ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

THE FESTIVAL DIARIES

Five Reasons You Should Have Gone to Dark Mofo in Hobart

Over 11 days in June, the second annual Dark Mofo Festival transforms the cold winter of Hobart into a wonderland of arts and culture that locals and folk from the mainland come in their droves to experience. And if you didn't, well, Lauren Anseline was there and is letting you in on the five reasons you missed one hell of a good time. See you there next year?

Six Musical Moments at Firefly Music Festival (Delaware, USA) That'll Make You Sad You Missed It.

"The Woodlands" seems like an apt name for a festival, and even if said “Woodlands” refer to acres of what can only be called a very-dusty-and-extremely-sprawling racetrack backing onto a Mall, the site of Delaware’s Firefly Music Festival is certainly a step back to nature.

The Festival Diaries: The Governor's Ball in New York City (Part Three: Day Three, 2014)

Day three dawns and the sun gods have visited us again – time to get alarmed, because now we know New York will be haunted with rain, fog and mugginess for the weeks to come. Only two minutes in, Canadian's Half Moon Run have set the bar for the day, with smooth harmonies and a gracefulness that makes every instrument from drum to kazoo look like an elaborately choreographed move – more dancing than music-making.

The Festival Diaries: The Governor's Ball in New York City (Part Two: Day Two, 2014)

On day two, the set choices are a little less challenging, but the weather is rearing its head with some surprising issues. With the sun out in full force, so is the crowd on the Big Apple stage for local electro act Tanlines, who are struggling with sound quality issues due to the heat.

The Festival Diaries: The Governor's Ball in New York City (Part One: Day One, 2014)

Are we gonna be the oldest people there? Asks my friend Annie. We've just spent the last two hours trying to get our old bums out of the house, organizing a combination of stimulants and alcohol with, you know, sunscreen and earplugs. That's right, #grownupshit. Our cab drivers take forever to sync with one another but the sun is shining, the clouds are so fluffy you want to eat them, and most importantly, my phone is charged within a percentage of its life so we can actually spread the joy to you over the seas.

Guest Feature: Andrew Smith, Destination NSW’s Chief Funster at the Country Music Festival in Tamworth, NSW (January 2014)

the AU review is proud to present this special guest post from Andrew Smith, Destination NSW’s Chief Funster. In this piece, Andrew reports exclusively for the AU from the annual Country Music Festival in Tamworth, NSW, which takes place from the 17th until the 26th of January...

The Festival Diaries: CMJ Day Five Ft The Preatures, Bored Nothing, Hermitude + More - New York City (19.10.13)

The last day is here. I write this in a state of both sadness and joy, because I have seen so many great bands perform in front of pretty enthusiastic crowds. NYC really likes to cheer and woo for their entertainment, and it’ll be something I really miss from this city. Then again, I’m sitting here from home writing this while relaxing with a pillow behind my head instead of some busy Starbucks or windy park. It’s a welcome respite.

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Three - Part Two: The Nighttime! - Silverlake, Los Angeles (12.10.13)

With the evening upon us, it was time for Culture Collide to bring out the big guns on what was the final night of the three day event. King Kahn and his seven piece troupe The Shrines - featuring no less than three members making up a brass section - were the first band to enjoy a mass attendance; it was clear everyone who had come to Culture Collide had Khan on their mind.

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Three - Part One: The Daytime! - Silverlake, Los Angeles (12.10.13)

Though there wasn't a Saturday afternoon block party to close things out this year, they retained an outdoor stage and made that the centrepiece of a day of fantastic music and comedy over eight stages. I kicked off the final day of Culture Collide with Japanese solo artist SiMoN, who accompanied lyrics in his native tongue with the electric guitar. It was quite slow and often reminiscent of Sigur Ros, both in pace and the tendency to combine random English phrases with the native language. An apt, if not surprising, way to start off the day.

The Festival Diaries: CMJ Day Four Ft Teen, Total Slacker, NGHBRS, Sol Cat + More - New York City (17.10.13)

It was a day of redemption today. I am not going to stay up any later than 1am. I am not going to fall asleep during gigs. I’m not going to be that insane bottle of a person who lies in the corner writing tour diaries in the press centre corner for two hours fixing grammar rather than enjoying music.

The Festival Diaries: CMJ Day Three Ft Courtney Barnett, Real Estate, Tiny Ruins + More - New York City (17.10.13)

Staying up until 3am last night broke the record of staying up until 1am on the 16th October for me. The range of places that I went to varied insanely - too much probably. Going from living-room sized tiled rooms underneath restaurants to larger rooms that could fill hundreds of people was an experience and a half for a music lover like. But there was a downside, that being that my head was spinning, I'm getting a sore throat and I think I'm dying in one slow churning process because f it.

The Festival Diaries: CMJ Day Two Ft. Lily And The Parlour Tricks, ASTR, Cub Sport + More - New York City (16.10.13)

Considering that your dear writer was up until 1:25am last night, it would be good to assume that grogginess would take over on day two. But never fear! There is a feeling of invincibility in me at the moment. But it should be noted that there should be emphasis on the words 'at the moment'. Grogginess will take over sometime, but let us not dwell on that, there is music goodness to report on!

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Two - Part Three: The Showcases! - Silverlake, Los Angeles (11.10.13)

Having enjoyed the five bands making themselves known on the outdoor World Stage, it was time to head indoors. First up, I caught Perth's The Novocaines at the festival's newest venue addition, the Lot 1 Cafe.

The Festival Diaries: CMJ Day One Ft. Glasser, Kirin J Callinan, The City And Horses + More - New York City (15.10.13)

SXSW’s little sibling has started off with a nice little bang with absorbing light shows, flamenco twang and a side dish of weird feedback and noise. A wide scope of bands have made their presence known to New Yorkers already and parties have begun in earnest. Here's our update of Day One.

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Two - Part Two: The World Stage! - Silverlake, Los Angeles (11.10.13)

The second night of festivities at Culture Collide proved to be a massive one, with the event introducing an outdoor stage as part of the weekend showcases. This in turn replaced what used to be a free all-day "block party" for the general public. The result is something more intimate, though capturing the great vibes that made the Saturday event so special.