AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

WOLF ALICE

Festival Review: Lollapalooza Berlin - Tempelhof Airport, Germany (12.09.15 & 13.09.15)


Photo: Stephan Flad.

Lollapalooza branched out into Europe for the first time over the weekend, taking Berlin's Tempelhof Airport by storm. The sold out event drew huge numbers of music fans down to the defunct airport (one of the coolest festival venues I've been too, I'll add) for some brilliant sets by artists who've been away for a little while, some of the biggest names touring at the moment and some recent festival favourites. Having attended Lollapalooza in Chicago last year, I felt like I was going into this one at least a little prepared, but Berlin's festival game was another beast in itself.

the AU interview: Wolf Alice (UK) talk Splendour in the Grass, festival experiences and more!

the AU review's Johnny Au had a sit down chat with UK alternative rock outfit, Wolf Alice during their run of headlining shows for Splendour in the Grass in both Sydney and Melbourne cities. Kicking off their first ever Australian headline show in Melbourne, the band were super impressed by how well it ran. On vocals and guitar, Ellie Rowsell explained how lucky they were to share the stage with great acts like Blur. "We've heard so many good things about Splendour. People keep talking about it and saying it's the best festival in Australia and in general so we're super pumped about it," She continues. "The stage we're playing on Sunday has a really-good lineup and there's bands that we've wanted to see."

Live Review: Wolf Alice - Oxford Art Factory, Sydney (24.07.15)

Every few years, a great rock band emerges from England and comes to our shores around Splendour In the Grass. This time, it’s Wolf Alice. Their no-nonsense set put music at the forefront and a lack of theatrics complements the dysphoria in many of their tracks. In the underground Oxford Art Factory, it felt like we’d travelled back in time 20 years – and the all-black band attire (except for drummer Joel Amey in red plaid) certainly added to that.

the AU Weekend Gig Guide: July 24th - July 26th - The Splendour Edition!

It's Splendahhh weekend! For those of you who aren't going to Byron for the festival, the east coast is about to get hit with a tonne of killer sideshows. Here's some of our picks!

the AU interview: Ellie Rowsell of Wolf Alice (UK) talks returning to Australia, festivals & "My Love is Cool"!

Wolf Alice have come a long way since our first meeting and that was only a year ago. Touring their debut EP Blush in the States, I first came across the Londoners at a dusty dive bar in Austin at SXSW where they'd just performed one of their many sets of that week. Contrast their dip in the SXSW pond that year as one of the new buzz bands, to their return to the larger showcase venues at the festival this year, the growth of Wolf Alice's profile was clear.

Album News Weekly: 17th June 2015

In This Issue: Releases are few in numbers this week, much like the hours of sunlight in these miserable winter days. Thankfully, however, quality over quantity is the order of the day, with some top-notch artists pumping out brand new material.

Splendour in the Grass Sideshows: Wolf Alice return to Melbourne and Sydney this July!

Wolf Alice were last in the country over New Year's, bringing in 2015 with us at the Falls Festival on the coast and in Tasmania and we're particularly stoked to see the British band are coming back so soon after for another run of shows! Continuing to tour internationally and develop a brilliant reputation for themselves as a live performance act, Wolf Alice were one of the visiting SXSW bands to Austin that we had the most trouble getting in to see play, with the lines for their shows extended on for ridiculous lengths of time. We finally were able to check them out near the end of the festival though and man, have they come such a long way from their first SXSW shows in 2014. A powerful live band, they're going to be ones to watch at Splendour this year, for sure.

SXSW Live Review: Hype Hotel presents Wolf Alice + Best Coast - Hype Hotel (18.05.15)

Put together each year by the popular music aggregation site The Hype Machine, Hype Hotel has become a mainstay of the annual SXSW music festival. Every time the Hotel returns, it gets bigger and better, and this year was no exception, taking over a massive warehouse on the East side of town.

Photo Gallery: Falls Festival Day Four - Lorne, Victoria (31.12.14)

As the sun rose on a perfect final day of the Falls Festival, weary punters headed to the valley in anticipation of another great day of music. Alt-J, The Presets and Safia were just a few of the standouts on the day. Our photographer John Goodridge brings you these photos from the final day.

Festival Review: Falls Festival Day Four ft. Vance Joy + Bluejuice + The Presets - Lorne, Victoria (31.12.14)

It was as if the gods suddenly looked down on the Lorne site of the 2014 Falls Festival and told each other, 'You know what? They've suffered enough with the rain.' - the clouds disappeared for our New Year's Eve in the forest and the temperature rose considerably, a perfect atmosphere for our final day at the festival. Moods were high (weed was probably helping in that regard, too) and the music was totally fitting as one's soundtrack to the end of the year.

Haitus Kaiyote, Gang of Youths, Lenka and Mansionair featured on second SXSW artist announcement!


Photo: Wilk

SXSW's second artist announcement came out of Austin in the early hours of this morning, revealing a whole new stack of artists from around the world who will be taking part in the March 17 - 22 program next year! It's shaping up to be another kickass few days of live music and conference sessions spread throughout the Texan city, and the Australian contingent is only getting stronger, with Hiatus Kaiyote, Lenka, Gang of Youths and Mansionair now joining the bill.

the AU interview: Wolf Alice (UK) talk Australia, T in the Park, their latest EP "Creature Songs" and more...

Last month, we caught up with UK outfit Wolf Alice backstage at T in the Park in Scotland. Though we weren't able to say it on camera at the time, we got them to talk about their "possible" trip to Australia (revealed today to be a part of Falls Festival), we talk about what they've been up to since we last saw them at SXSW, the release of their latest EP Creature Songs and we look ahead into the rest of 2014 and beyond...

Festival Review: T in the Park (Day One) ft. Biffy Clyro + Pixies - Kinross-Shire, Scotland (11.07.14)

Now in its 21st year, T in the Park sits as the most established music festival in Scotland and alongside Glatsonbury, Leeds and Reading as one of the most well known annual music events in the United Kingdom. Its 2014 event - headlined by the likes of Arctic Monkeys, Calvin Harris, Scottish heroes Biffy Clyro, Pixies, Elbow and many more - marks something as the end of an era for the event. Like many world renowned festivals before it, the time has come for the event to move to a new home. But not before they give the venue - Balado Airfield in Kincross-Shire - where it's been held for 18 years, a proper goodbye.

New Music Video: Wolf Alice "Moaning Lisa Smile" (2014)

Young English quartet Wolf Alice bring colossal levels of shoegaze, grunge and fuzz-rock to this first single from their second EP, Creature Songs. Singer-guitarist Ellie Rowsell is at the centre of everything the band does, and while this video sees her taking part in possibly the most awkward dance competition of all time, if their debut album is up to the standard of this track, it promises to be a good one.

T In The Park continues to grow strong in 2014, with the likes of Tame Impala, Arctic Monkeys and more set to perform!

British festival T in the Park has brought a strong lineup for its 2014 run! The three day July festival still has more artist announcements to come, but the list of artists already name-dropped is impressive indeed. With the Tame Impala boys being the first Australians to be included on the festival bill (so far) this year, the festival will also be seeing some stellar international names coming through, including some who will be soon knocking on our doorstep in Arctic Monkeys, Ellie Goulding, Biffy Clyro and Disclosure.