ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

FESTIVAL REVIEW

Festival Review: Splendour In The Grass (Day Three) Ft. Ben Howard + Lily Allen + Phantogram - Sunday (27.07.14)

The final day of Splendour In The Grass 2014 saw some of the weekend's best performances, with each of the main stages capped of in very different ways. The Ampitheatre closed for 2014, sent off with a colourful performance from subversive pop star Lily Allen, and leaving us with the weekend's stand-out performances to reminisce on. Elsewhere the GW McLennan Tent was sent swaying to the warmth of Ben Howard (pictured), and the Mix-Up Stage saw it's first dose of slow-burning, artful electronica – as compared to the usual speaker-assaulting trend tracks – with Darkside, who brought a much more unexpected sound to the tent.

Festival Review: Splendour in the Grass (Day Two) Ft. City and Colour + Foals + Future Islands (26.04.14)

Weather kept smiling upon us as we navigated North Byron Parklands for the second official day of Splendour In The Grass, with the expected rain lasting all but a few minutes, aside from the occasional, insignificant drizzle. As such, the bulk of the crowd remained at the open-air Ampitheatre for the final moments of the day, with a fantastic closing line-up of The Jezabels, Foals, and City and Colour, who each came close to stealing the show from Friday headliners OutKast. Very close, in Foals' case.

Festival Review: Splendour In The Grass (Day One) Ft. OutKast + Interpol + Spiderbait (25.07.14)

The official first day of Splendour In The Grass 2014 set things into motion quite quickly, with punters flooding into the sun-kissed North Byron Parklands as soon as the gates opened, quickly spreading amongst the pop-up community which this great festival has now become. From The Preatures and Ball Park Music to the 25th anniversary of Spiderbait and the 20th anniversary of the almighty OutKast, we were treated to a consistently excellent stream of live performances, and this was only on the main stage.

Festival Review: T in the Park (Day Three) ft. Arctic Monkeys + Tame Impala - Kinross-Shire, Scotland (13.07.14)

After a rainy day and night, the sun peered through the clouds in Scotland for the third and final day of T in the Park, which would see Arctic Monkeys close the festival's main stage in typically rockin' fashion, while Example, Disclosure and Sven Vath ensured there were ways to end the weekend for everyone. Earlier in the day, performances from Australia's own Tame Impala, Kaiser Chiefs, Australia bound Sam Smith, Metronomy, Jake Bugg and many more proved that the festival, the final ever to be held at the current venue, would be sent off with a bang.

Festival Review: T in the Park (Day Two) ft. Elbow + Bombay Bicycle Club - Kinross-Shire, Scotland (12.07.14)

After a day where the gods beamed their sun on the festival site, an ominous overcast morning proved that T in the Park's second day wouldn't be as kind. But with punters eagerly awaiting entry well before the gates opened, it doesn't seem to be the Scottish way to let wet weather get in the way of a good time.

Festival Review: T in the Park (Day One) ft. Biffy Clyro + Pixies - Kinross-Shire, Scotland (11.07.14)

Now in its 21st year, T in the Park sits as the most established music festival in Scotland and alongside Glatsonbury, Leeds and Reading as one of the most well known annual music events in the United Kingdom. Its 2014 event - headlined by the likes of Arctic Monkeys, Calvin Harris, Scottish heroes Biffy Clyro, Pixies, Elbow and many more - marks something as the end of an era for the event. Like many world renowned festivals before it, the time has come for the event to move to a new home. But not before they give the venue - Balado Airfield in Kincross-Shire - where it's been held for 18 years, a proper goodbye.

Festival Review: River Sessions - Mackay Showgrounds (29.06.14)

When I first heard of River Sessions a couple of months ago, I was positive it must have been a new festival. Even in the regional festival circuits I feel I have a pretty good idea of what's happening around the country. But lo and behold, River Sessions has not only been running since 2008, but has become one of the most successful regional festivals in the country, attracting thousands of punters every year, drawn by an impressive array of local and international talent. Well, humbled as I was by this news, I knew I had to make my way north to the QLD town to find out what all the fuss was about for myself.

The final day of Music Matters Live 2014 in Singapore ft. Jeremy Neale, Dune Rats, Ash Grunwald and more.

It's been a few weeks since Music Matters Live came to an end in Singapore, and we wanted to take a moment out of our regularly schedule Coldplay madness to look back at the final night of festivities. The mainstage of Music Matters Live in Singapore is the "Fountain Stage", which takes over the central plaza of Clarke Quay. The final night was the biggest of the week and the main stage's lineup included three of Australia's most well known acts - Dune Rats, Ash Grunwald and Jeremy Neale.

The Festival Diaries: The Governor's Ball in New York City (Part Three: Day Three, 2014)

Day three dawns and the sun gods have visited us again – time to get alarmed, because now we know New York will be haunted with rain, fog and mugginess for the weeks to come. Only two minutes in, Canadian's Half Moon Run have set the bar for the day, with smooth harmonies and a gracefulness that makes every instrument from drum to kazoo look like an elaborately choreographed move – more dancing than music-making.

Festival Review: Primavera Sound 2014 ft. The National + Cut Copy + Haim and more! - Barcelona, Spain (28 to 31.05.14)

For people travelling or living in Europe it can often be a hard decision on which festivals to attend over the Summer? You are spoiled for choice with festivals every weekend, each having insane line ups and being held at amazing venues. Allow me to supply one such festival for your consideration: last weekend was the annual Primavera Sound festival held in the ‘sunny’ (extremely rainy) Barcelona, Spain.

Festival Review: State of the Art Festival - Perth Cultural Centre (31.05.14)

Once again Western Australia scored lucky with the weather gods over the long weekend, keeping ominous rain clouds at bay for the duration of the State of the Art Festival hosted by Celebrate WA in association with WAM.

Festival Review: New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival 2014 - Part Three ft. Alabama Shakes + Arcade Fire + Christina Aguilera & More!

We've already covered some of the smaller stages at the event, as well as our discoveries, but as for the rest, Bruce Springsteen wasn't the only highlight among the main stages during the three days I was at the festival. Let's kick things off with another of the five bands we recommended to catch at the event, Alabama Shakes, who briefly popped out from their recording sessions to deliver some shows in North America.

Festival Review: New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival 2014 - Part One ft. Irma Thomas + Aaron Neville + Charles Bradley & more.

2014 marks the 45th Year of the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival, one of the world's longest running music events; and for yours truly, it marked my second visit to the iconic event. Every year, over seven days spread across two weekends, the musical world descends on New Orleans for some of the world's finest music, food and the unique culture of the city. This year was no exception with acts like Bruce Springsteen, Eric Clapton, Phish and many, many more, performing at the event spread over 12 stages and encompassing just about every genre.

Our Five Musical Discoveries at New Orleans Jazz Fest 2014.

Another year and another Jazz Fest has come and gone in New Orleans. With performances from the likes of Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, John Fogerty, Robert Plant, Santana, Arcade Fire, Eric Clapton and a never-ending list of some of the world's finest talents, all who attended the seven day event will have some pretty incredible memories. But it's not all about the headliners. Jazz Fest organisers scour the city, the country and the world to deliver some of the finest lesser known talents alongside these big names. From local gospel groups, to up-and-coming Louisiana bands and the next-big-things from up North, there's always something to discover among the event's twelve stages.

Five Highlights from Day 2 of Deni Blues and Roots Festival (20.04.14)

From Gary Clark Jr to The Wailers and Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Byron Bay isn't the only place to see the legends and finest up-and-coming artists this weekend. The Deni Blues and Roots Festival is happening in Deniliquin, NSW, near the Victorian Border. Our writer Lachlan Mitchell is there and brings us these five highlights from his first day: