THE AU: MUSIC ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE THE IRIS: GAMES & TECHNOLOGY HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

LIVE REVIEWS

Splendour Sideshow Review: Best Coast - Oxford Art Factory, Sydney (28.07.15)

Bethany Cosentino is no longer just a chill Californian girl with a cat named Snacks who gets high and writes about her boyfriends. Now she's a chill Californian woman whose rock lyrics straddle mid 20's apathy and genuine existential crises. The music too has matured - from the minute long surf rock blitzes of debut Crazy For You, to the fully realised pop hooks of 2015's California Nights.

Splendour Sideshow Review: Blur + Jamie T - Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne (28.07.15)

It’s been a while since Britpop icons Blur have graced our shores with a full tour – 18 years in fact. Not to worry, however, as they are currently Down Under as headliners of Splendour In The Grass and were kind enough to stop by Rod Laver Arena to pump out a solid two hours of hits, misses, and everything in between. With fellow Briton Jamie T in support, the close to capacity crowd were treated to spectacular lighting and a group that clearly haven’t forgotten how to put on a show.

Splendour Sideshow Review: The Vaccines + Palma Violets + Green Buzzard - Metro Theatre, Sydney (28.07.15)


Photo by Gwendolyn Lee.

Coming down after the high that was a Splendour In The Grass weekend, you’d imagine some times bands and punters (myself included) might struggle to pull it all together and have a great night at a live show. Fortunately for myself and everyone else at Sydney’s Metro Theatre, The Vaccines were still at the top of their game and smashed out an almightily impressive set.

Splendour Sideshow Review: Death Cab For Cutie - 170 Russell, Melbourne (26.07.15)


Photo by Perri Cassie. Check out the full gallery HERE.

Playing their first Australian show since the departure of founding member Chris Walla, Death Cab for Cutie show no signs of abandoning their beloved roots.

Splendour Sideshow Review: Azealia Banks + Ivan Ooze - Prince Bandroom, Melbourne (26.07.15)

Recently Azealia Banks claimed that Australians are a “terrible crowd to play for,” but this statement starkly contrasts the atmosphere at her Splendour in The Grass sideshow in Melbourne on Sunday night.

Splendour Sideshow Review: MS MR + George Maple - Metro Theatre, Sydney (25.07.15)

MS MR
Photo taken at 170 Russell, Melbourne by Rebecca Houlden

MS MR returned to Sydney to play a Splendour in the Grass sideshow to adoring fans at The Metro Theatre.

Live Review: The Wombats + Circa Waves - Hordern Pavilion, Sydney (27.07.15)


© Gwendolyn Lee for the AU review.

In the country as part of the three day mud fest that was Splendour In The Grass, The Wombats continued the fine form and amphitheatre filling music they performed on Saturday night with their own headlining spot at Sydney’s Hordern Pavilion.

Splendour Sideshow Review: Blur + Jamie T - Qantas Credit Union Arena, Sydney (25.07.15)

Although it was a thought that was not too distant from our minds, Damon Albarn reminded us early in the set that it’s been 18 years since the iconic band Blur has played in Australia. Could the band return to our shores in triumphant Brit-pop glory? Lachlan Mitchell brings us this review…

Splendour in the Grass Festival Review: Sunday (26.07.15)


Blur shot by Andrew Wade

The Sunday Splendour Struggle was always going to be a tough one to get through, and as if it wasn't already enough wading through the thick and squishy, alcohol obviously got the best of many who forced themselves to show out early. No one was left wanting in terms of hangover food, with Splendour once again absolutely nailing festival eats, but the physical effects of an epic Saturday clearly took the spring away from our collective steps. Despite the slow moving and slightly zombie-esque crowd of the morning, Sunday did manage to stand out as the festival's best (an honour that usually goes to Day 2) and it was mainly due to that highly anticipated triple-hit of Royal Blood, Tame Impala, and headliners Blur from 7:30pm.

Live Review: At the Dakota + The Moving Targets + Green Stone Garden - Darwin Railway Club (24.07.15)

Arriving in Darwin in the early hours of Friday morning, I could already feel there was a big weekend ahead. Driving to my city hotel took me through the humid and messy main drag of Mitchell Street at 2am and within the few minutes I spent in transit through the area, backpackers and locals alike were already pouring out on to the street, kicking off the long weekend strong. After a day of soaking up sunshine and not having to walk around in five layers of clothing, I headed to the Darwin Railway Club to see three bands I'd heard a lot about, but until now, hadn't had the opportunity to see perform live.