ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

NEWCASTLE

Spotlight on Newcastle, NSW (Part Two): Breakfasts, Brews and Surf Lessons down at the Beach.

I awoke early at my hotel for the second and final day of my brief but rewarding Newcastle adventure to get a taste of my hotel's breakfast buffet (which you can read about HERE), though I may have thought twice about that had I realised it would be my first of three breakfasts that would be consumed before noon.

Spotlight on Newcastle, NSW (Part One): SURFest, Jimmy Figg's Bare-knuckle Barber and Craft Beer Week Launch.

At the end of last year, Californian Andrew Smith was awarded the title of Destination NSW's "Chief Funster", a duty that sees him travel around the State for six months, creating digital content that shows off New South Wales in all its splendour. I had the opportunity to join Andrew for two days of his adventure, which took us to Newcastle to enjoy, among other things, the annual SURFest and the launch of the city's Craft Beer Week.

Hotels on the AU: Novotel Newcastle Beach (NSW)

At the end of last year, Californian Andrew Smith was awarded the title of Destination NSW's "Chief Funster", a duty that sees him travel around the State for six months, creating digital content that shows off New South Wales in all its splendour. I had the opportunity to join Andrew for two days of his adventure, which saw us in Newcastle to take in the annual SURFest and the launch of the city's Craft Beer Week. But first, I needed to check into the hotel.

Photo Gallery: Fat As Butter Part 2 - Camp Shortland, The Foreshore Newcastle (26.10.13)

Fat As Butter festival returns to Newcastle with a stellar local and international line up. Part 2 of our photo gallery includes Bliss N Eso, Boy & Bear (Pictured above), Dialectrix, Glass Towers, Goldfields, Gym Class Heroes, Matt Corby, Owl Eyes, Peking Duk, Spit Syndicate and The Ashton Shuffle. Photos by Johnny Au

Photo Gallery: Fat As Butter Part 1 - Camp Shortland, The Foreshore Newcastle (26.10.13)

Fat As Butter festival returns to Newcastle with a stellar local and international line up. Part 1 of our photo gallery includes Battleships, Bluejuice, British India, Cosmo Jarvis, James Osborn, Mickey Avalon, Super Best Friends, The Holidays, The M Machine, The Rubens and Willow Beats. Photos by Johnny Au

Live Review: Bob Evans + Tigertown - The Cambridge Hotel, Newcastle (09.05.13)

You know you're in for a good night when there’s three people lined up an hour before doors open and already there’s enough buzzing excitement to not only fill, but shatter the aptly named surroundings of the Cambridge Hotel's Glasshouse… (I’m not ashamed to confirm I was one of those three, the other two girls were complete strangers, but whose obvious enthusiasm proved infectious.)

Drinking with the AU: The Terrace Bar (Newcastle)

Though we're now spoilt for choice with a cocktail / small bar scene in Sydney and Melbourne, many other cities around Australia have yet to embrace the trend. But as bartenders/bar owners travel around Australia and see the popularity of such an experience, it's only natural that they will start popping up elsewhere. Enter The Terrace Bar, a not-so-small Cocktail bar in Newcastle. The two level venue includes a DJ room, two bars, a band room and a rooftop section. Though you wouldn't know it from the outside. Blink and you'll walk straight past it...

Festival Review: Groovin' the Moo - Maitland Showgrounds (27.04.13)

The first Groovin’ the Moo of the year was given the most perfect day for a festival. Big blue skies, a bright shining sun, and not a cloud in sight met Groovers who showed up to the Maitland Showground on Saturday April 27th. The sold out Maitland leg of the festival preceded the Canberra show on Sunday, a big weekend for artist and festival organizers alike.

Photo Gallery: Silverstein + Sienna Skies - The Cambridge, Newcastle (20.04.13)

Silverstein drew an energetic and vocal crowd to the Cambridge Hotel in Newcastle, with popular supports Sienna Skies, Taken By Force and We, The Betrayed (not pictured).

Photo Gallery: Grinspoon + Emperors + Kingswood - Newcastle Panthers (19.04.13)

Grinspoon (pictured) performed live last night at the Newcastle Panthers with support from Emperors and Kingswood. Ashlee Kellehear was there and brings us these stellar photos from the show...

Photo Gallery: Birds Of Tokyo - Newcastle Panthers (15.03.13)

Birds of Tokyo delivered an incredible night of entertainment, with their impressively long set list and visually exciting light show at the Newcastle Panthers on Friday night.

Photo Gallery: Melody Pool + Katie Brianna - Club Azzurri, Newcastle (23.02.13)

'The Hurting Scene Album Launch - Club Azzuri, Newcastle.

Live Review: Melody Pool + Katie Brianna + Jacob Pearson - "The Hurting Scene" Album Launch - Club Azzurri (23.02.13)

Taking to the stage looking more angelic than ever; accompanied with a full band and armed with a collection of songs from debut album The Hurting Scene, Alt/Country darling Melody Pool illuminated the room with honest emotion and genuine radiance.

Live Review: Carole King + Shane Howard - Hope Estate, Hunter Valley (16.02.13)

The memories of these large open air shows can sometimes be influenced by the weather as much as the music, but when the Hunter Valley turns on an evening as spectacular as this one, the stars align and there is magic in the air Arriving early to grab ourselves a prime position on the grass, we laid the rug out, poured the bubbles, and we settled in... and waited for three hours for the music to begin.