AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

JACK LADDER AND THE DREAMLANDERS

Festival Review: Young Henry's Small World Festival ft. The Church + DZ Deathrays - Sydney Park, St Peters (19.09.15)

Young Henry's Small World Festival celebrates the four essential things in life - booze, music, food, and good mates. Set for the first time in St Peters' iconic Sydney Park, the festival specialises in everything good that's local, solidifying itself as one of those events that are really important to the Sydney arts and culture scene.

Live Review and Photos: Volumes Music Festival (Part Two) - Oxford Square, Oxford Street, Sydney (29.08.15)

Usually Oxford Street at 4 o’clock in the arvo boasts nothing more than a few old guys having a VB at the local pub, and maybe a couple of loud and obnoxious girls with penis paraphernalia going out for a hens night. You can imagine how shocked they’d have been this past Saturday when Oxford Square was flooded with hundreds of music enthusiasts, transforming the street into the new music festival to keep an eye on, VOLUMES.

Live Review: Volumes Music Festival (Part One) - Oxford Square, Oxford Street, Sydney (29.08.15)

Volumes festival showcased a whole lot of talent by taking over Oxford Art Factory, Brighton Up Bar and The Cliff Dive from the mid afternoon through until late Saturday night. Click through for our full review...

Seven artists who deserve your attention at Volumes Festival in Sydney this Saturday!

This Saturday, Sydneysiders are being treated to one of the finest local lineups we've seen in years. Headlined by Jack Ladder and the Dreamlanders and The Laurels the event - which kicks off at 2pm on Saturday 29th August - will see

Jack Ladder and the Dreamlanders, The Laurels and more to perform at new Sydney festival, Volumes!

Volumes 2015, a new live music concept across a number of different live music venues, has just announced its first line up. The event puts artists of different genres together into a lineup for each stage, in a unique aim to push the boundaries of dynamics and energy. Click through for more information and for the full first line up below…

Photo Gallery: Jack Ladder and the Dreamlanders + Alex Cameron - The Brightside, Brisbane (15.05.15)

One of our favourite groups here at the AU are Jack Ladder and the Dreamlanders, and on Friday night they were joined by Alex Cameron to play The Brightside in Brisbane. Andrew Wade was there and brings us these photos from the night!

the AU Weekend Gig Guide: May 15th - May 17th.

Another week down, another weekend upon us. Check out our gig guide through here to find out where some of our team can be found snapping shots, jotting down words and generally enjoying some killer live music. If you've got a spare few hours tomorrow or Saturday night, check out some bands!

TEDxSydney unveils 2015 performer line-up

The annual celebration of ideas that is TEDxSydney has announced an eclectic and intriguing performer line-up showcasing the diversity, skill and multiculturalism of modern day Australia.

Photo Highlights from The Aussie BBQ at SXSW 2015 ft. Hiatus Kaiyote, Steve Smyth, The Gooch Palms, Ball Park Music & more!

The Aussie BBQ returned to Brush Park on Friday, taking over the East and West sides of the venue to bring a day full of incredible Australian acts. Sosefina already brought you the full live review, but now here are some photo highlights from the day. First up, we start with the BBQ itself, supplied this year by Franks Sausages. It was delicious.

SXSW Live Music Review: The Aussie BBQ ft. The Delta Riggs, REMI, Steve Smyth & more - Brush Square Park (21.03.15)

The Aussie BBQ returned to Brush Square Park this year, the 2015 edition of the SXSW event bringing the likes of The Delta Riggs, Tigertown, Hiatus Kaiyote to two tents set up on the east and west sides of the park. While last year's Aussie BBQ battled the fire marshal, the main element set against us was the first big day of consistent rain in Austin this SXSW - the weather didn't hamper the mood much however, with the beers and BBQ food continuing to prove popular with those in attendance.

Live Review: Secret Garden Festival - Cobbitty (28.02.15)

A magical, wild and completely creative festival of music and art, Secret Garden Festival 2015 once again proved itself to be an event well worth experiencing. A camping festival that spans from Friday 27th to Saturday 28th February, Secret Garden is on a beautiful farm out in Cobbitty NSW, just an hour’s drive from Sydney yet well and truly removed from the city scene.

Photo Gallery: You Am I + Jack Ladder and The Dreamlanders - Twilight At Taronga (07.02.15)

Tim Rogers cheerfully gives "the finger" to persons unknown in the audience!

Legendary Australian rockers and self-confessed "middle aged cult icons" You Am I delivered a spectacular performance as the sun set in a cloudless sky over Taronga Zoo on Saturday, 7 February 2015. The band were supported by Sydney outfit Jack Ladder and The Dreamlanders. Jonathan Armstrong was there to capture the action.

Meg Mac, Remi, Kirin J Callinan and more added to the SXSW Music line up!

SXSW have released another round of musicians from around the world who will be joining the massive music program as part of their 2015 program overnight, featuring a strong line up of Australian artists who are sure to make their impact in Austin next March! Included on SXSW Music's third round are the likes of Meg Mac, Remi, Kirin J Callinan and Tkay Maidza, while on an international level, punters can be expecting the likes of Circa Waves, Best Coast, Catfish and the Bottlemen and Marina and the Diamonds to showcase!

Best of 2014 Countdown: Best 40 Australian Albums of the Year

Earlier this month we revealed our top 40 albums of 2014, which included 14 albums from Australia (including The Smith Street Band as our number one!). As we did last year, however, we want to make sure as many Australian albums are highlighted as possible! So, we've gone back to our list of votes from AU's fine contributors and put together a list of the top 40 Australian albums (LPs and EPs both eligible) of 2013!

Secret Garden Festival announces full line up for 2015!

The Secret Garden Festival recently dropped the news that it had completely sold out all tickets for the 2015 festival, which was only testament to the event's continued popularity and faith from the loyal public who've backed it for so long. Today, the Sydney organisers dropped the full line up of artists set to perform and man, is it impressive. Over 60 bands and DJs will play over four stages at Secret Garden, promising to be the biggest outing of the festival yet. Both international and Australian talent will be represented well at the event, so if you've managed to nab yourself a ticket, you're definitely in a lucky crop!