ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

LIVE REVIEWS

Live Review: First Aid Kit + Marlon Williams - Metro Theatre, Sydney (29.07.14)

In their first Sydney concert since their much lauded Opera House headline gig of 2012, First Aid Kit have returned to Australia, fresh off the release of their new LP Stay Gold, here as part of the Splendour in the Grass contingency. Tonight's performance at the Metro Theatre may be a bit of a step down from their previous habitat, but the sold out crowd was no less respectful and the concert no less memorable. Well, maybe it is hard to beat a gig at the Opera House, but I digress...

Live Review: Grouplove + Mikhael Paskalev - Metro Theatre, Sydney (26.07.14)

grouplove-the-metro

Two well-loved acts from the Splendour in the Grass lineup joined forces for a sideshow. Grouplove and Mikhael Paskalev played to a jam-packed Metro Theatre in Sydney.

Festival Review: Splendour In The Grass (Day Three) Ft. Ben Howard + Lily Allen + Phantogram - Sunday (27.07.14)

The final day of Splendour In The Grass 2014 saw some of the weekend's best performances, with each of the main stages capped of in very different ways. The Ampitheatre closed for 2014, sent off with a colourful performance from subversive pop star Lily Allen, and leaving us with the weekend's stand-out performances to reminisce on. Elsewhere the GW McLennan Tent was sent swaying to the warmth of Ben Howard (pictured), and the Mix-Up Stage saw it's first dose of slow-burning, artful electronica – as compared to the usual speaker-assaulting trend tracks – with Darkside, who brought a much more unexpected sound to the tent.

Live Review: Ben Howard + Nick Mulvey - Astor Theatre, Perth (25.07.14)

Friday night saw Ben Howard finally make it across west for a sold out show at Perth's Astor Theatre, kicking off a run of dates that sees Howard also take to the stage at Splendour in the Grass. Yet this was a show, as Howard revealed, that came ever so close to being cancelled, with an injury to regular drummer Chris Bond leaving Howard and a newly assembled band just 48 hours to rehearse.

Festival Review: Splendour in the Grass (Day Two) Ft. City and Colour + Foals + Future Islands (26.04.14)

Weather kept smiling upon us as we navigated North Byron Parklands for the second official day of Splendour In The Grass, with the expected rain lasting all but a few minutes, aside from the occasional, insignificant drizzle. As such, the bulk of the crowd remained at the open-air Ampitheatre for the final moments of the day, with a fantastic closing line-up of The Jezabels, Foals, and City and Colour, who each came close to stealing the show from Friday headliners OutKast. Very close, in Foals' case.

Festival Review: Splendour In The Grass (Day One) Ft. OutKast + Interpol + Spiderbait (25.07.14)

The official first day of Splendour In The Grass 2014 set things into motion quite quickly, with punters flooding into the sun-kissed North Byron Parklands as soon as the gates opened, quickly spreading amongst the pop-up community which this great festival has now become. From The Preatures and Ball Park Music to the 25th anniversary of Spiderbait and the 20th anniversary of the almighty OutKast, we were treated to a consistently excellent stream of live performances, and this was only on the main stage.

Live Review: Kelis - The Hifi, Sydney (23.07.14)

Kelis brought her delicious hits, a band, and her amazing voice to her Splendour in the Grass sideshow at The HiFi in Sydney. I remember the first time I heard a Kelis song. I was 16 and "Milkshake" had just come on rage on a Saturday morning. Sadly, back then I didn't appreciate the song, the artist or her talent. I wrote her off as just being another of those boring, manufactured popstars and didn't really give her another thought.

Live Review: City and Colour - Sydney Opera House, Sydney (24.07.14)

"Let's just get this out of the way." Deadpanned Dallas Green as he walked out onto the Opera House stage. "This is weird for everyone, not just me." It was the first concession he made that connected to the long term Alexisonfire fans who have followed him along his career to this point. It needn't have felt weird, as Green has been playing regal venues like this for a while, having only just played three sold out at the State Theatre last year. Furthermore it’d be a safe wager that his vocals have never sounded as majestic as they did in the Opera House.

Live Review: Phantogram + Mas YSA - Metro Theatre, Sydney (24.07.14)

It had been a five year wait for some ever since the ethereal, somewhat arresting "Mouthful of Diamonds" had made its debut in 2009, but on Thursday night New York duo Phantogram finally landed on Australian soil. Before the satisfaction of their maiden Sydney set, however, the curtain raiser took the Metro Theatre stage.

Live Review: Lily Allen - Festival Hall, Melbourne (24.07.14)

It's been over four years since the controversial Brit songstress graced our shores, but this week Lily Allen was welcomed back with open arms (and screaming fans) at Melbourne's Festival Hall. Allen is touring the country in support of her latest album Sheezus, released in May this year, and is set to appear at the Splendour in the Grass festival over the weekend.

Festival Review: Splendour In The Grass 2014 - Thursday (24.07.14)

While many were off in Byron Bay town centre enjoying the official Splendour In The Grass pre-party with Interpol and a slew of the festival's best acts, the majority of punters stormed North Byron Parklands for a very eventful warm-up. Every year Splendour opens it's gates a day before the official start date, welcoming early-arrivals with massive party that usually begins in the late afternoon and ends well past midnight.

Live Review: Sky Ferreira - Prince Bandroom, Melbourne (23.07.14)

Image by Amelia Barnes

Here in Australia to play Splendour in the Grass, U.S singer, songwriter, actress and model Sky Ferreira, has some seriously adoring fans. Taking to the Prince Bandroom stage looking like a tired but effortlessly cool schoolgirl in a beanie and hoodie, it's hard to comprehend the huge international following this 22-year-old carries. That is, until she opens her mouth.

Live Review: Ásgeir + Airling - Metro Theatre, Sydney (23.07.14)

The time has come once again for the annual barrage of Splendour in the Grass sideshows to hit the city of Sydney, and things have kicked off at the Metro Theatre with a sold out appearance from Iceland's latest export Ásgeir, supported by Brisbane's Airling - who will also be appearing at Splendour this weekend thanks to winning a spot via Triple j Unearthed.

Live Review: Ásgeir + Airling - Forum Theatre, Melbourne (24.07.14)

A strong sense of Déjà vu lingered in the air as I entered Melbourne's Forum Theatre tonight, having last done so a mere 2 months ago for James Vincent McMorrow and the same would have been felt by Brisbane's Airling, who supported the talented Irishman on his tour and now securing the opening spot for his European neighbour in Iceland's very own Ásgeir.

Live Review: Gypsys of Pangea + Glass Skies + Salvador Dali Llama - Brighton Up Bar, Sydney (19.07.14)

The third Live at Your Cosmic Mind event took place at Brighton Up Bar in Sydney. The event celebrates psychedelic music with local bands and live art.