AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

FUN.

Festival Review: Future Music Festival - Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne (10.03.13)

God bless the singlet-making industry, because it seemed the whole customer base was at The Future Music Festival this past weekend. An insane amount of arms and biceps were on display for everyone to see, and I wouldn’t be too surprised if any other strays from a muscle convention during the week popped on by. The music was probably a secondary thing.

Festival Review: Future Music Festival - Bonython Park, Adelaide (11.03.13)

This year’s Future Music Festival proved one thing to me and that is that I can’t tolerate these type of festivals anymore. I didn’t even make it through the gates at Bonython Park without being accosted by some steroid-loving dickheads who had dropped a number of pills because they were so ‘mad keen for Avicii bruv’ – a somewhat perfect omen for the rest of the day and night to follow.

Photo Gallery: Fun. + Pluto Jonze - Enmore Theatre (07.03.13)

As a Future Music sideshow, Indie rock band Fun. played to a sold out crowd at The Enmore Theatre on Thursday night. Jason Li was there to capture the action.

Live Review: Fun. + Pluto Jonze - Enmore Theatre (07.03.13)

New Yorker's Fun. have a lot to live up to just in their name alone. If you're going to blatantly deem yourselves an adjective with a full stop you better deliver the goods. The lads were once again gracing Sydney as part of the Future Music Festival circuit, and after graduating from the Metro were now promoted to the Enmore Theatre.

Festival Review: Future Music Festival - Joondalup Arena, Perth (03.03.13)

Future Music Festival

Future Music Festival, we meet again. Although this year, it is on different turf, as I headed over from Adelaide to Perth to spend a hot summer day at Joondalup Arena due to scheduling conflicts I have with the Adelaide Festival, and my determination not to miss seeing both Bloc Party and The Stone Roses.

Photo Gallery: Future Music Festival - Joondalup Arena, Perth (03.03.13)

Psy

It was a scorching hot day in Perth when the Future Music Festival rolled in to town, but that didn't stop a huge crowd from turning out. The AU review's photographer, Kerrie Geier, was there to capture it all.

Gig Announcements: Mass Appeal, Astral People, Lili Kendall, Jane Badler, Bart Willoughby, Mr Cassidy and more!

mass appeal

In this issue: Mass Appeal’s 90s hip hop jam, Astral People’s beyondblue fundraiser, Lili Kendall EP launch, Australia Day at The Espy, Jane Badler announces one-off show, Bart Willoughby album launch and much more!

Future Music Festival Set for HUGE 2013 Line Up

The line up for the 2013 Future Music Festival has been released and as it promised, it's Dead Set Awesome. Past Future guests and some of the world's hottest acts in trance, electro, rock and pop will be making the journey down under for the national festival next year, raising the bar for the Future Music Festival once more.

The dates for the Future Music Festival next year are below.

Album Review: fun. - Some Nights (2012 LP)

Unless you’ve been dwelling under a rock until recently, chances are you’ve been subject to hearing fun.’s “We are Young” (feat. Janelle Monae) on the radio, or perhaps from a tone-deaf acquaintance who has been overcome with the compulsion to belt out Nate Ruess’ masterpiece in an entirely inappropriate social setting.

Live Review: Splendour In The Grass Day Three (29.07.12)

The Smashing Pumpkins

Sunday is an odd day for Splendour; given the hectic run-about the first two days gave us, Sunday is a slow burn, and combining that with the tiredness accumulated just means it’s a goddamn slog, and being honest, most of the day is a big blur.

Photo Gallery: Fun. + Boy in a Box - Hi Fi Bar (27.07.12)

We caught up with Fun. and Boy in a Box as they took over the Hi-Fi Bar in Melbourne. Serena Ho brings us photos from the night...