Album News Weekly: 18th December 2013.

In This Issue: Nice list of announcements this week, as well as some surprise releases from the likes of local heartthrob Matt Corby. Melbourne's Calling All Cars are set to release an album next year, lining up alongside The Gaslight Anthem, Rufus Wainwright, Sarah Blasko and the Black Lips among others. Also for Beatles tragics, there's some great news in here for you...

Calling All Cars

Melbourne rock trio Calling All Cars will release their third album, Raise The People, on March 7 2014 through Cooking Vinyl Australia. It follows the much hyped release of the lead single, “Werewolves”, which you can check out below! It’s available for pre-sale on January 17.


Seattle-via-Brooklyn trio Augustines came to light in 2011 with their debut Rise Ye Sunken Ships, and will now return with their second release, a self-titled album ready to drop on February 7. Given that their first release was named the iTunes alternative album of 2011, it’s set to be a record to look out for.


The Gaslight Anthem

Everyone’s new favourite band from New Jersey, The Gaslight Anthem, have just announced the upcoming release of The B-Sides, a collection of tracks recorded between 2008 and 2011. It’s out on January 31, and will feature acoustic tracks of their biggest hits, as well as a couple of cover tracks.

Rufus Wainwright

February 28 will see the great songwriter Rufus Wainwright release Vibrate: The Best Of Rufus Wainwright – a collection of his biggest hits plus a brand new track in “Me and Liza”.

1. Going to a Town (Release the Stars)
2. Out of the Game (Out of the Game)
3. Me and Liza (new)
4. Hallelujah (Shrek)
5. Oh What A World (Want One)
6. April Fools (Rufus Wainwright)
7. Poses (Poses)
8. Cigarettes and Chocolate Milk (Poses)
9. Vibrate (Want One)
10. The One You Love (Want Two)
11. I Don't Know What It Is (Want One)
12. The Art Teacher (Want Two)
13. Go or Go Ahead (Want One)
14. Dinner at eight (Want One)
15. Foolish Love (Rufus Wainwright)
16. Sometimes you need (Out of the Game)
17. Grey Gardens (Poses)
18. Tiergarten (Release the Stars)

Bonus Disc
1. Bitter Tears (Out of the Game)
2. The Maker Makes (from Brokeback Mountain Soundtrack)
3. Across The Universe (Poses bonus track)
4. La Complainte de la Butte (from Moulin Rouge OST)
5. Chelsea Hotel No.2 (bonus track on Want Two)
6. Chic and Pointless – NEW produced by Guy Chambers
7. WW111 – composed with Guy Chambers (1st time on physical release)
8. Jericho (Live from the Artists’ Den)-spring 2012
9. Montauk (Live from the Artists’ Den)-spring 2012
10. If Love Were All - Live at Kenwood House –summer 2010
11. Do It Again - Live At Kenwood House –summer 2010
12. Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart - Live At Kenwood House 2010
13. Memphis Skyline – Live At Kenwood House 2010
14. Martha – Live at Kenwood House 2010
15. One Man Guy – Live at KCRW June 2001
16. Jo Whiley BBC interview Royal Opera House July 2011

Sarah Blasko

If you managed to catch her show at the Sydney Opera House earlier this year, you’ll know that it was a spectacular concert worthy of a live record. Which makes it doubly awesome that Sarah Blasko will release I Awake Live At Sydney Opera House on January 10, so that the rest of us can have a listen. Blasko also embarks on her Heavenly Sounds Tour in January, starting at the St Stephen’s Uniting Church on the 14th .

Black Lips

Atlanta rock veterans the Black Lips will release their first full-length album in three years – Underneath The Rainbow. It’s set to drop on March 18 through Vice Records.

The Beatles

Every year it’s a new reissue – but this one seems set to blow the rest right out of the water. To commemorate 50 years since they first hit America’s shores, a 13 CD set will be released January 17, spanning the period from 1964’s Meet The Beatles! to 1970’s Hey Jude.

Matt Corby

Just in time to satiate the hunger of a million teenage girls for Christmas, Matt Corby has just dropped a new EP Live At The Resolution through iTunes. It’s just yet another taster before Corby drops his highly anticipated debut LP, whenever that might eventuate…


London five-piece Breton will release their second album, War Room Stories, on January 31 through Cut Tooth/Shock Records. It’s set to be a curious mix of genres, with the Macedonia Symphony Orchestra making an appearance, and one track featuring the sampled sounds of insects that were living in the wall of the recording studio.

Ice Nine Kills

Boston post-hardcore outfit Ice Nine Kills are coming back with their third album, The Predator Becomes The Prey on January 24 through Outerloop/Shock Records. Check out the lead single below:

Simone Felice

Renowned folk artist Simone Felice will release new LP Strangers, out March 25 through Dualtone Records. In his illustrious career he’s played with Levon Helm, Conor Oberst, Gillian Welch, Mumford & Sons and The Lumineers, just to name a few. Definitely a record to watch out for. Check out the lead single below: