Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:69:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:33;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/artist/tora', '', '50.19.34.255', 1519047713) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134

Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:93:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:55;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/artist/tora', '', '50.19.34.255', 1519047713) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134

Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:93:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:55;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/artist/tora', '', '50.19.34.255', 1519047714) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134
TORA | the AU review
AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

TORA

the AU interview at Canadian Music Week: Tora (Byron Bay) talk crowd interaction, being away from home and more!

the AU review's Larry Heath talked with Shaun Johnston and Jo Loewenthal of Byron Bay's Tora during their run of shows at Canadian Music Week. Since starting their Canadian tour, it was clear that both Johnston and Lowenthal were feeling fatigued from all the traveling they were doing but the people they had met along the way made it worth their while, "We're feeling drained. We left Australia three weeks ago. We did LA, New York, Montreal, Quebec, Sherbrooke - now we're here. We're ready to sleep tonight but we're having a great time. We're meeting lots of cool people and I couldn't really ask for more. We've had so much fun."

Live Review: The Aussie BBQ ft. Flyying Colours + Millions + Klo + Tora and more - Hoxton Square, London (17.05.15)


Pictured: Klo

Sunday in London saw the return of The Aussie BBQ - the live initiative of our music export body Sounds Australia. Hundreds of music fans - both locals and expats - came out for the event which saw over twenty Australian artists performing on two stages over ten hours at the Hoxton Bar and Grill in Shoreditch. It was a chance for us to see well established artists like Safia and Remi an become acquainted with some newer talent, some of whom are now based here in the UK.

Photo Gallery: The Aussie BBQ ft. Safia + Saskwatch + Remi + Hein Cooper and more - Hoxton Square, London (17.05.15)

An eclectic mix of over 20 artists from around Australia came together on Sunday in London for a massive day of live music - showcasing the finest in new, emerging and established artists from our region, many of whom were making their London debut at the annual Aussie BBQ event, held at the Hoxton Square Bar & Kitchen on the day after The Great Escape. Among the artists Larry Heath captured on the day were the likes of SAFIA (pictured above), Remi, Saskwatch, Flyying Colours, Hein Cooper, Service Bells and many, many more... check out the full gallery here:

Highlights from Day One of The Great Escape 2015!

Today marked the first day of The Great Escape in Brighton, England for 2015. Now in its 10th year, the festival was completely sold out for the third consecutive year - with both delegate passes and live music only wristbands flying out the door. The calibre of artists showcasing today proved why this was the case. Here are just some of our highlights from the first day of the event:

Where to see the Aussies at The Great Escape 2015‏


Photo: Saskwatch

With over 400 up and coming bands set to play in 35 Brighton venues for The Great Escape Festival, we thought it was definitely worth spotlighting the Aussie acts. Incredible artists are flying in from all over the world, and these amazing Aussie bands are no exception. Click through to find out who you should be checking out...

Canadian Music Week Photo Gallery (Day 8): Aussie BBQ Feat. The Lazys + Tora + More (08.05.15)

The Aussie BBQ was out in force at Canadian Music Week this year, with a packed line up and sausages on the go. Featuring The Lazys, Ecca Vandal and many more. rcstills was there to cover all the action!

15 Artists not to miss at Canadian Music Week 2015 from Australia, Canada and all around the world!

In just a few hours, Canadian Music Week will kick off in Toronto, bringing with it an incredible array of artists from all over the globe (hundreds in fact), taking over dozens of venues around the city for nine nights. Australia is the lucky "Spotlight Country" this year, meaning there are more Australian artists on show than ever before, but the musicians worth checking out reach far beyond our own borders. Today on the AU, before we head North to cover the festival's final four nights next week (and throw a party of our own), we're bringing you ten artists who we think are must sees. Some names you may be familiar with, and others you'll likely be meeting for the first time. In no particular order they are:

the AU interview: Tora (Byron Bay) talk to AU Radio about their track "Jaigantic"

While we were backstage with Byron Bay quintet Tora last month, we asked them to talk about the unexpected popularity of their track "Jaigantic". We find out about the origins of the song and learn how it almost didn't make it onto their album in the first place... Listen on and then listen to the song!

Live Review: Falls Festival, Day Two - North Byron Parklands (31.12.14)

It’s five minutes to midnight, Flume’s remix of “Tennis Court” is spinning out from the Valley Stage, where Alison Wonderland ducks and jumps behind the decks. Confetti is falling, lit up gold by the fierce strobes, drifting and sticking to the 10,000 sweaty people that are crammed into the Valley. The music cuts for the countdown, and Day two of Falls ends as the New Year begins – with another explosion of confetti.

Best of 2014: Tora (Byron Bay) name their favourite records of the year and talk Falls Festival!

While backstage at Festival of the Sun earlier this month, Bryon Bay outfit Tora named their favourite music of 2014 and looked ahead to their performances at Falls Festival - which is happening as we speak!

the AU interview at Festival of the Sun: Tora (Byron Bay) talk about their latest EP "Eat The Sun"

the AU review's Larry Heath sits backstage at Festival of the Sun in Port Macquarie, NSW, to talk to Byron Bay group Tora about their latest EP Eat The Sun and much more... Listen to the chat here:

Live Review: Tora + La Mar - Newtown Social Club, Sydney (14.11.14)

There is, sometimes, certain difficulty in translating a record to a live show. Songs that sound polished and perfected in the studio can often fall completely flat on stage – and this is even more apparent when there’s a reliance on the electronic, lest it becomes a laptop only gig.

the AU interview: Tora (Byron Bay) on songwriting, tours, and everything in between

Currently in the middle of touring their new EP, Eat The Sun, Jo Loewenthal from Byron Bay band Tora chatted at length to the AU review about the beginnings of the band, the switch to the electronic, and of tour buses breaking down in the middle of nowhere.

the AU's Weekend Gig Guide: November 14th - November 16th.

We've taken a look at some of the shows we're going to be heading to throughout the week ahead and deliver you this guide - our national gig picks of the week!

Young guns Tora announce 'Eat The Sun' EP and tour!

With rich harmonies and enveloping synths, Tora have released their sophomore EP Eat The Sun, and with it, a tour bursting with dates all over the country.