ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

PERTH

Win a double pass to the WA Music Awards at the Capitol in Perth on Friday Night!

The premier celebration of local music, this year’s WA Music Awards will be dishing out the WAMis and good times for industry and music lovers alike at Capitol, this Friday night. Fresh off a sold-out run of shows at Edinburgh Fringe, the party will be hosted by Tomás Ford and special industry guests from across the country, plus featuring performances from rising superstars and the multi-WAM Award nominated Sable and Timothy Nelson & The Infidels. Whether you’re there as a nominee or just to enjoy, this year everyone’s a winner.

Live Review: Songs That Made Me ft. Katie Noonan + Melody Pool + Sam Buckingham + Angie Hart - ARTBAR, Perth (30.10.14)

Last week four of Australia’s best female singers, performers and songwriters, Katie Noonan, Melody Pool, Sam Buckingham and Angie Hart, helped close this years ARTBAR season with their show, Songs That Made Me, a celebration of the songs that helped to inspire them as musicians and people.

Live Review: The Rolling Stones - Perth Arena (29.10.14)

With almost twenty years since their last Perth show, and 7 months since the postponement of their Australian tour in the wake of the sudden death of L’Wren Scott, The Rolling Stones showed on Wednesday night that not only do good things come to those who wait, and that they were more than worth the wait.

Photo Gallery: The Rolling Stones - Perth Arena (29.10.14)

The Rolling Stones at Perth Arena

Playing their first show in Perth since 1995, The Rolling Stones rocked out Perth Arena with an awesome show. Our man Stuart Sevastos was there to capture the action from the night.

Theatre Review: Overexposed - State Theatre Centre of WA (Performances until November 1st)

Overexposed the latest work from director-performer Danielle Micich and writer Suzie Miller is a timely piece and a thought-provoking one.

the AU fashion: Topshop Topman to open flagship store in Perth

Perth has cemented itself as a top drinking and dining destination over the last few years, and now its safe to say the west coast capital is upping it in the fashion stakes too – renowned UK fashion chain, Topshop Topman is set to open its first WA flagship store within the city’s newly revamped Carillon City Shopping Centre this Friday, 31 October.

Live Review: Ball Park Music + Millions + Pluto Jonze - The Astor Theatre, Perth (24.10.14)

There’s a strange pessimism embedded in most music fans when it comes to their favourite bands releasing new material. Will it be as good, will it be the same, has the novelty worn off. I think it’s safe to say that after the past couple of years Ball Park Music have well and truly left this awkward phase and are a musical force to be reckoned with. Bringing insurmountable amounts of energy to their live shows there is not a dull moment as their Trippin’ the Light Fantastic tour arrived in Perth on Friday night.

Photo Gallery: The Siren Tower + The Order of The Black Werewolf + Dirtwater Bloom + Buffalo Club - Amplifier Bar (25.10.14)

The Siren Tower at the Amplifier Bar

Playing their only show for 2014, The Siren Tower rocked the Amplifier Bar in Perth with a solid performance. They were supported by The Order of The Black Werewolf, Dirtwater Bloom and Buffalo Club who were making their live debut. Stuart Sevastos was there and brings us these photos from the night:

Live Review: Sheppard + Microwave Jenny - The Astor Theatre, Perth (16.10.14)

On Thursday night I went to what I’m pretty sure was my first ever “pop” concert. I mean I’ve been to plenty of gigs, but Sheppard’s concert, their last of the current Australian tour, at Perth’s Astor Theatre, was probably my first ever proper “pop” concert – you know with the “young” (in some cases very young) screaming fans and such.

Comedy Review: Rhys Darby Live - Astor Theatre, Perth (13.10.14)

Comedian Rhys Darby kicked off the Australian tour of his new show Rhys Darby Live! on Monday night with the first of two sold-out shows at Perth’s Astor Theatre.

Our Man in Berlin announce headline show at the Astor Lounge in Perth on November 7

Our Man in Berlin have just announced that they will headline the Astor Lounge on Friday November 7. The show will celebrate 2014, which has been a breakthrough year for the band, before they head back into the studio in December.

Live Review: The Yearlings + Sara Tindley - Clancy's Fish Pub, Fremantle (02.10.14)

Thursday night saw Adelaide’s The Yearlings play their first West Australia show in around six years (according to singer/guitarist Chris Parkinson), taking to the recently refurbished Clancy’s Fish Pub stage to launch their latest record All the Wandering with a wonderfully intimate performance.

Gig Announcements: Adelaide & Perth, 3rd October 2014

In this issue: Mia Dyson to headline Blues on The Parade, Hiatus Kaiyote to play The Gov, Chaos Divine launch new single 'Soldiers' at The Amplifier Bar, West Coast hip-hop crew Cypress Hill to play in Perth, Johnny Marr to play in Adelaide next year, The Dead Daises are returning to Australia and The Preatures to play in Adelaide this November.

Festival Review: Listen Out - Ozone Reserve, Perth (28.09.14)

When Fuzzy promotions first announced a new boutique EDM festival was to be replacing Parklife, my stomach sank with dismay. Parklife had given the fondest memories and still sits in my heart as being my favourite festival experience. Yet walking up to the gates of Listen Out I was filled with excitement, the bill held some damn decent names, the rain had mostly held off, and I knew within seconds it still boasted that same indescribable atmosphere as its predecessor.

Photo Gallery: Listen Out Festival - Ozone Reserve, Perth (28.09.14)

Flume at Listen Out Festival Perth

The Listen Out Festival arrived at Ozone Reserve in Perth with a lineup featuring Flume, Chet Faker, Ta-ku, Young Fathers, Four Tet and more. Our man Stuart Sevastos was on the ground to bring us the highlights of the day.