Album Release News Weekly: Friday 24 August 2012

News Banner

This week we have new release news from Animal Collective, Ball Park Music, The Helio Sequence, Dum Dum Girls, and more! Check it all out below.



DJ/Producer Yousef is getting ready to release his second album, A Product of Your Environment. The album tour will include Sydney and Melbourne, amongst a whole range of international stops. A Product of Your Environment will be out on October 15, 2012, through Circus Recordings.


Last Sunday, Animal Collective, in partnership with The Creators Project, streamed their new album Centipede HZ on Animal Collective Radio. You can now stream it here: The Creators Project also recently announced a behind-the-scenes video interview series with members of the band, talking about the concept of Animal Collective Radio. Centipede HZ is out in Australia on August 31, 2012, through Domino Records.


Bob Mould

Sugar/Hüsker Dü founder Bob Mould is getting ready to release his first album of new studio material since 2009’s Life and Times. The album features his live band of drummer Jon Wurster (Superchunk) and bassist Jason Narducy (Split Single, Verbow). Silver Age is out September 7, 2012, through Shock Records.


Sydney five-piece Strangers are getting ready to release their debut album. Recorded and produced by Tom Larkin (Shihad, The Getaway Plan, Calling All Cars). The band will be launching the album with residencies in Sydney and Melbourne through September and October, while also appearing at Big Sound in Brisbane. Persona Non Grata is out October 12, 2012, on Permanent Records through Shock.


Ball Park Music

Ball Park Music are set to release their second full-length album in less than 12 months! You may have heard the first single “Surrender” making the rounds on triple j lately. Museum is out on October 5, 2012, through Stop Start/EMI.


Adrian Sherwood is gearing up to release his awaited third album. After a career of over 30 years working with artists like Lee Scratch Perry and Primal Scream, his new album is ‘the sound of avant-garde dub music’. Survival And Resistance is out September 28, 2012, on On You Sound | Inertia.


Pop Levi

England’s Pop Levi has a new album that’s getting close to release. According to him, it was “recorded by a different version of me in another dimension, then transmitted to this version of me during prolonged isolation tank sessions.” Take from that what you will. Medicine is out September 21, 2012, via Counter Records | Inertia.


Henry Wagons is getting ready to release his first solo album. Expecting Company? is a collection of duets recorded through 2012, featuring collaborations with Alison Mosshart, Patience Hodgson, Gossling, and more. It will be released on September 28, 2012, through Spunk Records.


To celebrate the life and career of Joe Strummer, there has been a digital release of Joe Strummer and The Mescaleros: The Hellcat Years. The compilation features older tracks, alongside rare b-sides, and new live recordings. The album came out August 21, 2012 (which would have been the artist’s 60th birthday) through Hellcat Records. In addition to this, Rock Art and the X-Ray Style, Global A Go-Go and Streetcore will be re-issued on September 28, 2012.


Gregg Arthur

Australia’s Gregg Arthur is releasing an album of classic Nat “King” Cole songs. Unforgettable is out September 14, 2012, through ABC Music.


After a three-year break from the local scene, the brothers of Evermore are back with their fourth album. Follow The Sun is out October 12, 2012, through Universal Music Australia, with the first single and title track available on iTunes August 24, 2012. They’re also playing the new material in a series of national shows, with tickets on sale now.


After releasing his debut album Don’t Hold Back in 2011, Donny Benét is getting ready to release his next body of work. Electric Love is out on September 7, 2012, on Rice Is Nice through Inertia.


The Helio Sequence

The Helio Sequence are about to release their fifth LP. It was written and produced by the duo themselves, both Brandon Summers (singer/guitarist) and Benjamin Weikel (drummer/keyboardist). Negotiations is out September 7, 2012, on Sub Pop through Inertia.


Diana Krall is getting ready to release her next album, full of songs first recorded in the 1920’s and 1930’s, such as “Just Like A Butterfly That’s Caught In The Rain”. Glad Rag Doll is out on September 28, 2012, through Universal Music.


Dum Dum Girls

California/New York four piece Dum Dum Girls are almost ready to release their latest work since their second album, Only In Dreams. The EP End Of Daze is out September 21, 2012, on Sub Pop via Inertia.


Paul McCartney is planning to release a live DVD later this year. Featuring songs from his Kisses On The Bottom album performed live from Capitol Studios in Hollywood, Live Kisses will be out on November 12, 2012.