AU ABROAD

warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.

LIVE REVIEWS

The Kooks + Dash & Will - Palace Theatre (08.01.09)


I love the Kooks, and unfortunately missed them when they toured in the middle of 2008, and so when a second Australian tour was announced, I was pretty excited to finally have the opportunity to see this band live, and with their most recent effort, ‘Konk’, being a favourite 2008 release of mine, I was interested to see what they would do to the catchy pop numbers in the flesh.

Myspace Secret Show: Franz Ferdinand - Enmore Theatre (06.01.09)


FINALLY! FRANZ HAVE RETURNED!
And they're making new music too!

The Honey Brothers - The Supper Club (03.01.09)


Now the first thing you may wonder when you look at the above picture is:
Wait a minute, is that Vinnie Chase / Adrian Grenier in a band?
Did I just miss Adrian Grenier in Sydney?

Soko + The Harpoons + Pikelet - Corner Hotel (01.01.09)


It was a matinee, on New Year’s Day, and so while some continues to sleep off the night before, the crazy went to Richmond, selling out Soko’s 2pm soiree. The crowd was quiet, obviously still in recovery mode and feeling seedy, though were excited to see the tiny French chanteuse.

Soko + Cuthbert and the Nightwalkers - Oxford Art Factory (29.12.08)


The evening got off to a start with Sydney’s latest indie pop sensation Cuthbert and The Nightwalkers. With a mixture of male/female vocals, guitar, drum, bass and a whole lot of keyboards this delightful seven piece played their hearts out. They were an entertaining and lively support,receiving a well deserved applause at the end.

Adam Green + The Harpoons + Crayon Fields - East Brunswick Club (14.12.08)


Despite it being a Sunday night, with many of Melbourne’s punters on their trip home from the weekends Meredith Festival, East Brunswick Club was packed full of fan ready to hear Adam Green kitsch folk rock songs.

Man Man + The John Steel Singers - Oxford Art Factory (13.12.08)


Man. Where do you even begin with these guys?

Fun.
Energetic.
Ridiculous.
Crazy.

Hilarious.
Grammatically Incorrect.

MGMT + Luke Steele + Tame Impala - Hordern Pavillion (09.12.08)


Although I missed Perth's wunderkinds Tame Impala, I think for many they would have been the highlight of the night. Indeed, there was a good bit of fun to follow... but I'm going to say this outright: MGMT are an awful live band, and Luke Steele's solo tracks leave quite a lot to be desired.

Kanye West + Nas + Scribe + Consequence + Kid Cudi - Acer Arena (06.12.08)


I think it would be fair to say that most people were fairly blown away by the show Kanye West put on at Good Vibrations 2008. In fact, the whole festival seemed to be just a lead up to a production the likes of which I've never seen at a festival before - costume changes, effects, a fantastic stage set up, and Kanye at the top of his game as he was gearing up for the "Glow in the Dark" US tour.