ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

BRISBANE

Party With The AU: Secrets On Ann Opening Night, and Beyond - Fortitude Valley (Brisbane)

The AU review is no stranger to Secrets on Ann. The fresh and modern feel, the moody and dramatic colour scheme, the dynamic lighting, the unique cocktails… there’s much to love. The official launch night only proved that Secrets is a brilliant venue, that appeals to a very broad demographic, filling the gap in Fortitudes Valley’s market. As well as the fantastic launch, Secrets has a bright future ahead of it, with brilliant events and themed nights to come.

Party with the AU: Ben & Jerry’s Open Air Cinema Opening Night - South Bank (Brisbane)

Ben & Jerry’s is giving Brisbanites experiences to remember with their fantastic Ben & Jerry’s Open Air Cinema. Until November 9 they will be showing amazing films, from old cult classics like Labyrinth and The Rocky Horror Picture Show, to new movies like How To Train Your Dragon 2 and What We Do In The Shadows. The opening night, and charity launch, featured great music from Melbourne band Husky, a cosy atmosphere and a screening of the new New Zealand hit What We Do In The Shadows.

Live Review: Sheppard + Microwave Jenny - The Tivoli, Brisbane (09.10.14)

Unless you have been studiously avoiding the radio, TV or people in general over the last year or so you have no doubt heard of the Brisbane six piece, Sheppard who have been taking over local and international airwaves with their infectious pop melodies and catchy choruses. They have toured internationally and supported the likes of Keith Urban on home soil but in comparison with Aussie bands of similar international fame, have played few headline shows in their home town. So when their latest tour was announced, I couldn't help but be curious about their live act.

Photo Gallery: Sheppard - The Tivoli, Brisbane (09.10.14)

Having impressed the night before at the Carlton Dry Independent Music Awards in Melbourne, Sheppard returned home to Brisbane for a cracker show at The Tivoli. Krista Melsom brings you these photos from the night!

Photo Gallery: Listen Out Festival - Brisbane Showgrounds, Brisbane (05.10.14)

The Listen Out Festival came to Brisbane, bringing with it awesome performances from Ta-ku, Schoolboy Q, Chet Faker, Flume and more. Rhys Herriott went along to grab some shots of the action.

Photo Gallery: HELM + Forever the Optimist + Hazards of Swimming Naked - The Brightside, Brisbane (03.10.14)

HELM, Forever the Optimist and Hazards of Swimming Naked played the Brightside in Brisbane over the weekend. Sam Petrie was there with his camera and brings you these photos....

Live Review: Bluejuice + Tyler Touché + Jody - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (02.10.14)

When I first heard the news that Bluejuice, one of the craziest and most talented bands out there, were breaking up, there were some tears. I’m not just talking the “I’ve got something in my eye” tears, I’m talking about the streaming kind. For the past 13 years, Bluejuice have been knocking socks (and jocks) right off, and it is monumentally sad that they are calling it quits. In saying that, they are putting on a Last Hurrah tour all around the country so as to have a “Happy Funeral”, Jake put it.

Photo Gallery: Bluejuice - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (02.10.14)

Bluejuice (supported by the grungy mope rockers Jody and the ever-smooth Tyler Touché) tore up the HiFi with a high energy show as part of their final tour. Rhys Herriott was there to capture the action.

Live Review: Maybeshewill + Solkyri + We Lost the Sea - The Crowbar, Brisbane (28.09.14)

We Lost the Sea hit the stage first, their opening song an all swallowing ocean of guitar sound that grows and grows.  The followup starts meanderingly but as the guitars trade sparse melody, it builds until until the band finally reveals its metal teeth with a snarl. The beautiful soundscape is ripped away with a burst of heaviness, each drumbeat hitting with the force of a bouldre as the guitars race away. The third evolves into a chugging metallic anthem from a mournful electronica solo. We Lost the Sea's standout feature is the sheer momentum behind each of their songs, each totally sweeping me away.

Party with the AU: Opening Night of Woolly Mammoth, Brisbane

the AU review sent foot soldiers out in Brisbane to suss out the newest club to hit Fortitude Valley, the Woolly Mammoth, this past weekend - she is a beast of a venue. Situated next to Cloudland on Ann street at what was once the Mustang Bar, this new hangout is going to give other long standing clubs a run for their money. Woolly Mammoth boasts two levels, three bars and a killer kitchen.

Hello Asia! Event Review: Korea Resounds - Brisbane City Hall (25.09.14)

Korea Resounds: Jinjo Crew

Brisbane City Hall was bursting with energy, culture and tradition on Thursday evening with Korea Resounds, the Korean Cultural Office's dynamic half-traditional, half-contemporary, all-Korean spectacular.

Photo Gallery: Sara Bareilles - The Tivoli, Brisbane (24.09.14)

SARA BAREILLES - THE TIVOLI, BRISBANE (24.09.14) / CTD Imagery / Au review

The always amazing Sara Bareilles came through The Tivoli in Brisbane for an unforgettable show! Claire Davies brings you this gallery from the night.

Live Review: Sara Bareilles + Ben Abraham - The Tivoli, Brisbane (24.09.14)

It’s been a long time coming for Sara Bareilles to return to Australia. After supporting Maroon 5 almost four years ago she had not returned to our southern shores until now. I am a huge Bareilles, and have been since her debut release, so for her to finally have a run of headline shows in Australia, was something I would not soon miss.

CLOSED Win a double pass to The Brisbane Good Food & Wine Show!

Get your Appetites Ready! The Brisbane Good Food & Wine Show is coming 17-19 October. Discover and celebrate the finest local and regional produce Australia has to offer, as Brisbane becomes the centre of the food and wine universe at the Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre open 9am – 5pm daily.

Photo Gallery: American Authors + Andy Grammer - The Hi-Fi, Brisbane (19.09.14)

the AU's Aidan Hogg captured Brooklyn band American Authors take the Hi-Fi Brisbane by storm, with support by LA's finest busker turned pop solo artist Andy Grammer! Check out his photos here: