AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

BRISBANE

Hello Asia! Event Review: Korea Resounds - Brisbane City Hall (25.09.14)

Korea Resounds: Jinjo Crew

Brisbane City Hall was bursting with energy, culture and tradition on Thursday evening with Korea Resounds, the Korean Cultural Office's dynamic half-traditional, half-contemporary, all-Korean spectacular.

Photo Gallery: Sara Bareilles - The Tivoli, Brisbane (24.09.14)

SARA BAREILLES - THE TIVOLI, BRISBANE (24.09.14) / CTD Imagery / Au review

The always amazing Sara Bareilles came through The Tivoli in Brisbane for an unforgettable show! Claire Davies brings you this gallery from the night.

Live Review: Sara Bareilles + Ben Abraham - The Tivoli, Brisbane (24.09.14)

It’s been a long time coming for Sara Bareilles to return to Australia. After supporting Maroon 5 almost four years ago she had not returned to our southern shores until now. I am a huge Bareilles, and have been since her debut release, so for her to finally have a run of headline shows in Australia, was something I would not soon miss.

CLOSED Win a double pass to The Brisbane Good Food & Wine Show!

Get your Appetites Ready! The Brisbane Good Food & Wine Show is coming 17-19 October. Discover and celebrate the finest local and regional produce Australia has to offer, as Brisbane becomes the centre of the food and wine universe at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre open 9am – 5pm daily.

Photo Gallery: American Authors + Andy Grammer - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (19.09.14)

the AU's Aidan Hogg captured Brooklyn band American Authors take the Hi-Fi Brisbane by storm, with support by LA's finest busker turned pop solo artist Andy Grammer! Check out his photos here:

Photo Gallery: Iceage + Cobwebbs - The Brightside, Brisbane (19.09.14)

Danish punk rockers Iceage hit the stage in Brisbane for the first time on Friday night, supported by Cobwebbs at The Brightside. Andrew Wade was there and brings us these photos from the night:

Comedy Review: Jason Byrne in "You Name The Show" - The Tivoli Brisbane (16.09.14)

Having spoken with Jason Byrne months ago for an interview, I was curious as to whether Jason’s blistering, raw and infectious energy was just as transmutable live as it was crackling over the telephone. You Name The Show is proof that it certainly is.

Photo Gallery: The A-Z of BIGSOUND 2014 (Part two)

Photographer Johnny Au takes us to BIGSOUND in Brisbane with an A-Z of the best performances he captured from the week. In Part Two, we take you from Canada's Mise en Scene to Brisbane's own WAAX. OK, so we realise this is more a "A to W" than a literal "A to Z" but you get what we're trying to do here...

BIGSOUND 2014 Featured Photo Gallery: July Talk - New Globe Theatre, Brisbane (10.09.14)

Canadian band July Talk was one of the "buzz" bands during BIGSOUND 2014. Our photographer Johnny Au captured one of their dynamic sets at the New Globe Theatre to show you what all the fuss was about:

Photo Gallery: The A-Z of BIGSOUND 2014 (Part One)

Photographer Johnny Au takes us to BIGSOUND in Brisbane with an A-Z of the best performances he captured from the week. In Part One, we take you from Airling to The Love Junkies.

Brisbane Festival Review: Com Truise - The Telstra Spiegeltent (11.09.14)

Brisbane Festival is in full swing at the moment. Last week, I went and saw a very under-publicized artist from New York - Seth Haley - known by the pseudonym Com Truise, performing at The Telstra Spiegeltent.

Festival Review: BIGSOUND Live - Night Two, Part Two ft. WAAX + Art of Sleeping + The Bennies + Airling + More... (11.09.14)

Day Two was another massive night, running around town catching new talent, and finding some real gems to savour. It was a night that included an array of different music genres ranging from loud hard rockers WAAX and punk act The Bennies, to the soothing soft vocals of Airling, to some country/folk tunes by the Pierce Brothers while Art Of Sleeping and Tin Sparrow brought us some sweet indie pop tunes.

Festival Review: BIGSOUND Live - Night Two, Part One ft. Safia + Gold Fields + Deep Sea Arcade + More... (11.09.14)

Night Two of BIGSOUND Live for me was a little more unplanned than Night One, allowing me to come across some unexpected talent along the way. As with any day at a festival like this, however, with all the amazing highs there were also, unfortunately, some lows. But we may have the fun police to blame for that... read on!

Photo Gallery: The AU Review X PANDORA Post-BIGSOUND 6th birthday Party- Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (12.09.14)

the AU review and Pandora threw a 6th birthday/post-BIGSOUND celebration at the Black Bear Lodge in Brisbane, with guest DJ's including Babaganouj and performances from Canada's Jordan Klassen Perth's Kucka, Melbourne based Kathryn Rollins, Brisbane's own Michelle Xen + The Neon Wild and Tully on Tully closing out the night. Aidan Hogg was there to capture our massive event!

Festival Review: BIGSOUND Live - Night One, Part Two ft. July Talk + Kingswood + Thelma Plum + More... (10.09.14)

In part two of our BIGSOUND Live Highlights from night one, Kimberley Salmond looks back at the six bands that made her night in Brisbane - from Brisbane's own The Furrs to Canadian rockers July Talk.