Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:69:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:33;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/artist/ben-howard', '', '50.19.34.255', 1519048631) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134

Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:93:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:55;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/artist/ben-howard', '', '50.19.34.255', 1519048632) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134

Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:93:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:55;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/artist/ben-howard', '', '50.19.34.255', 1519048632) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134

Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:93:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:55;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/artist/ben-howard', '', '50.19.34.255', 1519048632) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134

Warning: Table './aureview1/watchdog' is marked as crashed and last (automatic?) repair failed query: INSERT INTO watchdog (uid, type, message, variables, severity, link, location, referer, hostname, timestamp) VALUES (0, 'php', '%message in %file on line %line.', 'a:4:{s:6:\"%error\";s:7:\"warning\";s:8:\"%message\";s:40:\"Creating default object from empty value\";s:5:\"%file\";s:93:\"/home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc\";s:5:\"%line\";i:55;}', 3, '', 'http://www.theaureview.com/artist/ben-howard', '', '50.19.34.255', 1519048632) in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/includes/database.mysqli.inc on line 134
BEN HOWARD | the AU review
AU ABROAD

  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/modules/taxonomy/taxonomy.pages.inc on line 33.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.
  • warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/theaureview/theaureview.com/sites/all/modules/gallery_assist/gallery_assist_display.inc on line 55.

BEN HOWARD

Live Review: Ben Howard - Margaret Court Arena, Melbourne (01.06.15)

Call me bold, but I could not tell you another album that I have felt a stronger connection to than I Forget Where We Were, Ben Howard’s sophomore release of late last year. It’s such a huge leap from his debut offering Every Kingdom and it just really bloody gets me in the feels, you know? So naturally, I have been itching to experience this amazing full length masterpiece in the flesh for a number of months now, particularly with this tour being a rescheduled show following Howard’s cancelled Bluesfest appearance back in April.

Foo Fighters, Drake, Sheppard, Vance Joy and more announced for ACL Lineup 2015!

Coming October, Austin City Limits (ACL) festival will be running for two consecutive three-day weekends from 2nd-4th & 9th-11th at Zilker Park. With a killer lineup including the likes of Foo Fighters, Drake, Florence + The Machine as well as eight stages and 130 acts to choose from, festival goers will have to look out for this one! Read on to find out which Aussie artists are being featured!

Ben Howard out and about on national tour in March and April!

The English singer-songwriter is set to play a string of shows around Australia including performances at the Sydney Opera House and a set at Bluesfest.

Neneh Cherry, Caribou, Lykke Li and more announced for Sydney's 'Music at the House' series!

Another wonderful season of music has been announced to play out at the iconic Sydney Opera House, with the 'Music at the House' series being unveiled last night. A whole stack of amazing international performers from a whole range of music genres will be playing at the Opera House in the early months of next year, with live music fans now able to sign up for pre-sales and get to planning!

Bluesfest announces the reunion of Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals, plus more on their second artist announcement!

Well, this is pretty large, as far as additional line up announcements go. Bluesfest has always been known for bringing the artist announcements strongly, but their second round of acts revealed for the 2015 festival has gone and confirmed that once again, Bluesfest is set to be one of the festivals you're going to want to be at. Leading the charge is the first global performance of the reunited Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals, with their Bluesfest show being their only Australian gig for 2015.

Photo Gallery: Splendour In The Grass (Day Three) ft. Lily Allen + Danny Brown + Ben Howard - Sunday (27.07.14)

Ian Laidlaw brings us photos from the final day of Splendour in the Grass in Byron Bay! Featuring Danny Brown, Lily Allen, Wild Beasts, Grouplove, SKATERS, MT Warning and more!

Festival Review: Splendour In The Grass (Day Three) Ft. Ben Howard + Lily Allen + Phantogram - Sunday (27.07.14)

The final day of Splendour In The Grass 2014 saw some of the weekend's best performances, with each of the main stages capped of in very different ways. The Ampitheatre closed for 2014, sent off with a colourful performance from subversive pop star Lily Allen, and leaving us with the weekend's stand-out performances to reminisce on. Elsewhere the GW McLennan Tent was sent swaying to the warmth of Ben Howard (pictured), and the Mix-Up Stage saw it's first dose of slow-burning, artful electronica – as compared to the usual speaker-assaulting trend tracks – with Darkside, who brought a much more unexpected sound to the tent.

Live Review: Ben Howard + Nick Mulvey - Astor Theatre, Perth (25.07.14)

Friday night saw Ben Howard finally make it across west for a sold out show at Perth's Astor Theatre, kicking off a run of dates that sees Howard also take to the stage at Splendour in the Grass. Yet this was a show, as Howard revealed, that came ever so close to being cancelled, with an injury to regular drummer Chris Bond leaving Howard and a newly assembled band just 48 hours to rehearse.

Photo Gallery: Ben Howard + Nick Mulvey - The Astor Theatre, Perth (25.07.14)

Ben Howard kick off his Australian tour, by dazzling a huge crowd at the Astor Theatre with support coming from the delightful Nick Mulvey. Stuart Sevastos was on hand to bring the highlights of the night.

Live Review: Ben Howard + Willy Mason - Corner Hotel (07.04.13)

To be honest with you, I have never been too familiar with Ben Howard’s music. I’ve listened to him a few times and before tonight I could only name like, 2 songs. But as of late, his name seems to be popping up pretty much everywhere from the Brit Awards to Coachella, and having cancelled his show the night before due to illness, I was bursting with curiosity as to whether the 26 year old would win me over.

Live Review: Ben Howard - The Metro Theatre (03.04.13)

Ben Howard was always going to develop a loyal fan base in Australia. His surf inspired folk tunes could have been written sitting on any one of our beaches and the singer himself comes across as a kindred spirit of this great southern land. And as it happened, The Metro Theatre wasn’t big enough to accommodate Howard’s ever growing legion of admirers with many missing out on scoring tickets to the sold out shows.

Live Review: Byron Bay Bluesfest Day Five - Tyagarah Tea Tree Farm (01.04.13)

And just like that we'd once again come to the end of the Byron Bay Bluesfest. As the event's fifth day, it's fair to say that by now we were both exhausted and used to the exciting lifestyle that the festival offers. It's never an easy event to say goodbye to, especially after a year that housed one of its best lineups ever, and was without a doubt the best Bluesfest we've ever attended. Although my sore, sore feet beg to differ.

Photo Gallery: Byron Bay Bluesfest 2013 Day 5 Part 2 - Tyagarah Tea Tree Farm (01.04.13)

Byron Bay Bluesfest 2013 closes out Day 5 with another stellar lineup that includes Ben Howard, Royal Southern Brotherhood, Bonnie Raitt (pictured above), The Music Maker Blues Revue, Xavier Rudd, Paul Simon, The Lumineers, Melbourne Ska Orchestra and The Bamboos.

The State Of Affairs - Latest Music Industry News: 19th March 2013

This week in industry news, Laneway Festival makes their big reveal, Birds of Tokyo sweeps the ARIA Charts, Willy Mason returns down under, plus plenty more industry goss and music news.

So remember how we were talking about Laneway going Stateside? Well the city has been announced, and if you're in or around Detroit this September, be sure to check out this Aussie festival's American debut! It's being held on September 14th, 2013 in Rochester Hills, Michigan.