AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

JAPANDROIDS

The Best of AU Photography: St Jerome's Laneway Festival Singapore (January 2013)

We're just weeks away from the St Jerome's Laneway Festival tour and things kick off in Singapore before the bands arrive here in Australia, at the beautiful The Meadow at Gardens The Bay in downtown Singapore (pictured above). We've been proud to bring you exclusive coverage of the event over the last two years, and as we get excited for the 2014 event, we want to take a look back at some of our favourite photos from the 2013 festival, by Johnny Au.

Live Review: Japandroids - The Zoo, Brisbane (01.09.13)

Guitar. Drums. Blood flowing. We're all losing our minds. It was in Brisbane that Japandroids said farewell to Australia and gave one of their last shows in support of the 2012 Celebration Rock tour.

Photo Gallery: Japandroids + Velociraptor - The Zoo, Brisbane (01.09.13)

Japandroids close off their Australian tour with an hour and a half set at Brisbane institution the zoo, supported by Velociraptor. Photos by Andrew Wade.

Photo Gallery: Japandroids + The Frowning Clouds - Corner Hotel (30.08.13)

We love Japandroids (and you can too!). Serena Ho was at the incredible show in Melbourne at the Corner Hotel on Friday night. She brings us these photos of the gig, supported by The Frowning Clouds.

Photo Gallery: Japandroids + Sincerely Grizzly - The Ed Castle, Adelaide (27.08.13)

Japandroids

Canadian duo Japandroids played just over an hour and a half's worth of kickass music in Adelaide, to a packed out Ed Castle on Tuesday night. Lauren Connelly was up front (and onstage), bringing you these shots.

Live Review: Japandroids + Sincerely, Grizzly - The Ed Castle, Adelaide (27.08.13)

There are moments that are truly special when you're at a live show. Whether it's seeing a band/artist before they become megastars (Passenger, say) or seeing a band tour their most iconic album for an anniversary tour, there are moments as a punter where you're at a venue thinking, 'This probably won't happen again'. Tonight was one of those nights - Japandroids playing one of Adelaide's smaller stages, on a Tuesday night? Chaos.

Tour Updates: Thy Art Is Murder, Royal Chant, Bruno Mars, Royal Chant, Japandroids and more!

In this issue: Thy Art Is Murder add Western Australian shows to tour, Royal Chant add dates to Panic & Cash tour, Bruno Mars adds second Melbourne show, Japandroids add second Melbourne show; The Delta Riggs announce extra WA dates for album tour, They Might Be Giants announce ‘Flood’ shows and additional Melbourne tickets, and supports are announced for YACHT Australian shows.

Japandroids returning to Australia for headline tour in August and September!

One of the highlights of the 2013 Laneway tour was undoubtedly Japandroids. The duo out of Vancouver provided sets across the country that blew people's minds, so much so, that they've announced today that they'll be back to do it again later in the year! Japandroids will be hitting up most of the metro cities through August and September, playing what will be some of their hardest hitting gigs here yet.

SXSW 2013 Photo Gallery: Iggy and the Stooges + Japandroids - Mohawk, Austin (13.03.13)

We could write an intro. But how can we introduce Iggy and the Stooges? Besides mentioning that they had the rad Japandroids play before them. In a 500 person venue. Cool, right?

SXSW 2013 Live Review: Iggy and the Stooges + Japandroids - Mohawk's Austin (12.03.13)

One of the many unique and annually anticipated aspects of SXSW are the opportunities you have to see some of the world's biggest artists play in intimate settings. Some argue this works against the event, which is supposed to be about discovering new artists. After all, if you have the choice between seeing a new band, and one of your favourite artists in a tiny venue, you'll probably choose the latter.

Festival Review: St Jerome's Laneway Festival - Perth Cultural Precinct (09.02.13)

Well that’s it. The last Laneway Festival of the year has come and gone. The festivals run of shows came to a sweltering sold-out climax at Perth’s Cultural precinct. Looking at the line-up (Of Monsters and Men & The Reubens in particular) it’s hardly surprising that Perth along with a number of the other dates sold out. Though despite it’s sold out status, it felt fairly quiet until the majority of the punters arrived a couple of hours into the day.

Festival Review: St. Jerome's Laneway Festival - Fowler's Live and UniSA Campus, Adelaide (08.02.13)

The St. Jerome’s Laneway Festival has never been a niche festival, no matter how indie or decidedly ‘hipster’ its appearance purports. Having featured acts including Florence and the Machine, Foals, Two Door Cinema Club and more over the years, Laneway has always been one of the country’s best touring festivals that has continued to grow in popularity since its debut tour. This year is my third Laneway Festival and I gathered that, since the Adelaide leg sold out so close to the date (a miracle), things were going to be big down the city’s west end.