AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

ELVIS COSTELLO AND THE IMPOSTERS

Bumbershoot Announces 2014 Music Lineup!

This year's Bumbershoot line up yet again provides a wide variety of musically offerings, from folk-rock to Hip-Hop, Pop hitmakers to long time favourites. Over 100 musical acts have been announced to perform.

Festival Review: Deni Blues & Roots Festival - Deniliquin, NSW (19 and 20th April 2014)

Lachlan Mitchell brings us this review from the two-day Deni Blues and Roots Festival!

--

Now I may be jumping ahead in the timeline of my experience at this year’s two day Deni Blues and Roots Festival, but out of 8,000 attendees the character we met and the conversation we had in the final hours of the festival encompassed the overall ethos of the event.

Festival Review: Byron Bluesfest (Day Five) - Tyagarah Tea Tree Farm (21.04.14)

The final day of the Byron Bluesfest was mainly about revisiting some favourites from the weekend, for me. I suppose you could question whether five days for a festival may be too long, when by the end of it, the line up consists of acts that have already played, but with the amount of new talent on offer in amongst the big names, I suppose this model ensures everyone gets a fair shot of gaining and growing a crowd.

Photo Gallery: Byron Bay Bluesfest Day 5 - Tyagarah Tea Tree Farm (21.04.14)

In our final photo gallery from the 2014 Bluesfest in Byron Bay, Johnny Au brings us a glimpse at some of the bands that helped bring an end to the event's 5th day, and their 25th anniversary celebrations. This includes Booker T Jones, Claude Hay, Elvis Costello and the Imposters, Jake Bugg, KC and the Sunshine Band, Michael Franti and Spearhead and Saidah Baba Taliba.

Elvis Costello and the Imposters, the Dave Matthews Band and Gary Clark Jr help draw Bluesfest to a close!

Tonight, the 2014 Byron Bluesfest drew to a close, bringing five days and nights of world class music to an end with the final headline duties falling on the capable shoulders of the Dave Matthews Band, Gary Clark Jr and Elvis Costello and the Imposters on the main stages, while Watussi, Ray Beadle and Playing For Change ensured the party continued on the smaller stages too.

Photo Gallery: Deni Blues & Roots Festival Day One (19.04.14)

Deni Blues & Roots kicked off their second annual festival with an impressive line up including John Mayer, Elvis Costello & The Doobie Brothers. Here are the shots of the first day from our man on the ground, Ian Laidlaw:

Festival Review: West Coast Blues and Roots - Fremantle Park, WA (13.04.14)

Sunday saw the West Coast Blues and Roots Festival return to Fremantle for its 11th year. Though back to its now customary one day format and with a smaller line-up than in recent years, the festival still managed to draw a none-too-shabby 15,000 people through the gates.

The five best moments from West Coast Blues and Roots Festival 2014

The West Coast Blues and Roots Festival has long been one of my favourite festivals to attend. It’s chilled out, relaxed and normally boasts an impressive line-up of legends and up-and-comers. It also happens (for the time being) to be the closest I am going to get to Bluesfest. This year’s festival was my fifth (or maybe my sixth) West Coast Blues and Roots – so here, in no particular order, are five of my highlights from this year’s event.

Gig Announcements: Melbourne & VIC - 6th February 2014

cat power

In this issue: Cat Power announces fourth and final Melbourne show, Charles Jenkins and The Zhivagos launch new album, Mick Turner launches new album, Ash Grunwald returns to The Espy for an intimate solo show, Lachlan Ewbank joins Heads of Charm at The Tote; Liam Gerner announces month long residency in Melbourne, Liz Stringer to play Folk Alliance International USA, 28 Days to launch new single in February and Elvis Costello and The Imposters confirm Melbourne show.

Deni Blues & Roots Festival full line up announced for 2014!

The 2nd and final artist announcement for the Deni Blues & Roots Festival line-up has arrived! The festival will take place over the Easter Weekend, April 19th and April 20th, and will be jam-packed with stellar musicians such as Elvis Costello, John Mayer, Michael Franti and Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros. You can see the full line-up listed below.

Bluesfest announces third round of artists!

The third round of artists announced to perform at Bluesfest next has lived up to the promises and the rumours of something special indeed. Leading the new announcement is the ever-awesome Jack Johnson and the legendary Elvis Costello.

ELVIS COSTELLO & THE IMPOSTERS - Palais Theatre, Melbourne (21.04.11)

On good authority, from someone who was there, when Elvis Costello first played Sydney in the late '70s, punk fans ripped out the seats in the venue and threw them onto the stage. Contrast that with Melbourne in 2011 at the majestic Palais Theatre, on a Thursday night before the Easter holiday period, where the only metaphoric vandalism occurring is Elvis Costello ripping up the stage with an energy that belies his 56 years. Resplendent in a flashy suit and straw hat, Elvis leaps on in, tears into his electric guitar and launches into “I Hope You’re Happy Now”.

West Coast Blues and Roots 2011 - Fremantle Park (17.04.2011)

I believe it was Bob Marley who said "one good thing about music, when it hits, you feel no pain". Well, the punters at this year’s Blues and Roots were in for a pain free day, with the music on offer being of the highest quality from artists of the highest calibre.