THE AU: MUSIC ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

     

MELBOURNE

Event Review: Tomato Battle Melbourne - Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne (28.02.15)


Photo by John Koch

When I was 21 I wrote myself a bucket list. On it were all the glorious adventures I wanted to have and all the grand goals I wanted to achieve throughout my life. Nestled between ‘ride a gondola down a Venetian canal’ and ‘go ice skating in Central Park’ was one of my favourites on the list, ‘participate in La Tomatina Tomato Festival in Spain’.

Photo Gallery: Angus & Julia Stone + Cloud Control - Margaret Court Arena, Melbourne (27.02.15)

Angus and Julia Stone played a fantastic show in Melbourne over the weekend, supported by Cloud Control and a slew of fantastic musicians. Kimberley Salmond brings us this gallery from the night out at Margaret Court Arena.

Live Review: Angus & Julia Stone - Margaret Court Arena, Melbourne (27.02.15)

Well sweet Jesus, Margaret Court Arena. You make for one fine live music venue, don’t you! When I first heard that MCA was expanding her purpose beyond tennis and hosting an array of concerts and gigs, I had difficulty picturing this concept but only because the last time I was here was well before her renovation, which was debuted at this year’s Australian Open.

Photo Gallery: Slash featuring Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators + Steel Panther - Festival Hall, Melbourne (26.02.15)

One of the Sidewave shows from the Soundwave Festival, Slash featuring Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators with support from Steel Panther rocked the historic Festival Hall. Carl Dziunka was there to capture all the action. Enjoy the pictures here:

Our Top 5 Melbourne Soundwave Moments

Soundwave Festival passed through Melbourne last weekend, so before it moves onto Sydney and Brisbane tomorrow, we look back on our top 5 moments of the weekend, and give our readers a little taste of what's to come on the rest of the tour...

Live Review: Slash + Steel Panther - Festival Hall, Melbourne (26.02.15)

Slash + Steel Panther

Being the young whippersnapper that I am, I'd never been to what one would call a 'classic' rock show before, but it turns out that every stereotype associated with these shows is absolutely 100% accurate. And that's not a bad thing. Veteran world-famous guitarist Slash along with Miles Kennedy and the Conspirators put on the very definition of a rock and roll show, and with glam-metal parodists Steel Panther providing many a laugh as the support act, it was clear that all those who had filled Melbourne's Festival Hall were going to have a good time.

Photo Gallery: Incubus + Antemasque - The Forum, Melbourne (25.02.15)

Possibly one of the most anticipated of the Soundwave Festival sideshows would have to be those Incubus were scheduled to perform. Supported by Antemasque, the US band took to The Forum in Melbourne and whipped out an incredible set - Kimberley Salmond captured these moments from the gig.

Live Review: All Time Low + Fireworks - The Hi-Fi, Melbourne (25.02.15)

All Time Low @ The HiFi Melbourne 250215

There aren't too many things in life that are certain, but the few things that are include death, taxes, and hilariously entertaining All Time Low headline shows. Melbourne's Hi-Fi played host to the pop-punk royalty four piece, with fellow American punk rockers Fireworks the support act as the sold-out venue was treated to nearly two and a half hours of uncompromising fun.

Eating with the AU: Munich Brauhaus - South Wharf (Melbourne)

If you’ve never had the pleasure of devouring an authentic German sausage, then this might just be the place to try it. Situated on the cosmopolitan South Wharf Promenade, Munich Brauhaus is an establishment like no other, bringing to Melbourne all the entertainment of a traditional Bavarian bierhaus without having to fly halfway around the world.

Win a double pass to see e-baby in Melbourne!

e-baby, a powerful new play focusing on one of today's most topical and emotive issues, surrogacy, will open at Chapel Off Chapel in Melbourne, playing from the 4th until the 15th of March.

Photo Gallery: Soundwave Festival (Day Two) - Melbourne Showgrounds (22.02.15)

Rebecca Houlden brings us photos from the second day of Soundwave Festival in Melbourne, with the likes of Faith No More, My Chemical Romance's Gerard Way, Fear Factory, Soundgarden, Hollywood Undead, Incubus and many more...

Arts Review: Summer Nights In Budapest - Sidney Myer Music Bowl (18.02.15)

Summer in Melbourne boasts a range of cultural extravaganzas, and what better way to spend a balmy night than to immerse yourself with 10,000 other people and listen to some exquisite classical music!

Theatre Review: The Lion King - Regent Theatre, Melbourne (Performances now on)

After traveling the globe, The Lion King had finally found it’s way to little ol’ Melbourne town, and I was lucky enough to be invited to the opening night! Dressed to the nines I sashayed my way to the regent theatre where I was met by a crowd of well manicured celebrities and Melbourne socialites.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: Lunar New Year with SBS PopAsia - Federation Square (19.02.15)

The crew from SBS PopAsia was at Melbourne's Federation Square to help celebrate Luna New Year. Hosts Jamaica dela Cruz and Andy Trieu was on hand to broadcast their radio show #Hashtag Hits with special guests Lawrence Leung from the upcoming ABC2 kung fu comedy Maximum Choppage and live performances from Matt Cardile and Hany Lee. Photos courtesy of SBS PopAsia.