ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

BRISBANE

Photo Gallery: Steve Earle and the Dukes + Kasey Chambers - The Tivoli, Brisbane (15.04.14)

Legendary US songwriter Steve Earle brings his band The Dukes to Brisbane's Tivoli for a Byron Bay Blues Festival sideshow playing songs from his 15th studio album The Low Highway and greatest hits. Opening for Steve is the wonderful Kasey Chambers. Mark Tainton was there to bring you photos from the night.

Live Review: Ball Park Music + Papa Vs Pretty + Holy Holy - The Tivoli, Brisbane (11.04.14)

Ball Park Music

It had been a 31 degree day in the middle of April, but the heat didn't deter fans, who descended on The Tivoli to catch Holy Holy, Papa Vs Pretty and headline act Ball Park Music on the Puddinghead Tour.

Hello Asia! Live Review: Japan Music Festival - Ric's Bar (05.04.14)

Jill

The prospect of Japanese bands playing live in Brisbane, let alone in Australia, is pretty exciting to me, so the moment I heard about the Japan Music Festival I was looking for more information. The tour stopped in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and a bunch of JB Hi Fi stores along the way, and featured four indie bands and artists from Japan - solo loop-pedal ninja Sparky Quano dreamy three-piece metal band Kaimokujisho, industrial grunge trio 101A and theatrical pop-rock band Jill.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery - Japan Music Festival - Ric's Bar, Brisbane (05.04.14)

Kaimokujisho

The first ever Japan Music Festival hit Ric's Bar last night for a blistering night of rock from some of Japan's best indie bands. We're already looking forward to next year. Photos by Erin Smith.

Photo Gallery: Supanova Pop Culture Expo - Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre (05.04.14)

Attack on Titan cosplayers at Gold Coast Supanova

Supanova Pop Culture Expo has landed on the Gold Coast this weekend. Erin Smith went along to catch the action - cosplay, merchandise and all things geek chic.

Photo Gallery: Harmony + Gentle Ben And His Sensitive Side - Black Bear Lodge, Brisbane (03.04.14)

Harmony kick off the album launch tour for their brilliant Carpetbombing LP at Brisbane's Black Bear Lodge, supported by Gentle Ben and his Sensitive Side. Photos by Andrew Wade.

Photo Gallery: Orphaned Land + Voyager + Orsome Welles - The Rev, Brisbane (23.03.14)

Orphaned Land + Voyager + Orsome Welles finishing off the last leg of their tour at The Rev, Brisbane (23.03.14)

Photo Gallery: Billy Bragg + Courtney Barnett - The Tivoli, Brisbane (20.03.14)

Billy Bragg and Courtney Barnett put on an excellent show at The Tivoli in Brisbane. Andrew Wade was in attendance to bring you these images.

Live Review: Caspian + Meniscus + Hope Drone- The Tempo Hotel, Brisbane (20.03.14)

Hope Drone's set is a blackened slab of post-metal, threaded through with snatches of harsh beauty. The highlight is the deliberate slow-paced brutality of their third number, each riff falling with huge weight onto the audience's ears. It's brilliant songwriting that walks the tightrope between doom and hope, aggression and careful melody, and speed versus slowness. The only drawback was the occasional vocals, the metal growls lacking the staying power or deepness to really impress and occasionally putting the mainly post-rock crowd off.

Live Review: Pharrell Williams + Baauer + Nina Las Vegas - Brisbane Riverstage (12.03.14)

Multi-Grammy winner Pharrell Williams is on fire right now, and it is no surprise that tickets for his Brisbane sideshow were hot property. So much so that it warranted a venue upgrade to the Riverstage.

Live Review: Elizabeth Rose + Safia + Fishing - Alhambra Lounge, Brisbane (8.03.14)

Ever since stumbling into a random venue at BigSound a couple of years ago and witnessing the genius that is Elizabeth Rose, I’ve been following her career closely. Yet, strangely enough, this is the first time I’ve seen her out of BigSound context.

Live Review: Frenzal Rhomb + Dick Nasty + F.U.C - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (08.03.14)

Frenzal Rhomb have been a dependable feature of the Australian music scene for over twenty years, yet Saturday’s show at the Hi Fi was my first, extremely belated, live Frenzal experience. As such, it carried all the anticipation of a band that was a formative part of one’s teen delinquency.

Photo Gallery: Frenzal Rhomb + Dick Nasty & F.U.C - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (08.03.14)

Frenzal Rhomb dominated The Hi-Fi, Brisbane along with Dick Nasty & F.U.C.

Festival Review: Future Music Festival - RNA Showgrounds, Brisbane (01.03.14)

Future Music Festival - one of Australia’s premier electronic music festivals - was a writhing pit of visceral pandemonium that began with tens of thousands of dance and electronic music fans thankful to the elemental gods for a day of blue skies. I knew, even before I entered, I was on a safari into the belly of a metaphorical shirtless, musical, beast on pills. Hashtag 'bulkin’ for Future.'