ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

MELBOURNE

Theatre Review: Jumpers For Goalposts - Red Stitch Theatre (Performances until December 20th)

The combination of theatre and sports are like an opposite attract-styled relationship. They are easily not suited for each other, sometimes when aspects are looked over and the layers underneath to a person’s personality are exposed, all manner of shiny good things are there to be enjoyed. The same can be said for Red Stitch’s Jumpers For Goalposts, a production that is both wonderfully playful but also moving at the same time.

Theatre Review: La Cage Aux Folles - Melbourne Arts Centre (Performances until December 7th)

The socialites of Melbourne were out in force for the opening of musical extravaganza La Cage Aux Folles on Saturday night. Having seen the film adaptation The Birdcage several times, I was very excited to see how the characters would be portrayed on stage.

Live Review: Kimbra - The Hi-Fi, Melbourne (22.11.14)

Kimbra finished her last leg of her 'The Golden Echo' tour in Melbourne over the weekend however she showed no signs of fatigue as she bedazzled the audience with her extraordinary voice and elaborate costumes.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: Broken Doll - Ding Dong Lounge, Melbourne (23.11.14)

Japanese J-Rock punk rockers Broken Doll hit Australian shores for their first time this past week, and played to an adoring crowd at Ding Dong Lounge in Melbourne on Sunday night. Empat Lima were in support. Tony Proudfoot was there to bring you these snaps.

Live Review: Sincerely, Grizzly + Bad//Dreems - Ding Dong Lounge, Melbourne (21.11.14)

Sadtime music certainly has made a comeback throughout the last year. The more heart wrenching the better seems to be the rule, with accolades going out to Sun Kil Moon's Benji, Perfect Pussy and Run the Jewels new albums and the increasing re emergence of emo in popular culture (as evidenced by almost everything I've written on this site) shows just how sad everyone's collective thoughts have become. So it's no wonder that the local scene have taken up this property. And last Friday I got the chance to witness one of the best in this scene; Adelaide's Sincerely, Grizzly.

Eating with the AU: La Svolta Italian Restaurant - Prahran and Hampton (Melbourne)

As I enter La Svolta I am warmly welcomed by owners Valerio Calabro and Giuseppe ‘Pino’ Russo and I immediately feel like I've come to an Italian home as my hand is shook, names are vocalised and I am ushered outside to their new, ready for summer, dining space to eat and drink their exclusive new menu range.

The AU fashion: top local designers on show at new InHabit concept (Melbourne)

Melburnians are in for a treat with InHabit, a new fashion forward concept by Scentre Group which sees a carefully curated selection of Australia’s top designers, those that don’t already have a presence within Westfield shopping centres, showcase their wares at Westfield Doncaster.

Live Review: Jimmy Eat World + My Echo - The Forum, Melbourne (17.11.14)

Although Jimmy Eat World's Futures didn't get the same press as Bleed American, it still remains a fan favourite. Between the blistering power chords of single "Pain", the stupidly catchy chorus of title track "Futures" and the bare beauty of "Drugs or Me" it isn't much off a question as to why. So when the announcement was made that the band were touring the album in full for its 10th anniversary, fans went running at the chance to see the under-appreciated sister of Bleed American in all its glory for probably the only time in their lives. It's the only way to explain the packed floor I arrive onto less than 30 minutes after doors.

Photo Gallery: Jimmy Eat World + My Echo - Forum Theatre, Melbourne (17.11.14)

Rebecca Houlden headed along to see Jimmy Eat World, joined by My Echo at the Forum Theatre in Melbourne, and brings us this photo gallery from the pit.

Conference Round Up: AWME - Arts Centre Melbourne (13-16.11.14)

The 7th Australasian Worldwide Music Expo - featuring 58 groups performing over 4 days alongside a two day conference - kicked off with an opening party early on Thursday evening with Pete Murray, Benny Walker and a Welcome to Country ceremony.

Live Review: Manchester Orchestra + Apes + Kevin Devine - Corner Hotel, Melbourne (14.11.14)

As it seemed most of Melbourne were dressing as cats and making their way to the Katy Perry concert (#katycats), an nonetheless impressive contingent of the city's less under-16 female crowd filled up the Corner Hotel for the second of two just-about-sold-out performances from Manchester Orchestra, supported by Ballarat's Apes and Brooklyn based Kevin Devine.

Photo Gallery: Katy Perry - Rod Laver Arena, Melbourne (14.11.14)

Katy Perry brought Melbourne to the Rod Laver Arena for a massive show on Friday night. Rebecca Houlden was there and gives us a taste of the production - and Katy herself - with this photo gallery:

ACMI in Melbourne announces "China Up Close" Program

China Up Close

China is the focus for the Australian Centre for the Moving Image (ACMI) in its first international ‘Up Close’ program. ACMI will present China Up Close – a deeply rich program of art, film, digital programs, talks and live events exploring Chinese culture and society, in Melbourne from 4 December 2014 to March 2015.

Photo Gallery: Guy Pearce + Emma Anglesey + Dancing Heals - The Toff In Town, Melbourne (12.11.14)

Australian actor turned musician Guy Pearce launched his debut album Broken Bones last night at The Toff In Town, supported by Emma Anglesey and Dancing Heals. Tony Proudfoot took his camera along to take some snaps and presents them here exclusively for the AU review:

Live Review: Jack Ladder & The Dreamlanders + Laura Jean - Northcote Social Club, Melbourne (07.11.14)

Its launch day of Jack Ladder and The Dreamlanders' new release Playmates and a jolly Northcote Social Club crowd is hydrating fairly irresponsibly to mark the occasion. You feel like the dwindling patience of a rowdy Friday night crowd and the predominately new and unheard material of Jack Ladder and co. is a dangerous and incompatible cocktail, but thankfully it’s a feeling that washes over you much like the sultry baritone of Jack Ladder (aka Tim Rogers) himself.