ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

INTERNATIONAL

Le Festival d'été de Québec Review: Phantogram + Electric Youth - Impérial de Québec (07.07.14)

One of the many buzz bands making their Australian debut at this year's Splendour in the Grass festival are New York duo Phantogram, an electronic outfit who made big waves this year with the release of their sophomore album Voices - in fact, we named it among our best albums of 2014 (so far) earlier this week. Before they head down under, however, they are touring North America, and it just so happened that we were in Quebec City at the same time; the band playing as part of the city's Summer Festival, Le Festival d'été de Québec. Naturally, I had to head along and see what all the fuss was about.

Montreal Jazz Festival Review: St Vincent + Groenland - Métropolis (05.07.14)

It wasn't that long ago that Annie Clark - aka St Vincent - was in Australia as part of VIVID Festival, continuing the international celebratory tour for her eponymous fourth solo album. And this week, the run of shows brought her to Quebec in Canada for a special show as part of the Montreal Jazz Festival, supported by local up-and-comers Groenland.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: Hong Kong Dome Festival ft. EXO-K - Kai Tak Airport, Hong Kong (01.07.14)

Hello Asia editor Johnny Au was invited to attend the Hong Kong Dome Festival 2014 held at the former Kai Tak Airport Runway in Kowloon, Hong Kong. The Hong Kong Dome Festival is organised by the Performance Industry Association of Hong Kong (PIA) and the festival encourages the Hong Kong government to build a 35,000 capacity indoor arena. This photo gallery includes the hottest K-Pop group at the moment EXO as their Korean team EXO-K. Photos by Johnny Au.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: Hong Kong Dome Festival ft. f(x) - Kai Tak Airport, Hong Kong (01.07.14)

Hello Asia editor Johnny Au was invited to attend the Hong Kong Dome Festival 2014 held at the former Kai Tak Airport Runway in Kowloon, Hong Kong. The Hong Kong Dome Festival is organised by the Performance Industry Association of Hong Kong (PIA) and the festival encourages the Hong Kong government to build a 35,000 capacity indoor arena. This photo gallery includes female K-Pop idol group f(x). Photos by Johnny Au.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: Hong Kong Dome Festival ft. Henry + Tasty & Toheart - Kai Tak Airport, Hong Kong (01.07.14)

Hello Asia editor Johnny Au was invited to attend the Hong Kong Dome Festival 2014 held at the former Kai Tak Airport Runway in Kowloon, Hong Kong. The Hong Kong Dome Festival is organised by the Performance Industry Association of Hong Kong (PIA) and the festival encourages the Hong Kong government to build a 35,000 capacity indoor arena. This photo gallery includes K-Pop artists such as Henry, Tasty (pictured above) and Toheart. Photos by Johnny Au.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: 25th Golden Melody Awards - Taipei Arena, Taiwan (28.06.14)

A special collaboration between Chinese star JJ Lin and Jason Mraz headlined the performances of the 25th Golden Melody Awards held at Taipei Arena in Taiwan. Other special performances include a medley of hits from Jolin Tsai, solo performances afrom A-Lin and Selina plus many more. Enjoy these special photos provided by the Golden Melody Awards.

Six Musical Moments at Firefly Music Festival (Delaware, USA) That'll Make You Sad You Missed It.

"The Woodlands" seems like an apt name for a festival, and even if said “Woodlands” refer to acres of what can only be called a very-dusty-and-extremely-sprawling racetrack backing onto a Mall, the site of Delaware’s Firefly Music Festival is certainly a step back to nature.

Photo Gallery: Transformers 4: Age of Extinction Hong Kong Premiere ft. Imagine Dragons (19.06.14)

Imagine Dragons performed on the waters of Hong Kong as part of the global Transformers 4: Age of Extinction premiere. We bring you these photos from the epic concert:

The final day of Music Matters Live 2014 in Singapore ft. Jeremy Neale, Dune Rats, Ash Grunwald and more.

It's been a few weeks since Music Matters Live came to an end in Singapore, and we wanted to take a moment out of our regularly schedule Coldplay madness to look back at the final night of festivities. The mainstage of Music Matters Live in Singapore is the "Fountain Stage", which takes over the central plaza of Clarke Quay. The final night was the biggest of the week and the main stage's lineup included three of Australia's most well known acts - Dune Rats, Ash Grunwald and Jeremy Neale.

Hello Asia! Live Review: Miyavi - Zepp Diver City, Tokyo (15.06.14)

I cannot write a review that would give enough justice to Japanese artist Miyavi. If I could describe Miyavi’s performance, all I could say is it BLEW MY MIND! There aren’t many artists out there that give me good bumps, however Miyavi is simply a born star.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: Tokyo Girls' Style - Hibiya Open Air Concert Hall, Japan (15.06.14)

Japanese Idol girl group Tokyo Girls' Style performed the last of their national tour at the Hibiya Open Air Concert Hall in Tokyo last weekend. Tokyo Girls' Style just recently released their new album Killing Me Softly and it has been racing up the Japanese Pop charts. The girls danced and sang in a concert that lasted more than 2 1/2 hours. Our Hello Asia editor and head photographer Johnny Au was invited along to capture these images.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: Gille - Yokohama Akarenga, Japan (13.06.14)

Japanese singer Gille performed at the Yokohama Akarenga in Tokyo last weekend. Gille started as a YouTube artist singing English covers. She has released 3 albums and is in the middle of her Japan national tour. She was joined on stage by another Youtube artist named Nobu. Our Hello Asia editor Johnny Au was invited by Gille's management to photograph her show in Yokohama.

Hello Asia! Live Review: Moumoon - Zepp, Tokyo (13.06.14)

Japanese pop duo moumoon celebrated the final show of their Fullmoon Live Tour in honour of their 10th Anniversary at Zepp, Tokyo. Moumoon consists of vocalist and lyricist Yuka and composer Kōsuke Masaki. Moumoon formed in 2004 and debut in Japan in September 2006. The name moumoon is a combination of the French "mou" and the English "Moon", together meaning "Soft Moon".

Hello Asia! Live Review: HaKU - Club Asia, Tokyo (14.06.14)

Japanese rock act HaKU played at Club Asia which is a small venue in the entertainment area of Shibuya, Tokyo. Club Asia has a capacity of around 300 people but boy were the fans of HaKU rocking out!