AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

MUSE

Festival Review: Lollapalooza Berlin - Tempelhof Airport, Germany (12.09.15 & 13.09.15)


Photo: Stephan Flad.

Lollapalooza branched out into Europe for the first time over the weekend, taking Berlin's Tempelhof Airport by storm. The sold out event drew huge numbers of music fans down to the defunct airport (one of the coolest festival venues I've been too, I'll add) for some brilliant sets by artists who've been away for a little while, some of the biggest names touring at the moment and some recent festival favourites. Having attended Lollapalooza in Chicago last year, I felt like I was going into this one at least a little prepared, but Berlin's festival game was another beast in itself.

the AU interview at Lollapalooza Berlin: Dom Howard of Muse (UK) talks Drones, a love for Run the Jewels & more!


Photo: Hans-Peter van Velthoven.

Sunday night saw Muse headline the Main Stage in Berlin for the first ever European leg of Lollapalooza. It had been a big weekend for the British act, who had only recently announced the first dates of their new world tour in support of latest album Drones and on Friday night, they'd performed a special surprise show at the Electric Ballroom in Camden. Flying into Germany for a cheeky lil' Sunday night show with 50,000 plus fans seemed like the perfect way to wind it all down, right?

Muse, Tame Impala & Martin Garrix bring Lollapalooza Berlin 2015 to a close on Sunday night!


Photo: Danny Clinch

Only some hours ago in Berlin, music fans saw out the first official Lollapalooza event in their city. Across three stages at the Tempelhof Airport, Muse, Tame Impala and Martin Garrix brought 50,000 plus people together to celebrate the end of a weekend of great music, perfect weather and a successful festival line up.

Lollapalooza takes flight in Berlin this weekend: 10 names we can't wait to see at Tempelhof Airport!

Lollapalooza comes to Berlin this weekend, taking over the Tempelhof Airport on Saturday and Sunday for the first time ever in its extensive history. The event marks the festival franchise's inaugural European event and as we look ahead to the weekend of live music from the likes of Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, Tame Impala, Muse, Fatboy Slim and more, it's no surprise that the latest addition to the European festival circuit has well and truly sold out. A mixture of heavy hitting international touring artists, as well as a strong line up of DJs and producers has set the tone for an impressive debut in the territory for Lollapalooza and we're going to be on site for all the action!

Album News Weekly: 3rd June 2015

In This Issue: It’s an Australian and British-dominated affair this week, with albums dropping from huge names such as Sarah Blasko, Muse, and Young Guns.

Muse announced to headline second night of Lollapalooza Berlin this September.


Photo: Danny Clinch

British festival favourites Muse have been announced as headliners for Lollapalooza Berlin, it's been revealed overnight. The two day festival happening in September is the latest event to be added to the Lolla franchise, taking place at Tempelhof Airport and already features the likes of Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, Franz Ferdinand, Run the Jewels and Crystal Fighters on its inaugural festival bill.

Music Video of the Day: Muse "Dead Inside" (2015)

Muse have come out with another tantalising insight into their new album Drones, in the release of their latest music video. The clip for "Dead Inside" is classic Muse - layered, twisted in areas and reflective of the messages songwriter and frontman Matt Bellamy often jumps down the rabbit hole in exploring.

Single Stream: Muse "Psycho" (2015)


Photo: Danny Clinch

Muse have dropped the first single from their forthcoming new album, Drones, and it's a sound that many fans will notice. A guitar heavy banger, "Psycho" is the first taste of 2015 Muse, perhaps one that has returned to a music era more akin to Black Holes and Revelations, as opposed to say, The 2nd Law. The song features one of Matt Bellamy's guitar riffs that has been played live for years now, so it's interesting to see it finally fleshed out into a full song.

Live Review: The Doctor's Great Big F***ing Off Party - The Giant Dwarf, Sydney (11.12.14)

He’s spent about 6,100 hours on air, conducted roughly 3,520 interviews, achieved a Christmas Number 1 and had himself tattooed in the studio. After all of that, Lindsay ‘The Doctor’ McDougall is f***ing off. ABC luminaries and industry folk crammed into The Giant Dwarf theatre on a stormy afternoon to witness his second last ever show, his Great Big F***ing Off Party.

Live Review: Muse + Birds of Tokyo - Allphones Arena, Sydney (13.12.13)

No matter how you feel about their often overwhelming sonic transformations, Muse will always be one of those few bands that brings you a complete and arresting experience live; one which blasts away everything that came before it with a healthy range of lofty rock jams, all lead by Matt Bellamy’s piercing vocals.

Live Review: Muse + Birds of Tokyo - Brisbane Entertainment Centre (10.12.13)

You know those people who seem to be at every gig, the ones who wait until the head-liners have just come on stage before pushing their way through the crowd to get a good spot at the front, and pissing everyone off in the process? Yeah, those guys.

Photo Gallery: Muse + Birds Of Tokyo - Brisbane Entertainment Centre, Brisbane (10.12.13)

Muse brought The 2nd Law Tour through Brisbane tonight! Andrew Wade was down at the Entertainment Centre and grabbed some great shots of everyone's fave Devon trio bringing their latest album, plus some classics, to life once more.

Live Review: Muse + Birds of Tokyo - Adelaide Entertainment Centre (04.12.13)

My relationship with Muse started in…2005, I believe. In between Absolution and Black Holes and Revelations, my best friend showed me one of a music video because she thought Matt Bellamy was a total babe. Duh. Since then, I feel like the collective fan base have been through a lot with them. We stuck through the Twilight period, recovered from Bellamy’s engagement to Kate Hudson, indulged Dom Howard’s love of leopard print and bodysuits and stuck up for the trio when the idea of featuring ‘dubstep’ seemed to be blasphemous. The ‘2nd Law Tour’ that the trio recently kicked off in Australia evidently is as much about thanking the fans as it is about showcasing their latest album and by the end of it, it's hard to believe they played their first SA show over the road at The Gov over three albums ago.

Album Review: Muse - Live At Rome Olympic Stadium (2013 LP)

Once, I argued with a friend who was the greater muse behind Muse, Queen or Pink Floyd? They, a Muse diehard sat firmly in the camp of Pink Floyd, whilst I being a casual to consistent fan of the band, suggested they were more indebted to Queen.

Film Review: Muse - Live at Rome Olympic Stadium

The new standard of high definition – 4K – is slowly revolutionising the way we watch and experience film. This ultra HD format – bragging 8.8 million pixels - was used to capture a mammoth performance by mega-band Muse in Rome’s Olympic Stadium earlier in the year and is being screened to the general public for a ‘one night only’ experience on November 7. Screenings will take place all around Australia and in over 40 territories worldwide, giving viewers a chance to preview the awesome atmosphere that is truly unique to a Muse concert ahead of the remaining dates of their current tour.