THE AU: MUSIC ARTS ON THE AU THE IRIS FOOD & LIFESTYLE VIDEAU GAMES HELLO ASIA! AU APPROVED AU ABROAD

     

the AU interview at Soundwave: Chris Kilmore & Ben Kenney of Incubus (Califonia) talk their new EP, Island Records & Australia!


Photo: Johnny Au

the AU review's Larry Heath sits down with DJ and Keyboardist Chris Kilmore and the Bassist and "Voice of Reason" Ben Kenney (donning a Midnight Oil shirt, no less) from California group Incubus to talk about their new EP "Trust Fall (Side A)" - coming out later this month - their experiences playing Soundwave Festival, the freedom of working with new label Island Records and much more...

Photo Gallery: Future Music Festival - Joondalup Arena, Perth (01.03.15)

Kiesza performing at Future Music Festival

The next stop for Future Music Festival was Perth where a huge lineup featuring The Prodigy, Hilltop Hoods, Darude, Kiesza and more entertained the huge crowd. Our man Stuart Sevastos was there to bring the highlights of the day.

Event Review: Tomato Battle Melbourne - Flemington Racecourse, Melbourne (28.02.15)


Photo by John Koch

When I was 21 I wrote myself a bucket list. On it were all the glorious adventures I wanted to have and all the grand goals I wanted to achieve throughout my life. Nestled between ‘ride a gondola down a Venetian canal’ and ‘go ice skating in Central Park’ was one of my favourites on the list, ‘participate in La Tomatina Tomato Festival in Spain’.

Over 200 new acts - including Tigertown - added to SXSW 2015!

It's only a little over two weeks until SXSW insanity kicks off, but still the artist announcements keep rolling in. In the latest round of additions, Sydney band Tigertown get the call up - the only Australians in this round - alongside over 200 international acts. MS MR, Charles Bradley, Milky Chance, and Hamilton Leithauser all feature. An interview with Wynonna Judd has also been added to the Music Conference.

Arts News Weekly: 2nd March 2015

In This Issue: Light Show, The Australian Cultural Fund, Dark Mofo 2015, Human Rights Arts and Film Festival, One Man Breaking Bad, Art - Not Apart Festival, Count Basie Orchestra Tour, and Deathtrap

Single Stream: Olawumi "Queen Shit" (2015)

Olawumi is a young singer-songwriter out of New Jersey who is currently laying some pretty tight groundwork in establishing herself as a name to be keeping an ear out for in 2015. Stepping up with some intoxicating vocals and while the lyrics are simple enough, devoid of any rapping or over-production, "Queen Shit" is an enticing track. The trippy, mellow and spacious vibe of the music is sway-worthy and as Olawumi croons 'Bow the fuck down', you'll be working in a way to do so as you're blissing out.

Adelaide Fringe Festival Review: Briefs 'The Second Coming' - The Menagerie @ Royal Croquet Club (01.03.15)

If you're a frequent love or attendee of Adelaide Fringe Festival events, chances are you'll have seen Fez Fa'anana about the place, winning fans and slaying in the Fringe Club as the hostess with the most-ess, Shivannah. The talented performer and the rest of the Briefs Factory are feature artists of the Fringe program this year, with their highly anticipated show Briefs: The Second Coming officially kicking off its season in Adelaide last night at the Royal Croquet Club.

Festival Review: Future Music Festival - Randwick Racecourse, Sydney (28.02.15)

With the sweltering final day of the 2014-2015 summer period beaming down upon Randwick Racecourse, Sydney welcomed another edition of Future Music Festival with a crowd of around 50,000 strong fully taking in one of the festival's biggest line ups in years. Future is now the first Australian festival to deliver world-dominating hip hop artist Drake, giving him a 75-minute headline set that sat neatly in a schedule with other big name acts like The Prodigy, Example, Aviici, Die Antwoord, Knife Party, Hilltop Hoods, and Sven Vath.

Single Stream: Tired Lion "I Don't Think You Like Me" (2015)

Guys, if you've not cottoned onto Perth's Tired Lion yet, now is the damn time to. One of the breakout Australian bands of last year, we've been digging on this four-piece's sound, perfectly wrapped up and released in the form of their debut EP, All We Didn't Know. Now comes the first taste of the sophomore Tired Lion EP in new single, "I Don't Think You Like Me". Melodic, edgy and passionate, the track highlights the dynamic between the members of this band as they fit together so well as a performing unit.

Photo Gallery: Angus & Julia Stone + Cloud Control - Margaret Court Arena, Melbourne (27.02.15)

Angus and Julia Stone played a fantastic show in Melbourne over the weekend, supported by Cloud Control and a slew of fantastic musicians. Kimberley Salmond brings us this gallery from the night out at Margaret Court Arena.

Stumbled Upon #026 - Hemingway (Brisbane)

In our 26th instalment of "Stumbled Upon", we meet Brisbane's Hemingway, and chat about their upcoming debut EP.

Hello Asia! Photo Gallery: ONE OK ROCK - Soundwave Festival, Brisbane (01.03.15)

Japanese rockers ONE OK ROCK delivered an incredible set at Soundwave Festival in Brisbane yesterday. Andrew Wade was there and brings us this epic photo gallery from their performance:

Arts Review: Sing-a-Long-A Sound of Music - State Theatre, Sydney (27.02.15)

Before we start there’s something you should know, I’ve been watching The Sound of Music since I was 5, I can recite every line, sing every song and for a large portion of my childhood I wanted to be a nun. With all this in mind I went to the Sing-A-Long-A Sound of Music at Sydney’s State Theatre on a Friday night.

Photo Gallery and Live Review: King Parrot + Ne Obliviscaris + The Bennies - Soundwave Festival, Brisbane (01.03.15)

With Soundwave Festival commandeering one of the most loyal fan bases to a festival in Australia, it's always a slight disappointment to see the focus on overseas acts rather than some of the rising stars of the local heavy scene - thankfully, the 2015 season has addressed this, bringing Melbourne grinders King Parrot, Smith Street Band fellows and 420-friendly jamsters The Bennies and the avant-garde take on black metal of Ne Obliviscaris.

Starring Will Smith and Margot Robbie - Win a FOCUS prize pack!

Will Smith stars as Nicky, a seasoned master of misdirection who becomes involved with novice con artist Jess (Margot Robbie). As he’s teaching her the tricks of the trade, she gets too close for comfort and he abruptly breaks it off. Three years later, the former flame now an accomplished femme fatale shows up in Buenos Aires in the middle of the high stakes racecar circuit. In the midst of Nicky’s latest, very dangerous scheme, she throws his plans for a loop and the consummate con man off his game.