THE AU: MUSIC ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE THE IRIS: GAMES & TECHNOLOGY HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

ADELAIDE

Jon Stevens Adds Adelaide Show to Aussie Tour!

Front man of the legendary Australian bands Noiseworks, INXS and now for The Dead Daisies, Jon Stevens is hitting the Aussie roads with his Take Me Back tour. Having just added an Adelaide show to the dates, this one's set to impress. Click through for the details.

Live Review: West Thebarton Brothel Party - Jive, Adelaide (22.08.15)

The West Thebarton Brothel Party boys packed Jive out well on Saturday night, the official launch party for their debut self-titled EP. The band has been growing a strong fan base in Adelaide in recent months and their time supporting some pretty impressive Australian and international names, has brought them to the attention of many different type of Adelaide music fan who may be on the look out for something new. Their gathering at Jive represented not only the supportive network of fellow Adelaide musicians and friends within these circles, but a good percentage of people looking to kick on well into their Saturday night - the chaos the boys brought to the show was the perfect way to do so.

Live Review: Jack Carty + Jordan Millar - Grace Emily Hotel, Adelaide (20.08.15)

On a rainy Thursday evening in Adelaide, the Grace Emily Hotel down the city's west end hosts two of my favourite Australian songwriters for a generous night of live music and good time times. Jack Carty and Jordan Millar have been touring together around the country over the past few weeks in their 'By Request' format and it's been one that has been incredibly well-received. With the idea of the show being that the fans dictate each set via suggestions made prior to the show, both Carty's and Millar's sets present themselves as unique in each city. There are obvious favourites that have been popping up, a few surprises and, as we saw on this night, a foray into the golden era of the 90's boy band.

Photo Gallery: Reclink Community Cup ft. The Beards - Coopers Stadium, Adelaide (16.08.15)

Reclink Australia is a non profit organisation whose mission is to provide and promote sport and art programs for people experiencing disadvantage. For the past 21 years in Melbourne, a friendly football game between musicians and journalists has raised over $1,000,000. This year Adelaide joins the fun. Check out these photos by John Goodridge of the event, including the pre-party at the Grace Emily Hotel and the award night at the Wheatsheaf.

Photo Gallery: Good Riddance + Versus the World + Beaver - Enigma Bar, Adelaide (11.08.15)

Veteran punk rock legends, Good Riddance are touring Australia and smashed their way through a killer set at Enigma Bar, with highlights from their latest album Peace in Our Time. They were joined by California punk rockers Versus the World and local act Beaver. Our photographer John Goodridge brings you these pics.

Photo Gallery: ...Trail Of Dead + Sincerely, Grizzly - Jive, Adelaide (11.08.15)

It's been 13 years since ...Trail Of Dead have performed in Adelaide, but last night they kicked off their national tour at Jive with Sincerely, Grizzly and shit got gnarly. Lauren Connelly was there!

Photo Gallery: Immigrant Union + The Dunes - Grace Emily Hotel, Adelaide (08.08.15)

Immigrant Union is an Australian psychedelic folk/country band from Melbourne fronted by Brent DeBoer of the Dandy Warhols. They are heading around Australia on their Anyway album tour. Saturday night found them in the intimate Grace Emily Hotel in Adelaide supported by The Dunes.

Our photographer John Goodridge was there and took some snaps.

Photo Gallery: Punk Ass Kids Winterfest ft DZ Deathrays + Grenadiers and more! - Rocket Bar, Adelaide (05.08.15)

Jessi Lou, Sailor Jerry and Rocket Bar + Rooftop present PUNK ASS KIDS WINTERFEST! It was a crazy night on the rooftop with local acts Grenadiers, Jungle City and Dead End Friends with headliners DZ Deathrays smashing up the stage. Free pinball, tattooing and DJ sets from Horror My Friend and Young Offenders capped off the night. Check out these photos from Punk Ass Kids resident photographer Elliot Clarke and our favorite photographer John Goodridge.

Photo Gallery: Gurrumul + Caiti Baker - Festival Theatre, Adelaide (05.08.15)

Gurrumul

Gurrumul (pictured) put on a beautiful performance at Adelaide's Festival Theatre last week joined by Caiti Baker and a local choir. Kerrie Geier was there for the AU review and you can view her photo gallery here:

Splendour Sideshow Review: Death Cab For Cutie - HQ, Adelaide (03.08.15)


Photo Credit: John Goodridge

I last saw Death Cab For Cutie play HQ in 2012 and it was the first time I'd seen a crowd of 20 somethings - both men and women - react so intensely, revelling in nostalgia, melancholy and an emotional tornado swept up by the band's excellent delivery of lovelorn rock tunes. Fast forward to 2015 and we're back in the same venue but nothing much else has changed - the fans and the band have gotten a few years older but we're all wanting that same experience.