ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

BRISBANE

Photo Gallery: American Authors + Andy Grammer - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (19.09.14)

the AU's Aidan Hogg captured Brooklyn band American Authors take the Hi-Fi Brisbane by storm, with support by LA's finest busker turned pop solo artist Andy Grammer! Check out his photos here:

Photo Gallery: Iceage + Cobwebbs - The Brightside, Brisbane (19.09.14)

Danish punk rockers Iceage hit the stage in Brisbane for the first time on Friday night, supported by Cobwebbs at The Brightside. Andrew Wade was there and brings us these photos from the night:

Comedy Review: Jason Byrne in "You Name The Show" - The Tivoli Brisbane (16.09.14)

Having spoken with Jason Byrne months ago for an interview, I was curious as to whether Jason’s blistering, raw and infectious energy was just as transmutable live as it was crackling over the telephone. You Name The Show is proof that it certainly is.

Photo Gallery: The A-Z of BIGSOUND 2014 (Part two)

Photographer Johnny Au takes us to BIGSOUND in Brisbane with an A-Z of the best performances he captured from the week. In Part Two, we take you from Canada's Mise en Scene to Brisbane's own WAAX. OK, so we realise this is more a "A to W" than a literal "A to Z" but you get what we're trying to do here...

BIGSOUND 2014 Featured Photo Gallery: July Talk - New Globe Theatre, Brisbane (10.09.14)

Canadian band July Talk was one of the "buzz" bands during BIGSOUND 2014. Our photographer Johnny Au captured one of their dynamic sets at the New Globe Theatre to show you what all the fuss was about:

Photo Gallery: The A-Z of BIGSOUND 2014 (Part One)

Photographer Johnny Au takes us to BIGSOUND in Brisbane with an A-Z of the best performances he captured from the week. In Part One, we take you from Airling to The Love Junkies.

Brisbane Festival Review: Com Truise - The Telstra Spiegeltent (11.09.14)

Brisbane Festival is in full swing at the moment. Last week, I went and saw a very under-publicized artist from New York - Seth Haley - known by the pseudonym Com Truise, performing at The Telstra Spiegeltent.

Festival Review: BIGSOUND Live - Night Two, Part Two ft. WAAX + Art of Sleeping + The Bennies + Airling + More... (11.09.14)

Day Two was another massive night, running around town catching new talent, and finding some real gems to savour. It was a night that included an array of different music genres ranging from loud hard rockers WAAX and punk act The Bennies, to the soothing soft vocals of Airling, to some country/folk tunes by the Pierce Brothers while Art Of Sleeping and Tin Sparrow brought us some sweet indie pop tunes.

Festival Review: BIGSOUND Live - Night Two, Part One ft. Safia + Gold Fields + Deep Sea Arcade + More... (11.09.14)

Night Two of BIGSOUND Live for me was a little more unplanned than Night One, allowing me to come across some unexpected talent along the way. As with any day at a festival like this, however, with all the amazing highs there were also, unfortunately, some lows. But we may have the fun police to blame for that... read on!

Photo Gallery: The AU Review X PANDORA Post-BIGSOUND 6th birthday Party- Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (12.09.14)

the AU review and Pandora threw a 6th birthday/post-BIGSOUND celebration at the Black Bear Lodge in Brisbane, with guest DJ's including Babaganouj and performances from Canada's Jordan Klassen Perth's Kucka, Melbourne based Kathryn Rollins, Brisbane's own Michelle Xen + The Neon Wild and Tully on Tully closing out the night. Aidan Hogg was there to capture our massive event!

Festival Review: BIGSOUND Live - Night One, Part Two ft. July Talk + Kingswood + Thelma Plum + More... (10.09.14)

In part two of our BIGSOUND Live Highlights from night one, Kimberley Salmond looks back at the six bands that made her night in Brisbane - from Brisbane's own The Furrs to Canadian rockers July Talk.

Festival Review: BIGSOUND Live - Night One, Part One ft. Mosman Alder + Okenyo + Little Odessa + Rolls Bayce + more... (10.09.14)

BIGSOUND Live is always a great opportunity to catch some of the best bands in the business while also discovering new favourite acts you didn’t even realise exist! It is such a vibrant event full of networking and all round joy.

BIGSOUND 2014 Photo Gallery: Pre-BIGSOUND Parties ft. Shihad + WAAX + Little Odessa + Ayla and more... (09.09.14)

Things got rolling early at BIGSOUND on Tuesday Night with the official opening party at the Brisbane Festival Spiegeltent, featuring performances from the Telstra Road to Discovery participants - plus we head over to check out Shihad as they perform their new record FVEY in full at The Zoo and enjoy the sweet sounds of the Mucho Bravado and Mushroom "Night Before Bigsound" parties, featuring Waax, Tin Sparrow, The Creases and more.

Mosman Alder gives us a guide to Brisbane for BIGSOUND!

BIGSOUND, arguably Australia's biggest music industry get-together, is approaching fast and many folks who witrh wrok with or play in bands will converge in Brisbane for good times, good music and general advice on how to get ahead in Australia's music industry.

Photo Gallery: Alex Watts + Deena - The Junk Bar, Brisbane (07.09.14)

Melbourne's Alex Watts and Brisbane local Deena brought their acoustic singer-songwriter style to The Junk Bar in Brisbane. Aidan Hogg brings us these photos from the performance: