, with the weather outside bleak and wintery and with drizzle pattering on the tin roof, Perth singer-songwriter Riley Pearce played an intimate show at the Blinco Street Café, the first of a series of shows across Perth with visiting Sydney muso Dylan Wright.

Photos and Wrap Up from the AU sessions #005 featuring Ed Wells + Lincoln - The Hive Bar, Erskineville (30.06.15)

Last night, The AU Sessions returned to The Hive Bar in Erskineville for our fifth instalment, featuring local artists Lincoln and Ed Wells. Both talented artists graced us with the accompaniment of a keyboard - while Ed also had a backing guitarist to round out his amazing sound. We may be a bit bias, but we think it was the best AU Sessions yet!

Live Review: Gold Fields + KLP + Problems - Jive, Adelaide (26.06.15)

It's been a while since I've seen Gold Fields perform. Aside from a late night set at BIGSOUND last year where they suffered from the bullshit noise restrictions limiting the quality of the actual show, the last time the Ballarat band was in Adelaide they were touring debut album Black Sun to a pumping Jive. Friday night saw them return with KLP as part of their current joint Australian tour and it was great to see them back.

Live Review: Alpine + Darts + Olympia - The Gov, Adelaide (24.06.15)

The first show of Alpine's national 'Foolish' tour took place at The Gov on Wednesday night, the audience an eclectic range of both the young and old.

Live Review: Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell + Harmony James - The Star Event Centre, Sydney (27.06.15)

In Australia to perform material from their albums The Traveling Kind and Grammy award winning Old Yellow Moon for the first time, country/Americana/folk luminaries Emmylou Harris and Rodney Crowell put on a show rich with their utterly mesmerising sound. Considering that the pair first met and started working together back in 1974, it is easy to see how such a history could lead to their evocative and rich collaborations today – also making for a show that was at once relaxed and of the highest quality.

Live Review: Hermitude + Jayteehazard + Basenji - Enmore Theatre, Sydney (26.06.15)

Hermitude seize the improvised element of a live rock show and run it through their own, and the effect is captivating. All I could think is why aren’t they performing at an overseas festival right now.*

Live Review and Photos: Lost Highway Presents Country and Inner Western - The Basement, Sydney (24.06.15)


Pictured: Cruisin’ Deuces

Presented by Lost Highway Australia, the Country and Inner Western monthly music nights at The Basement are only getting better and better. Offering the best mix of alt-country, bluegrass, Americana and folk on offer on Australian shores, this event well and truly meets the growing demand for such gloriously heartfelt, toe-tapping live music. On Wednesday 24th June, Harry Love, Lucky Luke and his Shooting Stars and Cruisin’ Deuces all took to the stage to woo their loving audiences – a growing crowd that indisputably ate up the exuberant performances.

Live Review: Dune Rats + Cosmic Psychos + Horror My Friend - The Gov, Adelaide (25.06.15)

Having Dune Rats and Cosmic Psychos in Adelaide on a Thursday night can really screw you up - the concept of returning to a full day of work on Friday and then a full weekend while feeling hungover as a dog after one of their shows is horrendous. Deciding to roll sober on this particular night (four previous Dunies experiences having taught me some lessons in the art of navigating hangovers in the past), I turned up at The Gov and became part of a crowd that had no qualms about rising to the occasion - things got messy, sweaty and anarchic quickly.

Live Review: Tim Rogers & The Bamboos + Ainslie Wills - The Triffid, Brisbane (18.06.15)

The Triffid has served up another fantastic gig to keep you going through the mid-week. This time Brisbane was visited by the folk of funk from Melbourne, The Bamboos. Bamboos fans will know their latest album The Rules of Attraction is a collaborative effort with Australian musician and You Am I front man Tim Rogers. So of course, this tour will have The Bamboos not just fronted currently by Kylie Auldist, by far the most fabulous heart and soul of the show, but also Tim Rogers himself jiving and grooving beside her.

Live Review: Jebediah + Bodyjar - The Corner Hotel, Melbourne (17.06.15)

Those kids from the 90's, Jebediah, are back. It's their 20th anniversary and it's time to party with one hell of a tour. To celebrate their first night in Melbourne, punk rockers Bodyjar are the opening act. They kick things off with a few songs from their 98 album, No Touch Red, before playing an assortment of tracks from Plastic Skies and Role Model. Loud and crunchy guitar riffs populate the set as Bodyjar fill the room with an energy that can only be relieved by breaking out into a skank. 'Too Drunk To Drive' brings back vivid memories of their 80's themed video clip and Adalita prancing about like a giant dork alongside a poker faced singer, Cam Baines. However it's 'Not The Same' and the cover of 'Hazy Shade of Winter' that truly demonstrates their punk prowess.

Live Review: Art vs. Science + East - The Basement, Sydney (13.06.15)

When going to see acts you’ve known for years and seen several times before, there’s always a chance that you might be let down if they don’t live up to the memories you have from previous gigs. Fortunately, for Art vs Science, not only did they meet the demands of my past memories, but they definitely created a couple more when they played the opening show of their 'In This Together' tour at Sydney’s The Basement.

Vivid Live Review: TV on the Radio + Kirin J Callinan - Sydney Opera House (08.06.15)

As we reported last night, the lights have come down for the 7th year at Vivid Festival Sydney, but not before one last show helped light up the Sydney Opera House - as its sails glowed with animated lights outside. Brooklyn quartet TV on the Radio held the honours, playing as a six piece in the venue - trombone and all - supported by the one and only Kirin J Callinan.

Live Review: Birds of Tokyo + Ecca Vandal - The Gov, Adelaide (04.06.15)

The last time Birds of Tokyo were in Adelaide in a headline capacity, they played to a packed out HQ. After that, fans would see the Perth band play the massive Adelaide Entertainment Centre arena, supporting Muse. It's been a little while since we've seen Birds in town and given they were advertised to playing the intimate surrounds of The Gov, it's no surprise the show was billed as being completely sold out by show night.

Live Review: Ben Howard - Margaret Court Arena, Melbourne (01.06.15)

Call me bold, but I could not tell you another album that I have felt a stronger connection to than I Forget Where We Were, Ben Howard’s sophomore release of late last year. It’s such a huge leap from his debut offering Every Kingdom and it just really bloody gets me in the feels, you know? So naturally, I have been itching to experience this amazing full length masterpiece in the flesh for a number of months now, particularly with this tour being a rescheduled show following Howard’s cancelled Bluesfest appearance back in April.

Vivid Live Review: Red Bull Music Academy presents Elefant Traks - Sydney Opera House Studio (31.05.15)


Photo Credit: Prudence Upton

You wouldn’t think of the Sydney Opera House as a venue for an underground hip-hop party on a Sunday night, but that’s what Elefant Traks brought to the Studio as part of Vivid Festival this weekend. The Sydney-based record label presented a mix of live performances and DJ sets from old school to original hip-hop, which gave the night a sort of festival feel... crowd members holding GoPros and wearing felt hats contributing to that.