Festival Review: Listen Out - Centennial Park, Sydney (03.10.15)

Trimming the fat of a large scale dance festival, Fuzzy's Listen Out has gotten the boutique angle exactly right for the past few years. The music starts around 2pm - when most would rock up to a festival anyway - and rolls out some of the best international and local party-starters across three stages. It's simple and quite perfect, leaving the success of the day purely in the hands of the acts performing, most of whom did an excellent job at keeping the energy up right until a show-stopping set from headliner Childish Gambino, and a show-stealing set from ODESZA.

Festival Review: Listen Out - RNA Showgrounds, Brisbane (04.10.15)

Listen Out has come back doing the rounds, the lineup having some fan favourites as well as the Red Bull Music Academy stage coming back to bring young talent. This year the festival was simplified to two stages; this idea of festivals becoming smaller and more manageable continues to prove popular amongst music fans. It seems making it easier and thus cheaper encourages fans to come along. Gone are the days of big extravagant festivals with five or six different stages. In this case, Listen Out offered two stages, Atari and the 909 stage; Atari was outdoors under the huge big top tent while 909 remained indoors providing some awesome pyrotechnics.

Live Review: Jess Ribeiro + Leah Senior - Northcote Social Club, Melbourne (26.09.15)

Have you ever felt the fun immediately get sucked out of something? Maybe you’ve had a flashback to something awkward or doofy you did one time far after the fact, or maybe you’ve felt a sudden unwelcome ache of the body or the heart. It’s not a feeling anyone seeks out but it’s one that comes with the territory of life. But generally, unless you’re being a creeper and following your ex’s band around, this feeling stays away from the band room. Unfortunately, Saturday at the Northcote Social Club didn’t get this memo.

Live Review: Big K.R.I.T + Milwaukee Banks + Preacha - Oxford Art Factory (27.09.15)

"A lot of people, when they come to my shows they get a good understanding of how much I believe in my own music...", Big K.R.I.T told me on the phone a few days prior to starting his debut Australian tour. The Mississippi emcee was to headline Outside In festival and also play a few solo shows around the country, and while he let me know what to expect, I still wasn't prepared for just how much energy and passion he brought to the stage. While I unfortunately missed him at Outside In, I made sure to catch him at Oxford Art Factory the following day, where he was given some great support from Aussie duo Milwaukee Banks and local DJ Preacha.

Live Review: Kiasmos + Rachel Claudio + Basic Mind + More - The Rosemount Hotel, Perth (26.09.15)

Perth was a hive of activity this weekend past. There were two football finals; two festivals, Wave Rock Weekender and Listen Out Festival, plus the usual selection of weekend gigs. Saturday night also saw Icelandic techno duo Kiasmos play their first West Australian show at The Rosemount Hotel.

Live Review: Sounds of the Suburbs - Wilbur Lane, Cronulla (27.09.15)

I've spent a large portion of my live in the Hills District - a little place in North West Sydney that looks eerily similar to The Truman Show suburbia. Growing up, there were little outlets for us musical lovers, who were forced into the city as a means to garner a musical education. That's why I was so excited by the whole concept of Sounds of the Suburbs - bands from around the world congregating in a laneway in South Sydney's Cronulla to share a bit of what helped them formulate their musical style -- their home.

Festival Review: Listen Out - Ozone Reserve, Perth (27.09.15)

The sun was out for the Perth leg of EDM boutique festival Listen Out this weekend, and with a long weekend on and a lineup that made it the first city to sell out it seemed as if everything had aligned.

Live Review: Tkay Maidza + Willow Beats + Porches + L.K. McKay - Oh Hello!, Brisbane (25.09.15)

Photo Credit: Lauren Connelly

Tkay Maidza has been going from strength to strength of late, and tonight truly showed what this pocket powerhouse is capable of. She brought all the noise hipsters out of their hiding places, but this made for a killer vibe in the room.

Live Review: Dustin Tebbutt - The Factory Theatre, Sydney (25.09.15)

Playing against a backdrop of snow capped mountains, Dustin Tebbutt captured the minds and bodies of his listeners this past Friday night, thrusting them into a mystical universe where snow constantly falls, and floors in venues aren't sticky. With three EP's behind him, Tebbutt is emerging as one of those Australian artists to keep an eye on, reminiscent of Icelandic folk such as Sigur Ros or Asgeir, but with an undeniable Australian twang.

Live Review: Last Dinosaurs + Palms + The Jensens - The Triffid, Brisbane (25.09.15)

Photo Credit: Aidan Hogg (View th Gallery)

It’s been a month since Last Dinosaurs released their sophomore studio album Wellness. To pay it forward, these indie rockers have kicked off their Australian tour in Brisbane, inviting along their dedicated and loyal fan base; something about their sound and lyrics seem to emanate with Australia’s younger listeners. To appreciate that faithfulness, Last Dinosaurs even put on a specifically Under 18’s show at The Triffid earlier that day, tactfully timed with school holidays. Being the cynical, jaded writers we are, we came along to the 18+ show later that night.