AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

LISTEN OUT

Festival Review: Listen Out - Centennial Park, Sydney (03.10.15)

Trimming the fat of a large scale dance festival, Fuzzy's Listen Out has gotten the boutique angle exactly right for the past few years. The music starts around 2pm - when most would rock up to a festival anyway - and rolls out some of the best international and local party-starters across three stages. It's simple and quite perfect, leaving the success of the day purely in the hands of the acts performing, most of whom did an excellent job at keeping the energy up right until a show-stopping set from headliner Childish Gambino, and a show-stealing set from ODESZA.

Festival Review: Listen Out - RNA Showgrounds, Brisbane (04.10.15)

Listen Out has come back doing the rounds, the lineup having some fan favourites as well as the Red Bull Music Academy stage coming back to bring young talent. This year the festival was simplified to two stages; this idea of festivals becoming smaller and more manageable continues to prove popular amongst music fans. It seems making it easier and thus cheaper encourages fans to come along. Gone are the days of big extravagant festivals with five or six different stages. In this case, Listen Out offered two stages, Atari and the 909 stage; Atari was outdoors under the huge big top tent while 909 remained indoors providing some awesome pyrotechnics.

Festival Photo Gallery: Listen Out- Centennial Park, Sydney (03.10.15)

The Listen Out Festival 2015 returned to Centennial Park featuring Childish Gambino, Joey Badass, Alison Wonderland, SBTRKT, Odesza and many more. Belinda Dipalo was there to bring you these photos.

Festival Review: Listen Out - Ozone Reserve, Perth (27.09.15)

The sun was out for the Perth leg of EDM boutique festival Listen Out this weekend, and with a long weekend on and a lineup that made it the first city to sell out it seemed as if everything had aligned.

Five songs from five artists you can't miss at Listen Out 2015


Childish Gambino. Photo Credit: Perri Cassie.

Listen Out is kicking off tomorrow in Melbourne, before it hits Perth and then Sydney and Melbourne next weekend. In anticipation, we've narrowed down the list to the five songs from five acts we reckon you can't miss at any of the event. An in no particular order they are:

the AU interview: ODESZA (Seattle) on Listen Out, creating an atmosphere, discovering fresh music and love for Hayden James!

Scoring fans across the country on their last tour, and being announced as one of the acts on this years seriously anticipated Listen Out lineup, we spoke to Harrison Mills, one half of electronic duo ODESZA, ahead of their return about how this all comes together and what you can expect.

Childish Gambino, SBTRKT, Joey Bada$$ lead 2015 Listen Out line up!


Photo: Perri Cassie

The 2015 Listen Out festival line up has dropped today and it's looking to be a sweet fusion of hip-hop, dance and electronic music at the events scheduled for Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane and Perth this September and October. Leading the charge this year is Childish Gambino, who'll be making his Australian return off the back of a popularly received Splendour in the Grass appearance last year. Most recently, Gambino's debuted a new track at Bonnaroo in the States, so we're keen to see what new music stands to come out between now and his next lot of Aussie dates. Falls Festival alumni SBTRKT, Joey Bada$$, Alison Wonderland and Client Liaison also feature on the 2015 bill, with more announcements still to drop!

Photo Gallery: Listen Out Festival - Royal Botanic Gardens, Melbourne (04.10.14)

The 2014 run of Listen Out came to an end around Australia this weekend, making one of its final stops in Melbourne's Royal Botanic Gardens. Rebecca Houlden was there and brings us these photos from the event:

Festival Review: Listen Out - Royal Botanic Gardens, Melbourne (04.10.14)

Melbourne turned on the goods for the second last leg of Listen Out on Saturday. The sunshine bought out winning attitudes and a veritable goodie bag of trendy headwear. There was a static vim in the air that kept my head darting around at the seemingly endless wave of bucket hats and dreamily kept facial hair. The notable lineup inflicted a world of pain for this punter, in that I had to decide upon which acts to sacrifice for the greater satisfaction of my ears. Dense bass lines, hip cranking rhythms and banging samples had Listen Out goers is a whirr.

Photo Gallery: Listen Out Festival - Brisbane Showgrounds, Brisbane (05.10.14)

The Listen Out Festival came to Brisbane, bringing with it awesome performances from Ta-ku, Schoolboy Q, Chet Faker, Flume and more. Rhys Herriott went along to grab some shots of the action.

Festival Review: Listen Out - Ozone Reserve, Perth (28.09.14)

When Fuzzy promotions first announced a new boutique EDM festival was to be replacing Parklife, my stomach sank with dismay. Parklife had given the fondest memories and still sits in my heart as being my favourite festival experience. Yet walking up to the gates of Listen Out I was filled with excitement, the bill held some damn decent names, the rain had mostly held off, and I knew within seconds it still boasted that same indescribable atmosphere as its predecessor.

Photo Gallery: Listen Out Festival - Ozone Reserve, Perth (28.09.14)

Flume at Listen Out Festival Perth

The Listen Out Festival arrived at Ozone Reserve in Perth with a lineup featuring Flume, Chet Faker, Ta-ku, Young Fathers, Four Tet and more. Our man Stuart Sevastos was on the ground to bring us the highlights of the day.

Festival Review: Listen Out - Centennial Park, Sydney (27.09.14)

After a successful first year, Fuzzy's Listen Out continues to put forth the case for festival down-sizing, standing with just three stages and a cleverly curated line up to ensure that we got just as much variety as a more excessive festival. A bit more niche and thoughtful in it's structure, the day played out with very few hiccups and once again focused on quality over quantity, exposing the direction of the summer festival season and the styles which are getting the most shine this year.

Backstage at Listen Out Sydney 2014 with Yahtzel (Australia), Bondax (England) and Young Fathers (Scotland).

We were backstage tonight at Listen Out in Sydney on Saturday and had the chance to catch up with emerging Australian DJ Yahtzel, English duo Bondax and Scotland trio Young Fathers. We talk about their music, the festival and much, much more...