ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

PERTH

Live Review: Ball Park Music + Millions + Pluto Jonze - The Astor Theatre, Perth (24.10.14)

There’s a strange pessimism embedded in most music fans when it comes to their favourite bands releasing new material. Will it be as good, will it be the same, has the novelty worn off. I think it’s safe to say that after the past couple of years Ball Park Music have well and truly left this awkward phase and are a musical force to be reckoned with. Bringing insurmountable amounts of energy to their live shows there is not a dull moment as their Trippin’ the Light Fantastic tour arrived in Perth on Friday night.

Photo Gallery: The Siren Tower + The Order of The Black Werewolf + Dirtwater Bloom + Buffalo Club - Amplifier Bar (25.10.14)

The Siren Tower at the Amplifier Bar

Playing their only show for 2014, The Siren Tower rocked the Amplifier Bar in Perth with a solid performance. They were supported by The Order of The Black Werewolf, Dirtwater Bloom and Buffalo Club who were making their live debut. Stuart Sevastos was there and brings us these photos from the night:

Live Review: Sheppard + Microwave Jenny - The Astor Theatre, Perth (16.10.14)

On Thursday night I went to what I’m pretty sure was my first ever “pop” concert. I mean I’ve been to plenty of gigs, but Sheppard’s concert, their last of the current Australian tour, at Perth’s Astor Theatre, was probably my first ever proper “pop” concert – you know with the “young” (in some cases very young) screaming fans and such.

Comedy Review: Rhys Darby Live - Astor Theatre, Perth (13.10.14)

Comedian Rhys Darby kicked off the Australian tour of his new show Rhys Darby Live! on Monday night with the first of two sold-out shows at Perth’s Astor Theatre.

Our Man in Berlin announce headline show at the Astor Lounge in Perth on November 7

Our Man in Berlin have just announced that they will headline the Astor Lounge on Friday November 7. The show will celebrate 2014, which has been a breakthrough year for the band, before they head back into the studio in December.

Live Review: The Yearlings + Sara Tindley - Clancy's Fish Pub, Fremantle (02.10.14)

Thursday night saw Adelaide’s The Yearlings play their first West Australia show in around six years (according to singer/guitarist Chris Parkinson), taking to the recently refurbished Clancy’s Fish Pub stage to launch their latest record All the Wandering with a wonderfully intimate performance.

Gig Announcements: Adelaide & Perth, 3rd October 2014

In this issue: Mia Dyson to headline Blues on The Parade, Hiatus Kaiyote to play The Gov, Chaos Divine launch new single 'Soldiers' at The Amplifier Bar, West Coast hip-hop crew Cypress Hill to play in Perth, Johnny Marr to play in Adelaide next year, The Dead Daises are returning to Australia and The Preatures to play in Adelaide this November.

Festival Review: Listen Out - Ozone Reserve, Perth (28.09.14)

When Fuzzy promotions first announced a new boutique EDM festival was to be replacing Parklife, my stomach sank with dismay. Parklife had given the fondest memories and still sits in my heart as being my favourite festival experience. Yet walking up to the gates of Listen Out I was filled with excitement, the bill held some damn decent names, the rain had mostly held off, and I knew within seconds it still boasted that same indescribable atmosphere as its predecessor.

Photo Gallery: Listen Out Festival - Ozone Reserve, Perth (28.09.14)

Flume at Listen Out Festival Perth

The Listen Out Festival arrived at Ozone Reserve in Perth with a lineup featuring Flume, Chet Faker, Ta-ku, Young Fathers, Four Tet and more. Our man Stuart Sevastos was on the ground to bring us the highlights of the day.

Live Review: Bluejuice + The Love Junkies - Capitol, Perth (26.09.14)

If you are a diagnosed sufferer of FOMO, please exit your web browser now. Pop rock favourites Bluejuice honoured Perth last night on their Retrospectable tour giving the country one last farewell before the disbandment becomes official. Capitol welcomed a very broad spectrum of BJ fans, from the young and old to those who were just there to grope frontman Jake Stone one last time.

Theatre Review: Falling Through Clouds - PICA, Perth (Performances until 11th October 2014)

Falling Through Clouds is the new production from Perth Theatre Company, The Last Great Hunt. Personally I’d argue that that sentence alone should be enough to make you want to go and watch this work. But then of course you might not know who they are yet. If you don’t Falling Through Clouds will be the perfect introduction to their innovative and always entertaining brand of theatre.

Theatre Review: Letters Home - Blue Room Theatre (Performances through 4th October)

Letters Home is the latest theatrical work from Joe Lui. If you’ve been to a theatre production in Perth over the last few years, it’s likely you will have seen Lui’s name and face in a programme somewhere having worked as a director, writer and designer on a number of productions, including with his own company Renegade Productions. Letters Home however sees Lui taking centre stage for the first time.

Live Review: Andy Bull + Angus Dawson - The Bakery, Perth (19.09.14)

The Bakery was buzzing on Friday night with the arrival of Andy Bull on his Sea of Approval tour across the country. Performing to a sold out venue, the bands were well received giving the crowd their all.

Photo Gallery: Andy Bull + Angus Dawson + The Peppermint Cloud Club - The Bakery, Perth (19.09.14)

Andy Bull at the Bakery, Perth Western Australia

Andy Bull and his band mesmerised the crowd with a sold out show at The Bakery. Supporting him were Angus Dawson and The Peppermint Cloud Club.

Photo Gallery: Biffy Clyro + Calling All Cars - Metro City, Perth (12.09.14)

The last stop on Biffy Clyro's Opposites Tour was at Metro City in Perth. Stuart Sevastos brings us highlights of the night, supported by Australia's own Calling All Cars...