warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/ on line 33.


Exclusive Album Stream: Saintseneca "Such Things" (2015 LP)

Columbus, Ohio's Saintseneca are delivering their much anticipated new album Such Things on October 9th through Anti-, and we are excited to bring you the exclusive Australian pre-release stream! The album is their follow up to the acclaimed Dark Arc, and brings together the worlds of punk, folk and rock and roll, with soaring and anthemic choruses.

the AU interview: Thirteen Seventy (Brisbane) talk about their new album "Bitter Dream" and album launch show!

We caught up with Brisbane's noise-rock trio Thirteen Seventy, who talked us through the recording process behind their latest album, Bitter Dream, the big-name international and Australian bands who influenced their sound and look ahead to their concert in Brisbane on Friday.

Exclusive Album Premiere: True Vibenation - Remix EP (2015 EP)

Experimental hip hop group True Vibenation have just wrapped up a massive international tour across Africa and Australia, and they've dished up a special Remix EP to celebrate. Featuring three of Sydney's most refreshing new beatmakers, PaperToy, Meare, and Kid Fiction, their new Remix EP, which we are premiering today, is the result of True Vibenation reaching out to the local electronic and bass music community, offering up two of the highlights from last year's ON, "Question Mark Music" and "No More" to be re-worked by up-and-coming producers.

Exclusive EP Stream and Track-By-Track: Burn Antares "Fur Coat and the Peace Boat" (2015)

Fur Coat and the Peace Boat is the newly released EP from Sydney five piece Burn Antares. The rockers have been schooled on the blues rock of The Rolling Stones and Jefferson Airplane, to the soul and funk of Curtis Mayfield and Marvin Gaye, while the album was produced by Tony Buchen (The Preatures, Andy Bull, Tim Finn), and distributed through MGM. Today on the AU we're excited to exclusively present a full stream of the five track EP, accompanied by a track-by-track from the band. Listen to it here, and read on!

Dubmarine (Brisbane) bring us an exclusive Track-by-Track and stream of their "None the Wiser" Remix EP

Brisbane's Dubmarine, often considered one of Australia's most remarkable live bands, are returning to the stage with new music that breaks away from their early roots. New single "None the Wiser" is the latest offering from last year's album Laser Sound Beam and is the focal point of the band's new remix EP. The EP features the 2015 QMA award winning track 'None The Wiser' alongside 7 remixes by some of Australia's most renowned DJ's and MC's. Bass player Paul Watson gives us the down low on the songs in this track-by-track feature. Have a read and listen below!

Exclusive Album Stream: Banjo Jackson - Self-Titled (2015 LP)

Adelaide musician Banjo Jackson is set to release his self-titled debut album through Mirador Records this Friday and for many who have been following him on the local circuit, it's definitely a much anticipated release. For those who may be coming to Banjo's sound for the first time, this is music for the folk lovers, those who favour some gorgeous songwriting and a rich, textured musicality that makes an album flow effortlessly. An earnest vocal quality that is easy to become a fan of, Jackson's appeal is far-reaching and could easily sit well alongside your Vance Joys, your Kim Churchills or your Conor Obersts.

Exclusive Stream and Track-by-Track of Brad Butcher's new LP "Jamestown" (2015)

After the success of the single 'Believer' in late 2014, APRA New Songwriter Finalist Brad Butcher has just released his sophomore record Jamestown and is hitting the road this week to celebrate. In celebration of the release, we're excited to bring you an exclusive full stream of the album as well as a track-by-track from the Alt Country singer. Listen to Jamestown here and then enjoy Brad's track-by-track right after!

Album Stream: Nantes "Limbo" (2015 EP)

It’s dark, dynamic and infectiously catchy. Alternative rock band Nantes are back with another addictive EP that’s sure to be on repeat for the rest of the week. Produced in Sydney, mixed in Glasgow and mastered by Frank Arkwright of the famed Abbey Road in London, Limbo is the exceptional product of tireless work.

Exclusive Australian Album Premiere: Quiet Quiet Band - Low Noon (2015 LP)

Adding to the list of amazing music we've been bringing you this week, we have the Exclusive Australian Album Premiere of Quiet Quiet Band's new record Low Noon. Hailing from London, this sextet have garnered comparisons to the illustrious likes of Violent Femmes, Nick Cave and Johnny Cash - and it's well warranted too. Enjoy the full album below, which was released today:

Exclusive Album Premiere: DRAAG - Traci Lordz (2015 EP)

The long weekend is officially over, but that doesn't mean you have to suffer through the rest of the week! LA shoegaze-rock purveyors Draag premiere their new EP Traci Lordz with the AU today - if you're keen to power on through this week with some new music to do it to, you've come to the right place. Produced by Jeff Byron of Mae Shi fame, Traci Lordz is a great blend of genre and musicality.

Exclusive Album Premiere: Sky Picnic "Her Dawn Wardrobe" (2015)

Brooklyn psych-rockers Sky Picnic are producing a sound that fans of Australia's own Tame Impala should feel very at home with - and following the reception of their latest single "Upon Further Reflection", they now have a full album for us to enjoy. And today we're excited to premiere it in full, exclusively on the AU:

Death Grips unveil 14-track instrumental album for free download and streaming

Abrasive hip hop/noise wizards Death Grips are big fans of secret power moves, perfecting the art of random music releases long before it became a trend. As we wait for the physical release of their double album The Powers that B on February 10th Death Grips have eased our minds with an unexpected instrumental album titled Fashion Week, which has been released on Soundcloud as well as Youtube, and is available for free download from their official website.

Exclusive Album Premiere: Drawcard - Goons Ltd (2014 EP)

Drawcard have had a pretty hectic 2014 so far. Earning more stripes on the live front supporting the likes of Dead Kennedys, The Bennies, The Living End and more, the Brisbane rockers have been fashioning for themselves a great live presence for fans all around. Before the year comes to a tumultuous end however, the band aren't stopping, with the release of Goons LTD, arguably their best release yet. Full of melodic and punchy post-punk rock tunes, the EP represents the relentless nature Drawcard approach music with and we're pleased to be able to premiere it on the AU today!

Exclusive Album Premiere: Crash Island - Stormy Nights (2014 EP)

Photo Credit: Kendra Remedios

London-based four piece Crash Island release their latest EP, Stormy Nights, this weekend UK time and we're stoked to have a cheeky premiere for you! The 'dark tropical' indie rockers worked with Daniel Reijmer through 2014 in what ultimately led to the creation of the Stormy Nights EP and the result is impressive. Seasoned live performers who've logged headline appearances through Europe and the UK, Crash Island are a band who need to be on your radar - give Stormy Nights a listen here and let the education begin!