ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

LIVE REVIEWS

Festival Review: West Coast Blues and Roots - Fremantle Park, WA (13.04.14)

Sunday saw the West Coast Blues and Roots Festival return to Fremantle for its 11th year. Though back to its now customary one day format and with a smaller line-up than in recent years, the festival still managed to draw a none-too-shabby 15,000 people through the gates.

Live Review: Dave Matthews Band + Gary Clark Jr - QANTAS Credit Union Arena (15.04.14)

Those who have read my article earlier in the week will already know that I'm a fan of the Dave Matthews Band. They're a band I've grown up with in many ways, and between 2005 and 2007 I had the opportunity to catch them three times between Australia and the USA. What followed was what some might call a drought of opportunity; a drought that ended tonight with the band's first performance in Sydney in seven years.

Live Review: Chance Waters + Brendan Maclean - Oxford Art Factory (12.04.14)

More than a few eyebrows were raised when Australian emcee Chance Waters announced that the special guest for his "A Transit Officer Beat Up My Brother So I Wrote A Funny Song About Him" tour would be none other than local singer-songwriter and all-round fabulous artist Brendan Maclean. It's a pairing you wouldn't really expect coming from a rapper and a national gay icon, but then again, Chance isn't your typical emcee.

Live Review: Art Vs Science + Kilter - The Corner Hotel, Melbourne (10.04.14)

A well dressed couple dart across the rain slicked Swan Street towards Melbourne's Corner Hotel. Outwardly it all seems to be fairly sedate, until security informs the dismayed pair that tonight's gig is sold out. "Art vs Science? They sang that French song, didn't they?" the man remarks to his partner as they slink off into the distance.

Live Review: Megan Washington + All Our Exes Live In Texas - Howler, Melbourne (12.04.14)

Megan Washington is back with her single “Who Are You”, off her soon-to-be-released sophomore album There There, and to celebrate she played an intimate show at Melbourne’s Howler that sold out in a matter of minutes. As Melbourne’s the city that Megan essentially launched her career in, it was bound to be a special gig, and it definitely delivered!

Live Review: King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard - FBi Social, Sydney (12.04.14)

King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard are on the road playing shows to promote their latest album Oddments, their fourth within 18 months. Going to see them is an experience you'll never forget and something you'll want to do as often as you can.

Live Review: Architecture In Helsinki + World's End Press - Metro Theatre, Sydney (11.04.14)

World's End Press continue their savage work ethic in their opening slot. Having released their debut album in October last year they have circled the country numerous times, accumulating an impressive live reputation. Their high energy set tonight delivered what has become de rigueur for them. Flashy dance moves provided by bassist Sashi Dharann and equally flashy guitar work alongside some more workmanlike dance moves, from John Parkinson generate a whole lot of goodwill from the crowd.

Live Review: Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros + MT Warning - Enmore Theatre, Sydney (10.04.14)

If you were to look up Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros in the dictionary, you probably wouldn't find anything special (believe me, I checked). However, what should be written is something along the lines of "Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros: noun. A ten piece band indie-folk band from California who happen to put on one hell of a live performance. Synonyms: radiant, talented, vibrant, exceptional." But even that wouldn't do them justice.

Live Review: Art vs Science + Kilter + Nicole Millar - Oxford Art Factory (11.04.14)

Art vs Science have come full circle, performing a sold out show at the Oxford Art Factory over the weekend, a stage they've graced before way back in 2008, where it all began. The electro-house trio, or maestros of dance if you will, have become a much loved staple for a lot of Aussies, which ain't surprising considering how well their musical stylings, boundless energy and wacky sense of humour consistently translate into great live performances. The band have been on hiatus, as Jim Finn puts it, 'getting their shit together', working on a new EP titled Create/Destroy of which their current tour has kicked off in tribute of.

Live Review: Ball Park Music + Papa Vs Pretty + Holy Holy - The Tivoli, Brisbane (11.04.14)

Ball Park Music

It had been a 31 degree day in the middle of April, but the heat didn't deter fans, who descended on The Tivoli to catch Holy Holy, Papa Vs Pretty and headline act Ball Park Music on the Puddinghead Tour.

Live Review: DARKSIDE - The Palace Theatre, Melbourne (04.04.14)

Sadly, I stepped foot inside The Palace Theatre for what will undoubtedly be the last time. I could not have asked for a better final curtain. To put it blatantly, I was not disillusioned with Darkside’s discernably genius treatment of The Palace. To work cohesively with the unencumbered soundscape, to embrace it’s unpredictability and reap the sonic splendors that it so lavishly offers. Nicolas Jaar and Dave Harrington respectively created an all-encompassing sensory experience that showcased the Palace at it’s finest.

Live Review: Woodlock + Ed Wells + Direwolf - Oxford Art Factory Gallery Bar, Sydney (05.04.14)

WOODLOCK

I like to justify my inherent pessimism with the surprisingly practical statement that when one is a pessimist, one is often pleasantly surprised by the outcomes of situations one is pessimistic about. Saturday night saw the epitome of one of those situations. After cynically thinking that the door charge would be exorbitant for a student of my means, I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the sign joyfully proclaiming a $2 entry fee.

Live Review: The Fratellis + Jenny Broke The Window - Metro Theatre, Sydney (06.04.14)

I don't know if any of you remember the events around Australia back in 2009 as part of University O Week Celebrations. It was called "The Big O Tour" and saw The Music and The Fratellis top a mighty impressive bill that toured the East Coast of Australia with five shows. You can reflect on my experiences at the Manning show HERE. A great night, but I swear something bad was in the water...

Live Review: Kodaline + The Trouble With Templeton - Prince Bandroom, Melbourne (05.04.14)

A young and enthusiastic crowd assembled well before doors opening on Saturday night for a chance to see Irish band Kodaline (previously 21 Demands) on their first Australian tour.

Live Review: Art vs Science + Oisima - Adelaide Unibar (04.04.14)

Oh Art vs Science. Keeping me drunk and dancing up a sweat a gigs since 2009. The boys kicked off their Create/Destroy EP tour at the Adelaide Unibar - the first show of the tour - to a crowd eager to eat their live show up because let's be honest, it's been a while since they've brought the noise through these parts. Returning to the stage that hosted them for the first time moons ago (supporting The Galvatrons), the show was a great one for the Sydney trio and showed how much potential still lay ahead for the rest of the tour.