Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:69:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:33;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/asia/reviews?page=9', '', '54.82.112.193', 1513170784) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134
REVIEWS | the AU review
AU ABROAD

warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.

REVIEWS

Hello Asia! Indonesian Film Festival 2014 Review - What They Don't Talk About When They Talk About Love (Indonesia 2013)

Screening at the ninth Indonesian Film Festival at Melbourne’s ACMI, Mouly Surya’s What They Don’t Talk About When They Talk About Love elegantly traverses into a multi-sensory delight that depicts the lives of three independent female teenagers at a boarding school for the visually impaired in Jakarta.

Hello Asia! Indonesian Film Festival 2014 Review - Something in the Way (Indonesia 2013)

Something in the Way was shot over a mere five days. Yet, despite the small time-frame, limited crew and restricted budget, this independent film is anything but insignificant; every single frame of this ninety minute long feature film demands attention.

Hello Asia! TV Drama Review: Fall In Love With Me (Taiwan 2014)

Now, I am not going to pretend that I know everything about Taiwanese dramas. Hey, I might have seen one or two. But today, I will tell you about the amazing new drama Fall In Love With Me from Taiwan that I started watching.

Hello Asia! Live Review: David Choi + Jason Chen - Ormond Hall, Melbourne (11.04.14)

YouTube stars David Choi and Jason Chen touched down in Melbourne for a sold out one night only performance at Ormond Hall last Friday night. Both performers, hailing from the United States, are famous in the world of YouTube, collectively acquiring close to 300 million views through their beautiful music, artistic covers, and smooth, sweet-sounding vocals. Through the power of the networking platform, both David and Jason have seen their music take them across the globe, with strong fan-bases in such countries as Singapore, Malaysia, China, Italy and Spain. 2012 was the last visit David made to Australia, promoting his latest album, Forever and Ever. However, this time called for a more intimate affair, giving fans the rare opportunity to get up and close with the popular YouTubers in this double bill concert.

Hello Asia! Live Review: Jay Chou - Allphones Arena, Sydney (11.04.13)

The King of Mandopop Jay Chou once again touched down in Sydney to perform one of his now exceptionally famous concerts and he didn’t disappoint his strong fan base in Australia. Jay is famous in the industry for having high expectations when it comes to performance, rehearsals and stage design and this was very obvious with the extreme choreography, pyrotechnics and band performance on display.

Hello Asia! Live Review: Japan Music Festival - Ric's Bar (05.04.14)

Jill

The prospect of Japanese bands playing live in Brisbane, let alone in Australia, is pretty exciting to me, so the moment I heard about the Japan Music Festival I was looking for more information. The tour stopped in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane and a bunch of JB Hi Fi stores along the way, and featured four indie bands and artists from Japan - solo loop-pedal ninja Sparky Quano dreamy three-piece metal band Kaimokujisho, industrial grunge trio 101A and theatrical pop-rock band Jill.

Hello Asia! New Music Review: High4 & IU - Not Spring, Love or Cherry Blossom (2014)

After weeks of releasing member profiles and teasers, N.A.P Entertainment’s new boy group HIGH4 dropped their single, Not Spring, Love or Cherry Blossoms which is a collaboration with Korea’s little sister, IU. HIGH4 is made up of 2 vocalists: Kyle & Myung-han, as well as 2 rappers: Alex & Young-jun.

Hello Asia! Event Review: Supanova Pop Culture Expo - Gold Coast Convention Centre (05.04.14)

Cosplayer at Gold Coast Supanova

Each year Supanova Pop Culture Expo returns to the Gold Coast the lines grow longer, the cosplay more spectacular and the visiting Supa-Star guests more numerous. Back on the Gold Coast for its third year, Supanova transforms the Gold Coast Convention Centre and the surrounding Broadbeach area into a haven for pop culture fans, nerds and collectors.

Hello Asia! Live Review: Japanese Music Festival - The Roller Den (04.04.14)

The first ever Japanese Music Festival to tour Australia landed on our shores in Melbourne on April 3rd 2014. With a lot of eyes looking in its direction, partly out of curiosity over these unique Japanese Indie creatures and partly out of sheer exclusiveness the event now holds in Australia. Many people were wondering, who are these people? Where did they come from? Of course all valid questions since our virgin eyes here in Australia have never seen such an event before. There was a small whispers around the music scene, however, having said that, I can honestly say The Japanese Music Festival crushed all of those doubts with its big fat alternative yet slightly kawaii fist!

Hello Asia! Live Review: Kim Bum Soo - Sydney Opera House (27.03.14)

In 2011, in Melbourne, Korea’s popular entertainment program ‘MBC - I Am A Singer (나는 가수다)’ held its special concert episode in Australia. This concert was to celebrate one of events to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the diplomatic relationship between Australia and Korea. This concert was held successfully. Some enthusiastic fans were frustrated as they missed out this amazing event as there was a limitation of filming of TV program.

Hello Asia! Live Review: Kyary Pamyu Pamyu - UNSW Roundhouse (23.03.14)

Over the weekend, Australia was lucky enough to be graced with the Kyary Pamyu Pamyu World Tour 2014. It’s not often we get our share of the J-pop trend that’s been sweeping the world since the bubble era of the 1990’s. In fact, this was the first concert of this genre to ever be played in Australia on a large scale, and Kyary set a pretty good standard for future artists.

Hello Asia! Film Review: The Wind Rises (Japan 2013)

The Wind Rises (Kaze Tachinu) is the much heralded and final offering from legendary Japanese animated feature film director of Studio Ghibli fame – Hayao Miyazaki. In true Miyazaki style, it is loosely based on historical events steeped deeply in fantasy and adventure. Although this film is a highly fictionalised biography, it pays tribute to the real life Jiro Horikoshi – the chief engineer of many Japanese fighter planes during World War II.