ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

WARPAINT

Festival Review: Lollapalooza (Day One) ft. Bombay Bicycle Club + Arctic Monkeys + Eminem - Grant Park, Chicago (01.08.14)

Walking into Grant Park, it really did hit me how large Lollapalooza is. We got a press release stating there was an expected 100,000 attendees through the gates over the three day event. Usually when you rock up to even the bigger Australian festivals (Soundwave, Falls etc), you get the impression you're in for a big time gradually over the day. Here, it was honestly like a good 40,000 people from all over the country and beyond were just transported and plopped down in the middle of downtown Chicago at 11am.

Our 14 Favourite Records of 2014...So Far.... Part Two: 6 - 1

In the second part of our countdown of our favourite albums of 2014 so far, AU contributors ranked the following albums as some of the best pieces of music produced by both international and Australian artists as of this point in the year. Some may be surprising, others may not, either way, if you've not yet checked out the following, perhaps now is the time to do so!

Berlin Festival adds RUFUS, Digitalism and a heap more added to massive lineup

If it wasn't big enough already - it's taking place over one continuous 48 hour period in Templehof airport - Berlin Festival has just announced a heap of artists to join their current lineup. Australian electronic favourites RUFUS are one of the artists added - bringing a great Australian presence to a bill that now includes monster electro duo Digitalism, British artists Jessie Ware and Bombay Bicycle Club, and California psych rockers Warpaint.

SXSW Live Review: Band of Skulls + Warpaint + Roosevelt + Until The Ribbon Breaks - House of Vans, Mohawks (14.03.14)

If ever in doubt of where to go at SXSW, a good bet is to pick a headliner you'd like to see and get there early. There'll usually be a few artists on that bill who might surprise and impress along the way. Or, as I said here, the church is always a good bet, too. In any case, out of my desire to check out Warpaint and Band of Skulls at one of the House of Vans showcases at Mohawks, I got there early enough to check out a couple of the other acts on the bill.

SXSW 2014 Photo Gallery: Spin at Stubb's - Stubb's BBQ (14.03.14)

Music publication SPIN returns to SXSW with their SPIN @ Stubb's Day Party. The line up included artists such as The Orwells, Temples, Warpaint, ScHoolboy Q, Cloud Nothings, Against Me! and Future (pictured above). Photos by Johnny Au.

SXSW Live Review: Warpaint + Until the Ribbon Breaks + WOUNDS - Maggie Mae's (12.03.14)

By now, you've probably heard about the tragic accident which occurred in downtown Austin on Wednesday night. Thankfully myself and the rest of the AU team weren't in the vicinity when it happened, though I had only decided a short time before that I wouldn't head to Mohawk, mainly because I was hungry and already on East 6th, but also because I'd stumbled on some dope bands at Maggie Mae's, a venue I hadn't yet explored. In the Gibson Room, Ireland was on show, with a number of bands having taken to the inside venue through the night, while upstairs in the Chop Shop, there was more of an eclectic line up warming the cold temperature.

Cloud Nothings, Future, Warpaint, Temples and more onboard for SPIN's SXSW party!

SPIN's annual SXSW party is always a popular event for the music loving public who converge on Austin's Stubb's venue each year. They've pulled out all stops with their 2014 event, with a diverse line up set to impress. The gig is taking place across two stages on March 14th and will be featuring live performances by the following artists.

Photo Gallery: St Jerome's Laneway Festival (Part Three) - Harts Mill, Port Adelaide (07.02.14)

the AU caught the ladies closing out St Jerome's Laneway Festival in Adelaide on Friday night. Lauren Connelly caught sets by Lorde, The Jezabels and Warpaint and brings you the third and final gallery from a successful festival for another year!

Photo Gallery: St Jerome's Laneway Festival Part 3 - Sydney College of the Arts (02.02.14)

The final part of the AU Review's photo series from St Jerome's Laneway Festival at Sydney College of the Arts. Featuring Grammy Award winning artist Lorde (pictured above), Savages, Earl Sweatshirt, Cloud Control, Jamie XX, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, The Jezabels, Four Tet and Warpaint. Photos by Johnny Au.

Live Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival - RNA Showgrounds, Brisbane (31.01.14)

Each year when the St Jerome’s Laneway Festival lineup is announced initially there’s both the excitement of spotting a band you’ve always wanted to see and also a vague general intrigue for the few other names you recognise from some blog or other. By the time the festival rolls around however, it’s impossible to imagine what your record collection would be like without half of those bands you were mildly interested in just a short time ago.

Photo Gallery: St Jerome's Laneway Festival - Footscray Community Arts Centre, Melbourne (01.02.14)

The St Jerome's Laneway Festival came through Melbourne for another year this weekend, bringing even more huge names and class talent than before. Serena Ho was there to capture the likes of Lorde, CHVRCHES, Drenge, Dick Diver and more!

the AU interview: Stella Mozgawa from Warpaint (USA) talks Laneway!

Warpaint are returning to Australia for the 2014 St. Jerome's Laneway Festival, which comes in the immediate wake of the release of the band's sophomore self-titled album which was mixed by Nigel Godrich (Radiohead, Beck, Paul McCartney). Larry Heath spoke with the band's Australian born drummer, Stella Mozgawa about the new record, touring, Laneway and more.

Album Review: Warpaint - Warpaint (2014 LP)

Hours before writing up this review, I shared Warpaint's latest SoundCloud activity on my blog. Titled 'Biggie' and taken from their upcoming eponymous release, Warpaint's new track is one that Portishead never wrote. No doubt influenced by the trip hop craze of the 90s, 'Biggie' is only one example of the new Warpaint.

Single Stream: Warpaint "Biggy" (2013)

'Biggy' is another track from Warpaint's self-titled album, set for release on January 17 2014. The band will tour in Australia for St Jerome's Laneway Festival in January and February next year.

Single Stream: Warpaint - "Love Is To Die" (2013)

Warpaint have recently released news of their new and upcoming album WARPAINT, set for release in January! The first cut from the album is in "Love Is To Die", which you can stream in full below! WARPAINT will be released on January 14th through Rough Trade/Remote Control.