AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

COLD WAR KIDS

Live Review: Cold War Kids + Spookyland - The Hi-Fi, Sydney (06.01.15)

Unfortunately, I was unable to catch the entirety of Cold War Kids' set at the Lorne Falls Festival on New Year's Eve, so being able to fly in to Sydney and head down to The Hi-Fi to have another opportunity just felt right in the end.

the AU interview at the Falls Festival 2014: Nate & Matt of Cold War Kids (LA) talk the challenges of recording, album releases & more!

On New Year's Eve, LA rockers Cold War Kids brought their world-renowned live show to the crowd at the Falls Festival in Lorne. For the crowd who, by this point, had spent three days already revelling in the atmosphere tons of amazing artists had generated in the forest, the energy levels within the ampitheatre area rose significantly when the band came out to do their thing. Only hours previous to their stage time, Gemma Bastiani had a chat with Nathan Willett and Matt Maust backstage to chat about their return to the country and more.

Photo Gallery: Falls Festival Day Four - Lorne, Victoria (31.12.14)

As the sun rose on a perfect final day of the Falls Festival, weary punters headed to the valley in anticipation of another great day of music. Alt-J, The Presets and Safia were just a few of the standouts on the day. Our photographer John Goodridge brings you these photos from the final day.

Festival Review: Falls Festival Day Four ft. Vance Joy + Bluejuice + The Presets - Lorne, Victoria (31.12.14)

It was as if the gods suddenly looked down on the Lorne site of the 2014 Falls Festival and told each other, 'You know what? They've suffered enough with the rain.' - the clouds disappeared for our New Year's Eve in the forest and the temperature rose considerably, a perfect atmosphere for our final day at the festival. Moods were high (weed was probably helping in that regard, too) and the music was totally fitting as one's soundtrack to the end of the year.

New Music Video: Cold War Kids “Nights and Weekends” (2014)

Never mind that this track is pretty cool, but “Nights and Weekends” by Cali-based Cold War Kids also has a pretty sixties-inspired video to boot. Not sure what the guy with the power tool is doing, but hey I'll roll with it. Check it out below.

Album Review: Cold War Kids - Hold Your Home (2014 LP)

Hold My Home is the latest album from Cold War Kids, that band who had that song about a clothesline (I have been informed that the song is 'Hang Me Out To Dry' and may not actually have been about a clothesline) that we all listened to way, way too much back in the glory days of 2006. Hold My Home is their fifth studio album and was released earlier this month.

the AU interview: Nathan Willett on 10 years with Cold War Kids (California), 'Hold My Home' and returning to Australia for New Year's!

It's not long now before Cold War Kids return to Australia for another dose of summer festivals and headline shows. The Californians, who will be touring their new album Hold My Home as well as their four studio album swag of material, have been keeping things busy since their last major Australian visit (Splendour, 2013), but to chat with Nathan Willett about everything in their camp at the moment, he's very chilled out, agreeing, "We're doing well, but we've been very busy."

Single Stream: Cold War Kids "First" (2014)

ColdWarKids

Elevated Indie Rock never sounded this good. Or maybe it did. I dunno. All I know is that the new track from Cold War Kids is one of the best sounding tracks this week. An uplifting mix of powerful drums and guitars mixed with raw vocals, make this track seriously cool for the upcoming pool parties. Listen to "First" here, on the AU.

Splendour Sideshow Photo Gallery: Cold War Kids - Capitol, Perth (02.08.13)

Cold War Kids ended their Australian tour with a sold out show at Capitol. They were supported by Cabins. Stuart Sevastos bring us the highlights from the night.

Splendour Sideshow Photo Gallery: Cold War Kids - The Gov, Adelaide (01.08.13)

Cold War Kids played to a sell out crowd in Adelaide on Thursday, as part of their Splendour sideshows. Lauren Connelly was there.

Splendour Sideshow Live Review: Cold War Kids + Cabins - The Gov, Adelaide (01.08.13)

Indie-rockers Cold War Kids made their way to a sold out show in Adelaide Friday night, as part of their Splendour sideshow tour.

Splendour Sideshow Live Review: Cold War Kids + Cabins - Metro Theatre, Sydney (29.07.13)

cold war kids

With Splendour In The Grass over for another year, the sideshow tours continue and the latest cab off the rank were U.S indie darlings Cold War Kids. From all reports, they were amazing at SITG and tonight, feeding off the energy from the festival, the band delivered a near faultless set of classic Cold War Kids tunes featuring many fan favourites including 'Hang Me Up To Dry', 'Avalanche In B' and 'Something Is Not Right With Me'.

Festival Photo Gallery: Splendour In The Grass Day 2 - North Byron Parklands, Byron Bay (27.07.13)

Splendour In The Grass continues with Birds Of Tokyo, Cloud Control, Cold War Kids, Empire Of The Sun (Pictured above), Jake Bugg, Palma Violets, Polyphonic Spree, Sarah Blasko, Something For Kate, The National, Twinsy, Villagers, Violent Soho and Whitley. Photos by Ian Laidlaw

Festival Review: Splendour in the Grass Day Two - North Byron Parklands, Byron Bay (27.07.13)

Heading through the Splendour gates for a stellar second day of music, I fought my way through the deep sinking mud, only slightly dried out from the churning it received the day before, and the array of floral headbands to end up at Palma Violets taking second slot for the day in the Supertop on their first trip Down Under.