AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

THE DELTA RIGGS

Photo Gallery: Yours and Owls Festival 2015 (Part Two) ft. Smith Street Band - Stuart Park, Wollongong (2nd to 4th October 2015)

Ian Laidlaw brings us photos from the amazing weekend that was the Yours & Owls Festival in Wollongong. Kicking off on Friday and running through until Sunday night, the event capitalized on the October long weekend with an incredible local lineup - with Canadian artist Bahamas popping along too. In the second part of Ian's photo gallery, check out Russel W And The 5 Islands, Salmonella Dub, Saskwatch, Skegss, The Bungalows, The Delta Riggs, The Pinheads, The Rubens, The Preatures and The Smith Street Band!

Illy, Thundamentals, Jebediah and more to feature at 2015's Festival of the Sun festival this December!

Festival of the Sun celebrates its 11th year this year, taking over the Sundowner Breakwall Tourist Park in Port Macquarie on December 11th & 12th. Leading the artist announcement today are some of the country's favourites, Illy, Thundamentals and Jebediah, while the crew behind FOTSUN have also announced the inaugural Wabi Sabi night to proceedings this year.

Photo Gallery: Groovin' The Moo - Bendigo Showgrounds (02.05.15)

Groovin' The Moo came to Bendigo for another year, bringing with it a brilliant array of talent both from Australia and abroad. From Northlane to Tkay Maidza, through to the Pierce Brothers and the Hilltop Hoods, there was enough music at the showgrounds to keep the party going well into the night. Kimberley Salmond was there for the AU and brings us these shots!

Festival Review: Groovin' The Moo - Bendigo Showgrounds (02.05.15)

On the third leg of the tour, Groovin' The Moo sprung into action at the Prince Of Wales Showground in Bendigo. The weather looked ominous at the start but fortunately, the clouds cleared for a beautiful warm sunny day that was ripe for good music vibes all day long.

Live Review: The Delta Riggs + Harts - The Metro Theatre, Sydney (01.05.15)

Friday night, Sydney’s iconic Metro Theatre was graced for the first time by Melbourne/Sydney rockers, The Delta Riggs, who were joined by openers, Food Court and Harts, and I was lucky enough to catch it all live.

Photo Gallery: The Delta Riggs + Harts - The Metro Theatre, Sydney (01.05.15)

Harts supported The Delta Riggs at The Metro Theatre in Sydney last night. Belinda Dipalo was there to bring you these photos.

Festival Review: Groovin The Moo - Hay Park, Bunbury (26.04.15)

The cars were packed, the cow onesies dusted off and the fast food outlet lines were long – Groovin The Moo had arrived. We’d all spent the day in wait, enviously scrolling past the Oakbank highlights flooding our newsfeed, planning out our timetables like tactical masterminds. In true WA form the sun was out for an easy 25 degree day as we crossed the grassy grounds of Hay Park to the gate. Some people seemed aimless and there were a few tears spotted by the info gate as it seemed the sold out status of the festival was still hitting punters hard, but ticket in hand we pressed on pass the gathering pile of deodorant cans and the sceptical bag checker asking “Really?” as a young girl handed over her sacred bottle of perfume.

the AU Weekend Gig Guide: May 1st - May 3rd.

The weekend is almost upon us once more and we bring you just a selection of shows around the country that we're keen to be checking out. From Groovin' the Moo sideshows to some exciting headline shows we've been waiting for for some time, there's plenty to be getting amongst. So, without further ado...

the AU interview: Elliott Hammond of The Delta Riggs talks Rock and Roll, Drugs, Foo Fighters, and Kanye West

As part of our On The Rocks feature yesterday, the AU review's, Alex Houle, recently caught up with Elliott Hammond, the opinionated singer of The Delta Riggs, to chat about their recent Foo Fighters tour, their latest album, Dipz Zebazios, and the current state of Rock and Roll. In this no holds barred interview, we get Hammond's opinion on the controversial Kanye West, Gene Simmons, Die Antwoord and Tom DeLonge's recent departure from Blink 182.

On The Rocks: Answering Music's Most Annoying Question


Photo Credit: Andrew Wade

No one ever asks if Hip-Hop is dead, if Pop is dead. Rarely, if ever, does any one bother to pit Country and Rap music against each other. Yet for the last 60+ years, as each decade comes to a close, there has always seemingly been an advocate for the death of Rock and Roll. Is Rock dead? How about now? And now? Yet each generation has replied in succession that Rock and Roll is here to stay. So that forces us to pose the inevitable question: why are we still talking about the supposed death of Rock and Roll?

SXSW Live Music Review: The Aussie BBQ ft. The Delta Riggs, REMI, Steve Smyth & more - Brush Square Park (21.03.15)

The Aussie BBQ returned to Brush Square Park this year, the 2015 edition of the SXSW event bringing the likes of The Delta Riggs, Tigertown, Hiatus Kaiyote to two tents set up on the east and west sides of the park. While last year's Aussie BBQ battled the fire marshal, the main element set against us was the first big day of consistent rain in Austin this SXSW - the weather didn't hamper the mood much however, with the beers and BBQ food continuing to prove popular with those in attendance.

Exclusive Playlist: The Delta Riggs' Stadium Rock Warm Up Songs


Photo Credit: Andrew Wade

Currently touring Australia with the Foo Fighters and Rise Against, Sydney's The Delta Riggs are doing big things for Australian rock n roll. So, when they're getting ready to hit up these massive stadium stages, what gets them in the mood? Here now is an exclusive playlist - courtesy of the band and Rdio - that they've dubbed the "Stadium Rock Warm Up Playlist". Here we go...

Photo Gallery: Foo Fighters + Rise Against - Cooper's Stadium, Adelaide (04.03.15)

Foo Fighters

Dave Grohl and his Foo Fighters rolled into town this week and played to a huge crowd on a gorgeous Adelaide summer night. They were dutifully supported by Rise Against and The Delta Riggs. Kerrie Geier was there for the AU review.

Live Review: Foo Fighters + Rise Against - Cooper's Stadium, Adelaide (04.03.15)

"You think this is a failure tonight?!" Dave Grohl exclaims, noodling away on his signature blue Gibson, in the middle of a packed out Cooper's Stadium. It's a windy night mid-week and the Foo Fighters frontman is commenting on recent labels that Adelaide has no scene for rock music made in the wake of the disaster that was Soundwave Adelaide. And, as he dedicates "Times Like These" to the Billy Corgans and the AJ Maddahs, the crowd erupts with applause and hollers. It would seem Adelaide's not taking any shit talk about their city tonight.

Live Review: Foo Fighters + Rise Against + The Delta Riggs - ANZ Stadium, Sydney (26.02.15)

Like anything deemed "popular" in contemporary music today - especially by such mainstream media as Triple M - it's fair to say that the Foo Fighters are a band that you either love or you hate. Though they hardly inspire the same sort of vitriol of, say, Nickelback, they certainly have their detractors. But being it's 2015, you've lived through dozens of their hit singles and you've had dozens of opportunities to see them live (they've been great friend of our country for a long time now), I daresay you already know which side of the fence you sit on. Which perhaps makes a review like this largely redundant. I made my mind up on this band a very long time ago. Yes, I am proudly a fan, and so please do accept my opinion with a nice dose of bias.