ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

CULTURE COLLIDE

Glass Towers, Bad//Dreems, KLP and more featured on Culture Collide's first artist announcement!

The first artist announcement for October's Culture Collide Festival in Los Angeles has dropped! Returning to LA for October 16-18, Culture Collide brings with it some more huge names in 2014. The event, in its fifth year this year, announces a stellar first wave of artists, which includes a great starting Aussie contingent in Glass Towers, Bad//Dreems, KLP and Fractures:

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Three - Part Two: The Nighttime! - Silverlake, Los Angeles (12.10.13)

With the evening upon us, it was time for Culture Collide to bring out the big guns on what was the final night of the three day event. King Kahn and his seven piece troupe The Shrines - featuring no less than three members making up a brass section - were the first band to enjoy a mass attendance; it was clear everyone who had come to Culture Collide had Khan on their mind.

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Three - Part One: The Daytime! - Silverlake, Los Angeles (12.10.13)

Though there wasn't a Saturday afternoon block party to close things out this year, they retained an outdoor stage and made that the centrepiece of a day of fantastic music and comedy over eight stages. I kicked off the final day of Culture Collide with Japanese solo artist SiMoN, who accompanied lyrics in his native tongue with the electric guitar. It was quite slow and often reminiscent of Sigur Ros, both in pace and the tendency to combine random English phrases with the native language. An apt, if not surprising, way to start off the day.

the AU interview at Culture Collide: Erik Mattiasson aka Melpo Mene (Sweden)

Larry Heath interviews Erik Mattiasson aka Melpo Mene - a Swedish singer/songwriter - while in Los Angeles to talk about his music, his upcoming music, what it means to be "cool" and "social" as a musician, playing GTA V and much, much more...

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Two - Part Three: The Showcases! - Silverlake, Los Angeles (11.10.13)

Having enjoyed the five bands making themselves known on the outdoor World Stage, it was time to head indoors. First up, I caught Perth's The Novocaines at the festival's newest venue addition, the Lot 1 Cafe.

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Two - Part Two: The World Stage! - Silverlake, Los Angeles (11.10.13)

The second night of festivities at Culture Collide proved to be a massive one, with the event introducing an outdoor stage as part of the weekend showcases. This in turn replaced what used to be a free all-day "block party" for the general public. The result is something more intimate, though capturing the great vibes that made the Saturday event so special.

Photo Gallery: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Three - Silverlake, Los Angeles (12.10.13)

Jasmine Safaeian brings us photos from the third and final day of the Filter Magazine industry event Culture Collide, which takes place every year in Silverlake, Los Angeles. Pictured above is King Khan and the Shrines and also check out photos of New Zealand's Ghost Wave, france's Chateau Marmont, US group NO and more from the world of music...

Photo Gallery: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Two - Silverlake, Los Angeles (11.10.13)

Jasmine Safaeian brings us photos from the second day of Culture Collide Festival in Los Angeles, featuring Bombay Show Pig, Bleached (pictured), New Zealand's Ghost Wave, The Deer Tracks, Adi Ulmansky, a celebrity spot of Jack Black and much more from the world of music!

the AU interview at Culture Collide: Wooster (Santa Cruz, CA)

the AU review sits down in Los Angeles with Santa Cruz based group Wooster to talk about playing Culture Collide, their music, Australia and much more... Filmed at Taix in Los Angeles during Culture Collide - October 2013.

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day Two - The Parties Roundup - Silverlake, Los Angeles (11.10.13)

Following another day of insightful panels - covering everything from aligning brands with bands to the spirits of the world - the music of day two of Filter Magazine's Cuture Collide festival kicked off with a couple of regional focused parties. First up were the Swedes, who brought with them some traditional Swedish herring and meatballs for our eating pleasure as we watched a couple of talented artists from their country!

the AU interview at Culture Collide: Ben from Miami Horror (Australia) talking new album, Homebake, Los Angeles, The Plot and more!

Larry sits down with Ben from Miami Horror to talk about their upcoming album, latest single, performing at Homebake Festival 2013 - as well as other Summer events in Australia such as The Plot - and much more!

Our Top Five Live Discoveries at Culture Collide 2013!

As Filter Magazine's Culture Collide has drawn to a close, we wanted to take a look back at some of the bands we discovered over the weekend, and bring you a list of the five bands we experienced for the first time, loved, and think you should spend some time getting to know too. The reasons for each are self-explanatory. Amazing performances that shun bright above the rest, with fantastic songs to boot. In this instance, we'll let the music speak for itself. However, if you'd like to read more about what we thought of them, check out our day-by-day reviews in the Culture Collide hub.

Festival Review: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day One - Part Two: The Showcases - Silverlake, Los Angeles (10.10.13)

Following on from the late afternoon parties, the rest of the day saw me jump from venue to venue trying to catch as much music as possible. First up, I caught the end of Wooster, a solid rock band from Santa Cruz, California. That's about six hours North of LA for those playing at home. The band were as tight as they come, and the music they were producing would please any ear that fancies some good rock and roll. Definitely will be listening to them on record - and stay tuned for my interview with the band!

Photo Gallery: Filter Magazine's Culture Collide Day One - Silverlake, Los Angeles (10.10.13)

Iceage at Culture Collide - Photo by Jasmine Safaeian.

Jasmine Safaeian brings us photos from the first day of Culture Collide Festival in Los Angeles, featuring Denmark's Iceage (pictured), a DJ Set from Australia's own Miami Horror, Costa Rica's The Great Wilderness, a panel featuring Moby, Dhani Harrison and many more from the world of music!